We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A return visit to Sir Stamford...and I hope to be back again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A return visit to Sir Stamford...and I hope to be back again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was here in 2003 and when I knew I was going to be in Sydney again, I knew where I wanted to stay. And they didn't let me down.

Firstly, I love the fact that you just book on their own web site as you can't get it cheaper anywhere else so you don't spend hours looking for a deal on third-party websites.

Sir Stamford has a traditional, comfortable 'air' about it. From reception, to the bar and your room--nothing hitech or shiny chrome here, it's all very traditional. It has a quiet feel--no unnecessary noise. The rooms are enormous, beds comfy, bathroom was huge.

Once again, the location of the Sir Stamford has to be the winner. Across the road from the Royal Botantical Gardens and less than 5 minutes from Circular Quay.

I love the atmosphere that's been created at the Sir Stamford and I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Return Guest

We are very pleased that we have passed the time test in the almost 10 years since your last visit and been rewarded with five stars. You have very beautifully described what many return guests tell us - our hotel feels very comfortable.

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay is very unique as half our hotel is located in the historic 1898 NSW Health Department building, a prestigious address in famous Macquarie Street. This little building has some very delicate features including the double pitched slate roof which is partially concealed behind a sandstone castellated parapet - however guests on higher floors and those using the leisure centre and pool on level 5 can observe these very clearly.

We look forward to your return.
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    315
    73
    20
    15
See reviews for
181
651
62
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Sir Stamford is a classic – and the ‘class’ in classic shows through. No stuffy hotel this, it is a home from home, full of warmth and service that is friendly and respectful.

Ideally situated, it is but a few minutes walk away from most of Sydney’s premier icons and then, when the walking is done, within hailing distance of trains, buses and ferries.

The atmosphere reflects the antiques and pictures that adorn each regal nook and cranny. It is serene but efficient. The staff were accommodating and genuinely friendly both in manner and greeting.

Our rooms – we stayed here at the beginning and end of our holiday – were top drawer; comfortable and well appointed.

We have no complaints at all and compliment the management and staff – you have it ‘just right’ and we have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guests

Sir Stamford very much appreciates your endorsement of our hotel, it's style and it's staff, as you are clearly well seasoned global travellers.

Spring in Sydney is a wonderful time to visit, warm days, and cool nights. Yesterday the wonderful Frances Bacon exhibition opened at the nearby NSW Art Gallery for a 4 month long season and after having attended the opening we can highly recommend this to summer visitors. This very large gallery has a wide variety of art and is a very pleasant walk through the Botanical Gardens from the hotel.

For those seeking a special Sydney art angle, we can also recommend a small but delightful exhibition just around the corner at the Museum of Sydney (MOS) which features the home and works of Margeret Olley - an iconic artist of Sydney.

Both museums have very tasteful souvenir/book/craft shops,

Once again thank you for your recommendation - we do like your turn of phrase "Top Drawer".

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Not too big (gracious and elegant rather than glittering), not too small (big enough to be well staffed and with a generous foyer with elegant sitting areas if you are meeting people plus good dining and a separate bar), this is a hotel with very spacious bedrooms and bathrooms, spotlessly clean, sporting quality furnishings and a genuinely comfortable beds. Our major criteria are always cleanliness and a bed that lets our slightly aging (late 50's) sometimes aching bones relax for good sleep after bust days, ideally with a supportive but cushioned comfort topped mattress kind to our hips and shoulders. The hotel filled these criteria admirably.
We also had a lovely outlook from our 9th floor room and balcoiny across tree tops and botanic gardens to the harbour from within the room - we could see the opera house just obliquely and only from the balcony but you really don't need to gaze at it continually; and although the motorway and tunnels intervene in the lower foreground these are not too intrusive unless you leave the doors open. Meals and room service were excellent (I am not generally a chocolate dessert person but even I recommend the Chocolate Implosion!) but there are also heaps of other eating places in area. If you have an inclusion for breakfast just be sure you are clear if that is price capped- we booked through an agency and were not correctly advised although it was ultimately sorted out satisfctorily.
The location is a little up hill from Circular Quay but only a very short part slightly steep and if you are able to walk just a couple of hundred meters in total comfortably we would definitely advise a train there to or from from the airport, We only used the ferry back the few stops from Darling Harbour to Circular Quay one evening to run us under the Bridge and get the classic water view of the Opera House but the ferries are handy for commuting and pleaure.
You can find cheaper accomodation for sure but with limited time availbable convenience and quality of experience are what we value most and this hotels gives that. Cheapness is not the same as value. Definitely we will stay again.

Room Tip: Less road noise from upper floors (fine with balcony doors shut) but ask for a harbour view unless s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Just Right

We are vey impressed with your review and attention to detail. A good nights sleep is of course the ultimate goal for any satisfied hotel guest and we are pleased to learn that the ambience and style of the hotel did not compromise on the most important feature a good bed and a good nights rest.

Our Chocolate Implosion is so popular that although our Dining Room menu changes seasonally we never take off this dessert favourite.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, Kent, England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had narrowed our hotel choice down to 4 in the CBD/Circular Quay area & I am so glad we chose the Sir Stamford. Location, location, location - just a few minutes walk to Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House, The Rocks and The Botanical Gardens are just across the road. Rooms are very spacious, there is free wi-fi in the comfortable lobby beside a cosy lit fire. Staff are exceptional, friendly & smiley. This hotel is genteel and elegant without being stuffy. Would I stay here again? - You bet, every time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Valued UK Travellers

Thank you so much for your comprehensive review and your 5 star rating - it is very important to us that our guests keep updating our page with reviews as they do assist other travellers get a true idea of the hotels style and ambience - it's not for everyone. Today is about choice and with over 200 major hotels in the CBD it's a very hard decision when you are planning from the other side of the world.

Yesterday we had to light our lobby fire as the temperatures plumeted rather unseasonally, so this will probably be the last time until next autumn - it's amazing how our guests are drawn to a "real" fire. The bridal party, the cruise guests, some conference delegates and other independent travellers all stopped for a stare and a warm up.

Our team hail from 31 different nationalities and all have various experience from many other brands of hotels, but together we make a very committed team to ensure we give our guests the attention they require - hoping to anticipate their needs whenever possible.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We arrived early morning via a dreadful 1 hour 20 minute airport shuttle bus by KST, recommended as better and quicker than the train by Grand National Concierge at the airport! (The return was even worse, 1 hour 40 minutes, as the driver got lost - we complained and got a full refund).

The hotel concierge appeared and helped bring our luggage to reception, and we were pleased and relieved to learn that a room was available immediately. Meanwhile the concierge had disappeared so we took the cases up ourselves.

The room was spacious and well appointed with a sizeable marble bathroom, separate WC and shower as well as bathtub and two basins. Indeed, the room, en suite, comfort and amenities were comparable with the Brisbane Stamford Plaza where we've stayed a few times.

The room safe did not seem to work though a call to the front desk produced a helpful response very quickly. He disappeared to obtain new batteries, fitted them and vanished before we had a chance to test. It was still malfunctioning! This time it took two calls and a long delay before the technician re-appeared and corrected the fault.

We wanted a hotel within a short walk of the opera house and Sir Stamford fitted the bill perfectly (7 minutes stroll from a stunning Aïda!)

Apart from the free wifi in the lobby (silly prices in the room), we didn't explore other facilities at the hotel nor did we breakfast or dine there. Overall very good in terms of comfort and the early check-in was really appreciated. Generally though, service felt a little impersonal, even sloppy, for example absence of greetings/response from staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guests

Private car or limo is a lovely luxurious transfer experience and we use a reputable operator Brunel, and we are very happy to arrange guest transfers. Our reservation confirmations do have a link to this companies website if you wish to book direct. However taxis are safe and easy from Sydney airport and the route to the hotel is quicker if you take the tunnel/toll road options when asked by the driver. A taxi trip can be a as short as 20 minutes very early in the morning but traffic can slow this down at peak times to 45 minutes or longer. I sometimes use the airport train direct to Circular Quay (especially during peak traffic times) as it's so convenient - however not if you have more than one piece of luggage, as the little sloping rise of Albert Street to the hotel prove a hurdle.

Our maintenance team apologise sincerely for not checking the battery replacement for your in room safe.

We have many Opera House fans who choose to stay in the hotel, as the walk is as you say minutes away. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, as we do learn about areas that require improvement as we understand that we need every department to be spot in to achieve our high ranking from guests.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the end of September. The location was great a short walk to everywhere. We had booked through wotif, so were not expecting great things. But our room was fabulous.The room was very clean, and large with old world charm . We had the most fantastic view of the the harbour bridge.
We had breakfast daily which was always hot & fresh. The staff were great very friendly, helpful & genuine which made our stay all the better. We would thoughly recommend a stay here to all and would not hesitate to stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your five star review - and once again we are very pleased that it was the staff that impressed you rather than the antiques or the chandeliers. Our diverse team are very proud of the city and our surrounds, and all are very proud of the hotel with all it's charms.

Sir Stamford has 2 Deluxe Terrace King rooms that have fabulous Harbour Bridge views - these are often booked by internattional guests who particularly want that very special view from their sun loungers on the terrace of each room. As our boutique hotel is only 10 stories high and we are opposite the Botanical Gardens, many of our other views are of the leafy canopy.

Half of our hotel is the former Health Department Heritage building - a Federation Free style, and the interiors have been modeled on that period - our rooms are large and the decor is very much in an older style - comfortable and considering our city location very quiet, unless you want to open the balcony doors.

Thank you again for your review.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My mother and I stayed in April and it was the obvious choice to stay again. The location is convenient to the Botanical Gardens, Quay and Opera House. The rooms are large, clean and have an understated old world, luxury feel. The breakfast is hot, fresh and a good, but not huge, variety. High tea fabulous. The main thing I wish to comment on is the staff. They are the nicest, friendliest and most helpful, yet still so professional, staff I have come across and I have stayed in a lot of hotels in many countries. They are a credit to this hotel, I do not know if it is the training, the management's lead or a culture within the staff that has grown over the years but they are the Sir Stamford's greatest asset.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Return Guests

Your comments about the team are very generous and we as a team appreciate the acknowledgement. Learning the skill of anticipation is very valuable and shared by all and we do try to solve problems rather than passing them on. While good recruitment is the key - so is training and coaching.

We are all very proud of the legacy the building has and the fine art that surrounds us - we have favourite pieces - mine is the giant Cuban Mghogany sideboard that is outside the Prince Albert function room and I am very attached to the pair of French Ormolu rouge marble urns that sit above our lobby fireplace. I also particularly like the 19th century Staffordshire pottery piece of Robert Burns standing by a tree stump which is mostly cream with a hint of gilt - this piece is also in the lobby china cabinet.

Once again thank you for your review.
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.