We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place by the botanic gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Saver - From $239
Ranked #8 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Charming place by the botanic gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The best aspect of a stay at Sir Stamford is its location. Right across the road from Sydney's Royal Botanic Gardens and just up from the restaurants and ferry piers at Circular Quay, we had all bases covered.

The room was huge and the double vanities in the walk-through bathroom gave us plenty of space.

We didn't have breakfast included in our stay but it wasn't a problem to pop to one of many options at the Quay or over at The Rocks, and that gave us more freedom with the structure of our mornings for the three days we were there.

We'd highly recommend a wander through the market at The Rocks, if it's a regular set-up. A large range of items, many of which we thought would've made good Christmas gifts to give, if only we had the room in our suitcase.

The gym at Sir Stamford is OK. We ended up including a jog in the gardens in our workouts as that's a far nicer setting than a treadmill indoors.

Although we were there in December, it didn't prove warm enough to use the pool but that looked nicely situated, with some loungers nearby on the rooftop.

The reception staff and concierge were helpful and courteous at all times.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyLamont, Front Office Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Happy Guests,

It sounds as though you certainly did make the most of your stay in Sydney. What an excellent recommendation on taking a jog through the Botanical Gardens. Our Concierge are well accustomed to marking out running routes for guests wishing to make the most of their exercise routines through the gardens.

The Rocks Markets are open every Saturday and Sunday throughout the year and are a great place to meander through and grab some local produce, arts and crafts. It is always a favourite for our guests and especially popular at this time of year.

We do very much appreciate you taking the time to review us and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marty Lamont
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    652
    265
    57
    16
    14
See reviews for
150
530
48
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel is very nice. It's smaller, and has more of a classic, "old money" vibe. If you're looking for a trendy/hip environment, this isn't the place for you. The staff was very helpful and the room was nice and larger than expected. The days we were there, the hotel wasn't very full, which made it feel as if we had the run of the place.

We were on the floor that led to the pool and fitness room. Both were modest sized, but perfect when not having to share them with anyone. Be aware that the internet charge was by device, not by room, when we were there. This is one of those things that can sneak up on you over the course of a stay.

The location of the hotel is absolutely AWESOME though. It is a short walk to the Opera House, Circular Quay, and The Rocks, not to mention other areas of downtown. There are some very steep streets by the hotel, so if planning to walk, make sure your footwear can accommodate the grade and slickness if it’s raining.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyLamont, Director of Sales at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Valued Reviewer,

Thank you for your useful and informative review. We love your helpful hint on choosing the correct footwear as there are some steep streets dotted throughout the city and they can take their toll on tourists out and about exploring.

The internet in the room is set-up to have two devices connected at the same time with only one charge. Please contact me if this wasn't the case during your stay and I will look into it for you. A handy alternative is the complimentary Wifi in the lobby available to all guests.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Marty Lamont
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

lovely to stay at the Sir Stamford again - great location especially if you are having a night at the opera house love the old fashioned elegance, the staff are polite and very helpful, took advantage of the summer special with breakfast included,which we very much enjoyed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyLamont, Front Office Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Return Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay at the Sir Stamford. Your 5 star rating is much appreciated.

The Sir Stamford is indeed a popular option for those attending a night at the Opera House. With the ever popular St. George Open Air Cinema starting in January, the Sir Stamford is perfectly located for those guests and families wishing to catch a film.

Thank you once again for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sir Stamford once again.

Kind regards,

Marty Lamont
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Got a reasonable rate for our 3 day stopover in Sydney prior to cruise.. Rooms and hotel are of Grandeur type and our room was looking a little tired although of high quality and the sort of thing you would expect for 5 Star. Air conditioning noisy and good bathroom . Bed reasonably comfortable. Good size LCD TV. No free wi fi in room though. Should be at this price point. Our room was on 5th floor with Gym and pool at the end of corridor.. Did not use as we were on tight time table also weather was 21c a bit cool although was warming up. Sydney very expensive and so we didnt eat at hotel although food menus were what you would expect at a 5 star hotel and the food we saw looked nice.. We eat breakfast at Bello cafe or bar bello cnr of Bridge st and loftus street $10 for a breakfast special with freshly squeezed orange no less. Look no further Yummy we eat here every day..


~In summary Hotel Good location, Decent rooms good service 8/10
Recommeded

Room Tip: What you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyLamont, Front Office Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Valued Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your insider's information regarding some of the many beautiful eateries, cafes, bars and restaurants around the Circular Quay area. Our Concierge team are sure to be able to recommend those restaurants and bars to suit your needs. For those who wish to dine in the hotel, The Dining Room and The Bar provide an elegant and intimate atmosphere for fine dining or simply a light meal.

Your thorough review of the hotel and surrounding areas is much appreciated and I hope you get the chance to return to the Sir Stamford in the near future.

Kind regards,

Marty Lamont
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel was one of my favourites in Sydney. However, during my last stay, our room was immediatly above the function centre, and yes there was a corporate function. I rang management to complain about the noise around 10:30 at night, and was told they would ask for the volume to be turned down. No noticeable difference. Needless to say, we did not get much sleep that night. A perfunctory email from the Manager (after we had left - and we stayed for 5 nights) was the only acknowledment of our complaint.

I asked for a guarantee that there would be no more functions during our stay, as if there were, I insisted on another room (or another hotel). Fortunately, the rest of the stay was peaceful.

I was appalled that a hotel with a supposedly five star rating would even consider placing guests in rooms immediatley above their fuction centre. Short term profit over common sense, leading to long term demise.


Rooms are excellent - spacious, with huge marble bathrooms (although our taps leaked extensively). Two minutes walk from Circular Quay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 201 to 207. They are immediatly above the function centre. If you do get given one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyLamont, Front Office Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Loyal Guest,

I am sincerely sorry that your experience did not match your expectations on your last visit to the Sir Stamford. Noise complaints are something that we do take very seriously and our Front Desk team are trained to respond quickly in order to reduce any noise in a timely manner. In this case your feedback is a valuable reminder to allocate guests away from function rooms, especially during this festive period with corporate Christmas parties taking place all around the city.

I was informed that the Manager on Duty the next day contacted you in regards to your complaint and spoke with you again on check out. I am sorry to hear that you feel the complaint was treated with negligence and this is something that I have followed up with my team. An email was sent on the day of your departure offering compensation for your sleepless night but as we have not yet received a reply we have actioned this e-mail.

When you return to The Sir Stamford in future, I will ensure that your stay goes without fault. I would like the opportunity to show you that we can still provide the 5 star service that has gained us our Top 10 rating on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have stayed here twice for one nighters over the summer when there are specials on. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms luxurious in marble and olde world fittings. The hotel has an intimate feel and is small for a big city hotel. The pool is very enjoyable after a hot summer's day and the view from the pool across circular key is great. Have not tried the restaurant for a night meal as there are many restaurants nearby. Great to walk around the area as close to the harbour, opera house, art gallery, botanic gardens etc. Pricing is not as good as it used to be and specials not so great anymore.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the west side have little balconies that look towards the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyLamont, Front Office Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Valued Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts about the Sir Stamford and well done to you for taking advantage of our Summer specials this year.

We love that you commented on the intimate feel of the hotel. We feel that is what really sets us apart from other modern hotels that are full of glass and chrome. I'm pleased that you managed to feel at home during your stay.

The warm summer nights are a great opportunity to set out and see the sights. Being one of the closest hotels to Circular Quay, the Sir Stamford is a great base to explore in and around the Opera House and the beautiful Botanical Gardens just across the road. It would seem that you made the most out of your visit.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sir Stamford.

Kind regards,

Marty Lamont
Front Office Manager
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had a two night stay.

First thing we noticed was the poor service from reception.We had arranged to check in by 12 noon as we were meeting friends for lunch..Room wasnt ready and was told it would be at 3pm and we can fill the paper work out then.They allowed to park our car.Musty smell in reception and foyer.Room was nice with north facing views of harbour however unable to access balcolny.

Location great easy walk to Circular Quay and CBD

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek D, Front Office Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I am sorry that the reception team did not manage to please on this occasion. We aim to accommodate all of our early arrival guests in the first available room. Sometimes this can be a difficult feat when the hotel is fully booked. Luggage storage, car parking and all other hotel facilities are made available to you at this time for your comfort.

Thank you for commenting on the room and view. I am pleased that you got to enjoy one of our rooms facing the harbour. Rooms with Juliet Balconies can be requested at the time of reservation. If this is a preference we can certainly make sure that it is noted each time you stay.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review and we look forward to having you back at the Sir Stamford.

Kind regards,

Marty Lamont
Front Office Manager
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Expedia, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.