We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
EASTER SALE-up to 15% off
Ranked #7 of 182 hotels in Sydney
ACT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We reserved a room through Wotif to stay in one of Harbour suites at Sir Stamford Sydney. When we got there, it turned out that Wotif made a mistake in transferring the booking information to the hotel. However, there was no time for frustration as Elaine (Duty Manager?) took care of it in a timely and reliable manner even though it was not even the hotel's responsibility. Concierge staff, Joey, was also very helpful during our stay. Thank you.

The facilities (e.g. stained carpet and old bath) in the room and bathroom was a bit outdated, however, overall theme of the room is romantic and lovely. The hotel is close to Botanic garden and Circular Quay although a little walk (10-15 mins) would be required if you want to go to the centre of shopping malls (e.g. Myer and DJ).

We would definitely go back since the quality of service and the level of caring seems to be outstanding and considered one of the best amongst a number of hotels, which is rarely found in recent times.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guests

We are very pleased to learn that one of our Duty Managers Elaine, resolved your booking issues from a third party website. The internet has certainly made booking on line very easy - however if a booking is for a special ocassion or a there are special individual requirements we highly recommend you call the hotel direct and get the details confirmed and or transferred to your reservation and always ask for a written confirmation - it's good to have back up.

Your comments about the high quality of service and the genuine level of caring from the team is one which we take great pride.

Thank you again.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    598
    237
    51
    16
    14
See reviews for
134
495
44
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A big group of us were here for a bridal shower afternoon tea, having booked a private room (which I really recommend for groups over 14). The hotel, though not particularly impressive from the outside, is beautiful - ornate and akin to an old country manor in England. The room that we used, the Lachlan room was roomy beautifully decorated. Food was delicious, and service was superb too. Highly, highly recommend - probably the best afternoon tea I've had here in Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Stephanie

Thank you so much for sharing your review about your special Bridal Group High Tea, We do indeed have some lovely private rooms which are ideal for special events as they are decorated in the country manor style you describe. The Lachlan Room and the Price Albert Rooms are both in the heritage part of the hotel and each provides the setting for brides to be or just a group of friends celebrating. The smaller group rooms are perfect for groups from 10 to 40. Our Exclusuive High tea Packages are priced from $56 and include extra touches that make these events very easy to organise. We do of course also specialise in doing weddings - with The Elizabeth Room perfect for a larger event.

The "normal" selection of Devonshire and HIgh teas are available in The Bar seven days a week - from 11.00am daily and we do advise houseguests to book - especially on weekends. Our scones are said to be the warmest and lightest in Sydney. We can do Gluten free High Teas on request and of course chef does prefer 48 hours advance notice to ensure Gluten Free Guests are delighted.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Second stay in this hotel. Extremely helpful staff. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Clean bathroom with extra towels. Relaxed "old world" ambience. Excellent breakfast, lots of choice, loved the honeycomb.
Would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Valued Return Guest

Its great to have your views published after your second visit, and we appreciate you taking the time to tell the Global World of future Travellers.

Our little breakfast buffet does feature a natural Honeycomb which delights many guests - as does the simple orange juicer. Sir Stamford cannot match the larger modern buffets of the larger high rise hotels in the city but we do like to think we compare favourably with our boutique offerings. The stewed rhubarb is particularly nice at the moment.

Kind regards and we look forward to your return.
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We live in Sydeny but deserved a little getaway..and how wonderful was this hotel. In the past, I have had many extraordinary lunches in "The Bar" but never stayed. The rooms are lovely. Big marble bathrooms, grea bed (so soft) and lotsof space. Very convenient to the Opera House, Gardens and restauarants. Had a wonderful time, thoroughly recoomend

Room Tip: Ask for top floors, better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, Director of Sales at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for choosing Sir Stamford at Circular Quay not only for lunches in The Bar but now for accomidation as well. Do you need another getaway? Please join us for our Romeo and Juliet Dinner in The Dining Room and/or book our Romance and Seduction Package on Valentines Day. Location is key in this city, as you know. Being close to The Rocks, the Sydney Opera House and the Botanical Gardens, what more could you ask for?

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Angela King
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

What an amazing experience to be staying in this gorgeous old hotel with such elegant sumptuous plush décor of an earlier era.
The employees are amazing especially the front of house team who were so helpful and friendly and those providing dining room services also exemplary.
I was travelling alone on business and felt really comfortable and safe here. Great to be located in such a prime spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, Business Development Executive at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear RoRo2013,

Thank you for your response and for choosing Sir Stamford at Circular Quay. We're glad you enjoyed our old world, elegant atmosphere. It's definitely something that makes us stand out from the other hotels in the city. Feeling safe and comfortable while travelling alone is always very important. I'm pleased you felt that at our property. We do have a fabulous team of people who look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warmest regards,

Ashley Lakey
Business Development Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Sir Stamford is ideally located for seeing Sydney. We were fortunate in getting an up-grade to the 10th Floor overlooking the Botanical Gardens. A great room and extremely comfortable. The Continental Breakfasts are exceptionally good and great value.
We used room service one night and were very happy with the value and quality. If we find ourselves in Sydney again - we would definitely stay at the Sir Stamford.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, Director of Sales at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Highlander52,

Thank you for choosing Sir Stamford at Circular Quay. I appreciate your response. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your upgrade with a view of the Botanical Gardens. Sydney sure is a beautiful city. Great value, customer service and quality are things we strive for at Sir Stamford.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest regards,

Angela King
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Sir Stamford for a 3 day get away between Christmas and New Year, I had spent a long time looking at trip advisor before I booked this hotel and I believe it was worthwhile as we absolutly loved this hotel.
The location, the staff, the rooms, the old world charm, this hotel had everything.
From the moment you step into the lobby area you're looked after by the wonderful staff at Sir Stamford.
Yes the hotel is a little expensive but you have to remember you're right in the heart of it all at Sir Stamford.
Thank you for making our stay with you a great experience and when visiting Sydney again we would not hesitate in coming back.

Room Tip: The higher the better, traffic noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, Business Development Executive at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Nikki1971,

Thank you for your responce and for choosing Sir Stamford at Circular Quay. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you will stay with us again.

Warmest regards,

Ashley Lakey
Business Development Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Also Known As:
Sir Stamford
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Venere, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.