We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, yesteryear charm, first-class service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Saver - From $239
Ranked #7 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, yesteryear charm, first-class service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed for a weekend getaway. This hotel is very close to the opera house and circular quay. I stay often in the other hotels located in the CBD. this hotel has lovely old world, homely feel. (No bling or modern feel) The room was extremely spacious. It had one king and one double bed. Very comfortable. The concierge were extremely helpful. Breakfast was good value. I will definitely return with my children. Very reasonable for price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek D, Front Office Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Happy Guest,

Thank you for your comments and photo's regarding your recent stay at the Sir Stamford. I can see that you were lucky enough to get one of our rooms overlooking Circular Quay, a good chance to get a glimpse at the cruise ships approaching daily.

Your review is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sir Stamford in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Marty Lamont
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    283
    62
    18
    14
See reviews for
157
574
55
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We secured a great room on their Summer saver deal which included accommodation, continental breakfast and either free parking or $20 food and beverage voucher. Fantastic value! Our room was huge and all the staff were friendly and very professional. We had a delightful pre-theatre meal in the restaurant and then returned afterwards for drinks at the bar while being entertained by a fantastic singer. It is only a less than 10 minute walk to Circular Quay and the Opera House. We will definitely return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek D, Front Office Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for mentioning our most popular package at this time. The Summer Saver Package is catered to suit everyone by offering the choice of Car Parking inclusive or a $20 Food and Beverage credit. All this with Breakfast included as well. Our Sir Stamford website has all the details in order to book. It is fantastic value for the Summer period and I'm glad you managed to grab yourself this deal.

As you mentioned The Dining Room is a perfect place to indulge in a pre-theatre meal as we are only a short stroll away from The Opera House. Bookings can also be made for our Pre-Opera dining menu ahead of time.

Your flawless rating is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sir Stamford soon.

Kind regards,

Marty Lamont
Front Office Manager
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The bedrooms are really pretty - nice furnishings, attractive wallpaper etc, and good amenities. My bedroom (not the cheapest, but not the most expensive either) had lots of space, a nice big bathroom, and a little balcony - very nice indeed. WiFi is not free, but works well. The staff are extremely friendly, and mostly very helpful, though the dining room is very hit or miss - the staff there could have done with more training and had a tendency to say slightly odd things (eg asked to recommend a wine, suggested I might not have the budget for a slightly more expensive one), but all extremely nice. Public spaces are very pretty and spacious, and well kept. The hotel is not noisy, and is in a very good location. I would definitely stay there again, though it is not exactly cheap - in fairness Sydney hotels now charge exorbitant rates to a British mind, presumably all about the exchange rate. While I was staying, a largish tourist group checked in, but the hotel seemed to cope with that very well.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view, which you'll get from a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek D, Front Office Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comprehensive review of the rooms, decor and atmosphere of the hotel. The bathrooms in the rooms are in fact all Italian marble and very spacious indeed.

I'm sorry that the staff in the Dining Room didn't please on this occasion and I will ensure training is provided to front line staff to prevent any further faux pas. I'm glad that the staff did live up to your expectations overall and we hope you return to the Sir Stamford in the future.

Thank you once again for your kind review.

Kind regards,

Marty Lamont
Front Office Manager
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed there for two nights as a little escape to be alone. The room was large and a bit old fashioned. I adored the bathroom because it was all marble. The staff was friendly. Plus I liked the little balcony which allowed me to have a sneak peek of the Sydney Harbor. Excellent location!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek D, Front Office Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Valued Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Our Juliet Balconies are one of the outstanding features of our Deluxe Room type. A number of these balconies look out in the direction of the Botanical Gardens and provide a perfect opportunity to let the summer breeze into your room on a sunny afternoon.

I'm glad that you chose Sir Stamford as your location for an escape to be alone, I hope you are well revived after your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Marty Lamont
Front Office Manager
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is probably the best situated hotel in the whole of Sydney. Circular Quay is just a few minutes away where you get all the ferries to different parts of Sydney, also close to the Rocks District where there are lots of good restaurants.
This Hotel is everything a good hotel should be, warm and welcoming, comfortable beds and huge bathrooms. The staff are wonderful and the service brilliant. We had a slight problem when we arrived in that we were not given the type of room we had booked but Stu the Manager sorted it out efficiently and promptly and we were very satisfied. Just one small grumble, they do not have free wi-fi in the rooms, only in the lobby. Overall a wonderful hotel at a good price.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek D, Front Office Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback of your experience at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and I am very pleased that Stu our Concierge Team Leader was able to assist you in the minor hiccup you experienced with the room type.

Our location is definitely one of our finest attributes as we are situated only a stones throw away from the Sydney Opera House. The hotel is proving to be a handy location for those attending Swan Lake, which is currently showing at the Opera House.

We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Sydney and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Marty Lamont
Front Office Manager
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
559 reviews 559 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The location of the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay can't be faulted, of course, and I prefer the old world charm of the Stamford to the global chains any day of the week. The pool on the fifth floor was taken care of and on a hot afternoon, became the perfect place to cool off for a couple of hours. I was lucky enough to be upgraded when I checked in, which I appreciated very much. My suite was spacious, tastefully furnished and well equipped. The bathroom facilities were excellent, and the shower couldn't be faulted in terms of power and temperature. The toiletries are by L'Occitane and of course, of very high quality. But it's the staff at the Stamford that makes the difference. You know that sometimes, in some hotels you feel that as a guest you are a minor irritation to the busy staff, well it's the opposite here. Each person immediately drops what they are doing and devotes their attention to the customer. They have developed the art of small-talk to guests, but a short, friendly chat to a solo traveller makes such a big difference. The young Singaporean on check-in has a lovely smile for you when you walk up to the desk, and the concierge team couldn't be more helpful. One small hiccup was being directed by the Front Desk to the ice machine on the 2nd floor, only to find that it was removed for repairs. But within minutes, a waiter with a bucket of ice was standing outside my room. Service of the highest order. No more Hilton in Sydney for me, where I'm a faceless number, I've switched my loyalty to the Stamford.

Room Tip: Ask reception politely at check-in. They'll do their best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Valued Reviewer

We are very impressed with your reviewing style and have really enjoyed dipping into your other reviews, especially about the activities and events around us - you certainly know the city almost as well as our concierge! From Heli tours to gourmet meals your reviews are very astute.

On behalf of our team of over a 100, we thank you - we really appreciate your feedback and we'll change those Ice Machine sign locators immediately.

Kidn regards and we hope to see you again soon Trevor and I am sure you will enjoy the Francis Bacon exhibition at NSW Art Gallery as much as you liked Picasso.

Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Fabulous location, a stroll from the ferries, shops, attractions.

Large rooms, comfortable beds and beautiful toiletries (I always appreciate lovely toiletries at a hotel).

Really enjoyed our stay here and would come again.

Only downside was my husband booked a babysitter through the concierge and unfortunately the babysitter never showed as the concierge forgot his request. Concierge scrambled to correct the error but never took responsibility for their mistake. In the end our friends daughter babysat but it meant I was very late arriving to our function. I was disappointed in the way the concierge handled this and didn't even apologise.

Other than this, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, Chief Concierge at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guests

Please accept my sincere apologies for the concierge team not confirming your babysitting arrangements in a timely manner - as a Dad myself I can appreciate the difficulties this must have caused you. In certain circumstances our team have stepped in to emergency child minding duties, but we are ever mindful of the compliance issues in these very special arrangements.

On behalf of the whole hotel team we do appreciate your 4 star rating - as to stand out from the many choices that travellers have for accommodation, we need to make sure we are 110% there for our guests at all times.

Thank you again and we look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit.

Sincerely
Keiran Codd
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.