We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Saver - From $239
Ranked #9 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Fabulous location, a stroll from the ferries, shops, attractions.

Large rooms, comfortable beds and beautiful toiletries (I always appreciate lovely toiletries at a hotel).

Really enjoyed our stay here and would come again.

Only downside was my husband booked a babysitter through the concierge and unfortunately the babysitter never showed as the concierge forgot his request. Concierge scrambled to correct the error but never took responsibility for their mistake. In the end our friends daughter babysat but it meant I was very late arriving to our function. I was disappointed in the way the concierge handled this and didn't even apologise.

Other than this, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, Chief Concierge at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guests

Please accept my sincere apologies for the concierge team not confirming your babysitting arrangements in a timely manner - as a Dad myself I can appreciate the difficulties this must have caused you. In certain circumstances our team have stepped in to emergency child minding duties, but we are ever mindful of the compliance issues in these very special arrangements.

On behalf of the whole hotel team we do appreciate your 4 star rating - as to stand out from the many choices that travellers have for accommodation, we need to make sure we are 110% there for our guests at all times.

Thank you again and we look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit.

Sincerely
Keiran Codd
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    271
    60
    17
    14
See reviews for
152
548
50
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Excellent hotel with very nicely appointed rooms close to Circular Quay rail station and ferries. It was just what we needed for our first few days back in Australia on holiday. Took train in from airport and easily found our way to hotel but arrived too early in the day for check-in. Hotel stored our bags as we headed out to the ferries to explore our favorite stops in the harbor. Breakfast was included in our package, but we headed out on an excursion the next morning before dining room opened. Hotel staff provided us with a box meal that served our needs. On other two mornings we enjoyed breakfast in the dining room overlooking the park across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Valued Reviewer

We love that you have reviewed the very handy transport option of train from the airport - we do recommend the train from the airport to Circular Quay but we worry that there are not enough annoucemments about each station prior, so we do appreciate hearing about guest experience Many corporate guests use the train to avoid the peak traffic snarl ups.

Thank you so much for your five star rating.

Wishing you a Happy Christmas from
Heather Idoine on behalf of the Sir Stamford Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights and booked two rooms, one for teeenage children. The whole experience was fantastic with some of the best service by extremely talented and multi-skilled staff that saw that the bar, high tea, lobby, concierge duties and cleanliness of the Hotel was near perfect.
The rooms are large, bathrooms gracious and no doubt have glazed windows as no traffic noise here. Book a room if you want 5 minutes to Opera house morning walk, 2 minute walk to train, 35metres to beautiful parklands and above all a great clean room with fantasic breakfast.
We will be back.

Room Tip: We found the superior rooms fantastic. The others night have a more larger couch in them but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guests

We are delighted you found our hotel and our superior rooms a perfect fit for your travelling family - and even more pleased that in your 3 days you found our team on the ball.

All the chandeliers in the world don't beat good Australian hospitality, genuine service and a consistent experience.and we are very pleased that we met your families needs.

Teenagers enjoy the vibrancy of the Rocks area and nearby Circular Quay often has some amazing buskers. Manly Beach is a half ferry ride and quite safe for teenagers to head off to unaccompanied - there's nothing quite like the first sight of this iconic Surf Beach, the lifesavers, the surfers, the cafes, the surf shops and having a dip in the Pacific Ocean on a sunny day. We're happy for guests to borrow our pool towels for the day.

Kind regards and we look forward to your return.
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We recently stayed at this really lovely hotel. We were absolutely amazed at the size of the room, extremely spacious and tastefully decorated. We could not of asked for a nicer room , the bathroom was also perfect. Staff were most helpful and the Hotel has an excellent Restaurant providing breakfast from 6.30 till 10.30am and Dinner Tuesday to Saturday. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Five Star Reviewer

While we are a "small" hotel, we agree our rooms are quite spacious and the black and white marble bathrooms with the double vanity are always appreciated by travelling couples. Even the American built baths are a little larger than the usual due to the hotels original Ritz Carlton fit out when is was commissioned in 1990.

Our little Dining Room (it only seats 40) has a simple buffet breakfast spread with little touches like the Australian Honeycomb and the rather quaint orange juicer (unlike the noisy modern ones).

Thank you for taking the time to place your review, it does help us maintain a high profile in a very competitive market.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at this wonderful boutique hotel at completion of a cruise in one of the lovely upper floor premium rooms( highly recommended)_.We arrived several hours early yet with a modest delay were given an upgraded beautifully furnished suite with a view of the harbour nearby and our ship. The location is terrific within walking distance of the harbour with ferries and train connections and walkable to the Opera and an array of points of interest and restaurents.Across the street from the Botanical Gardens and the Goverment House.We experienced a family crisis and found the staff to exceed any reasonable standard of assistance and service.A terrific experience overall.Only negative was the breakfast which was excellent but pricey.

Room Tip: Get the upper floor premium room if possible with a harbour view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Cruise Guests

Sir Stamford is certainly one of the better choices for guests arriving or departing on cruises - apart from location - our rooms are simply much larger than the modern norm and having generous space to adjust ones luggage is a real benefit.

We thank you for the five star rating, as we appreciate we are only as good as our last review and we do not rest on our laurels, every guest experience counts and every new arrival has to be welcomed with the same energy, friendliness and anticipation.

Summer in Sydney can be very warm and having a cool harbour breeze can be very welcome - having balcony opening doors is a great advantage. Not having to walk very far to the ferries and train hubs is also an advantage in the summer season.

We do have an express breakfast which is $12 for tea/coffee, pastries/muffins. Our full breakfast is $35 per person and includes hot cooked breakfasts.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Sir Stamford for my mother in-laws 60th birthday in Sept 2009. The service was excellent right from the start. We booked directly with the hotel to ensure we got the rooms we wanted - overlooking the botanical gardens & middle harbour... wonderful! There were several phone calls back & forth making arrangements and answering our many questions, and the service was excellent every time. Our planned events started in the morning & understandably we couldn't check in, however they let us leave our bags at the hotel and use the hotel facilities. They also made sure that we had at least one room ready by mid-morning so we could all get changed for the opera matinee. The remaining rooms were ready by the time we got back. The rooms were large & beautifully decorated, matching the style of the hotel.
We booked our breakfast ahead of time & our group was ushered into a separate room adjoining the main dining area. Luckily we did, because other people just coming down for breakfast had to wait for a table to become available. Meals were slow coming out of the kitchen, but the buffet kept us busy until it arrived.
Minor criticisms - our planned dinner at Level 41 had to be cancelled due to one of the party members becoming ill, so at short notice we dined at the in-house restaurant. There was a wedding reception on the same night so meals in the dining room were very slow coming out & very little service. We served our own wine & bread rolls until our meals came.
Also there is no internal access from the car park into the hotel lobby (except for staff) so getting from the car to the lobby required umbrellas (on our rainy days).
The remainder of our stay more than made up for these & we would have no hesitation in staying there again if we need to be on that side of the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Birthday Guests

Thank you so much for the recommendations, we appreciate good feedback. Our internal lift from the car park is not open to the public - as the car park with over 100 spaces is used for many casual parkers - and for security reasons we don't let the lift have access to our hotel floors, but we do guide our guests and their luggage down from the lobby at any time.

However the tricky bit, is when guests arrive (not good in the rain) and have to walk around to access the front door - we encourage guests to stop outside our entrance in Macquarie Street and simply let us valet park your vehicle (it's only $10 extra) or if wanting to self park , drop everything and everyone off before heading for the car park in Albert Street.

We do hope this advice assists future travellers, and thank you for highlighting what could have been a 5 star experience. We hope to see all your family back again for the 70th - this time our Presidential Suite with is's own baby Steinway Grand would be perfect.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

There are tons of charms to this beautiful hotel. Rooms are spacious and well maintained. Staff is cheerfully attentive. Got a lovely room, with gorgeous view of Sydney, at a very decent price ($250) through Hotwire and enjoyed the stay and the proximity to all Sydney attractions. I'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Well Travelled Guests

Thank you for posting your photo, and the positive review of the hotel charms.

Hotel rates vary with the day of the week and demand - Sundays and Mondays are generally the off peak nights in Sydney CBD with our highest demand on Saturday nights plus the mid week corporate nights. However the city despite having over 200 major hotels, can be totally full during busy months like November and February.

Booking ahead on our website using our advance purchase discounts is best for peak nights/months and leaving it till the last week is strategic when booking low demand nights.


Kind regards
Heather Idoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.