We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Save Saved
You added Sheraton on the Park, Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay,Park&Play from $219
Ranked #19 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely location and Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

Sorry for the delay…so busy.

Quite a different location to our last stay.

Hotel
We stayed for 5 days in Sydney covering all the important Christmas 2008 dates.

First up, the website for this establishment does show indicative proof of the style and type of hotel/foyer/restaurant/ rooms/suites. In other words it’s accurate.

We arrived at the Hotel by booked limo to be greeted very nicely by porters. The limousine Company had obviously liased with the Airline and Hotel, which worked out fine as we were greeted on time at the Airport and also by name as we exited the vehicle at the Hotel (Hire Company is Royale limousines. Highly recommended)

Reception
The Hotel has a fantastic feel. A WOW factor, especially the foyer and majestic stairs that lead to upper levels. It oozes character. Michael on front of house operations was excellent, and obviously well versed in his role. He was so tentative toward us at every opportunity. Six lifts so no real wait for transport upwards!

Room
Suite was as advertised and booked online through SPG. (Starwood Hotels Clb) A Park View Terrace Suite on level 19. Spacious, comfortable, and well appointed. Bathroom/bath nicely designed, large, and clean. Well positioned for access from either the main bedroom or small entrance foyer to the suite.

The King bed was nothing less than to die for. Absolute comfort and luxury for us. Very difficult to get out of bed for the next day’s activities!

Lounge area OK, perhaps showing some age but nothing dramatic. Dusty entertainment area tops/side tables was noticeable. A little behind on housekeeping for a new long stay check in perhaps, but that is the only real problem. Seating and study area was comfortable. Lounge was a good size. Nice Terrace with fantastic views.

Our suite being on Club level included access to the Executive Club on level 21. Very nice with private areas available. High Speed Internet if you are not on holidays. Great views over the harbour and park. Plenty of staff to assist every need. Breakfast offers three small but adequate hot options with the continental spread. Afternoon tea available, along with evening canapés’ and drinks after 5 pm daily.

Pretty much what ever you want. So the club level accommodation costs are, I believe, worth it.

Hotel room service is fine, meal options limited as one would expect, but are adequate and tasty. Remember it’s room service, so much higher costs are involved for being a little lazy yourself! But what the hell it’s holidays!

Restaurants
Botanica was pleasant. We only had one meal at breakfast and it was fine. The usual buffet fair and chef on hand to create your style of eggs or omelette. It was great.

However, The Times on The Park steak house in the hotel on level one was our first evening meal in Sydney. Not the greatest experience.
Food took forever to arrive, was not cooked to order, bread had to be returned as it was stale and like a rock! Slow service, really slow.
Unfortunately the service was not that welcoming to anyone else either it seemed.

Perhaps because it was Christmas Eve. Never the less, it should not happen. Rest assured it’s not part of the Sheraton per say its independent.
I would not recommend eating there.
The Sheraton Hotel has other nicer areas to enjoy.

Sheraton on The Park is close to all that one would need, including shopping, transport, restaurants and the obvious site seeing and water activities.

Would we stay at Sheraton on The Park Sydney again?

My word we would! Absolutely wonderful. 5 stars from us.

Highly recommend the upper levels of accommodation and features for that bit extra. Either way, it’s a fantastic Hotel to stay with.

Next tour takes us to South Australia in April 2009.
The Barossa and Adelaide City. Will advise when ready!

Raise a glass!
Cheers.
R & G.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    932
    550
    139
    62
    46
See reviews for
223
624
174
459
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

We enjoyed a king room facing Hyde Park. Although not straight on to the Park, we could still enjoy a view of the Park. On the 12th floor we could still here a bit of traffic noise, in particular buses, but it was pretty mild and was not disruptive or disturbing.

From start to finish, we found the Sheraton staff friendly, highly efficient, and helpful. Our room was beautifully fitted out, we particularly loved the bed as it was very comfy (although a greater range of pillows would have been helpful). Botannica Brasserie puts on a fantastic breakfast brasserie but it's not cheap. We had a gorgeous meal at Times one evening as well - which was definitely worth the money.

The location was great too. Right across the road from St James underground train station. Buses almost outside the door. A short walk from the monorail. Getting to and from the hotel, and therefore to and from shops, is just too easy.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

I stayed at the Sheraton just before Christmas 2008. I have stayed in many hotels in Sydney, and the Sheraton is definitely my favourite. The lobby was stunning, walking in at 6:30pm with all the christmas lights on and decorations up, this really is a proper classy hotel. I stayed in an Exceutive Suite for 2 nights, which i booked on Wotif.com for half the normal price. The room was outstanding, really big with separate lounge and bedroom, massive marble bathroom and walk in robe, 2 huge tv's, and a good room service menu, although the mini bar was slightly lacking. My keycard wasn't working in the door to the executive lounge (located on the top floor with amazing views to north head), and the staff at reception were quick to rectify the problem and replace my faulty card. While there I joined Starwood Preferred Guest and am now staying at several Starwood properties in North America and Canada over the next year, thanks to their fantastic rewards system.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Having decided to take a February break in Australia the search for accommodation began. The write-ups for the Sheraton on the Park looked promising and their “three nights for two” deal looked attractive. We decided on a three night stay there as a finish to our first week in Sydney. On entering our required dates through the “three nights for two” link we were quickly able to complete our $600 dollar booking, which needed to be paid in advance. A couple of days later a check online of our credit card statement revealed the Sheraton had converted our $ booking to £s before charging our card, the rate of conversion they had used was very unattractive and had been done without our agreement. Their conversion equated to $1.9612 to the £ whereas the rate levied by our card issuer equated to $2.191461 to the £, meaning their unauthorised conversion booking had increased our accommodation costs by £32.14. Dealing with their accounts department to get this wrong put right was a nightmare, although it was eventually put right and our room was upgraded as a gesture of goodwill.

Our initial greeting at reception was “cold”, that was until our reservation details came up on screen when there was a transformation in the attitude of the clerk – there was doubtless some on screen reference to our determination over the currency conversion issue and perhaps even our letter to Starwood Chief Executive in White Plains, New York!

The Executive Suite was first class, clean, excellent size, excellent facilities and excellent view over Hyde Park. The hotel location is perfect for accessing Darling Harbour, Circular Quay/Opera House, China Town, Central Shopping Area, Botanical Gardens and Train Station. After the initial hiccup at reception we found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. Our stay was generally enjoyable, it’s a pity it got off to a bad start with the booking and a “cold” start at reception. We would consider staying at the Sheraton on the Park again, provided we could access a promotional rate and provided they levied their accommodation charge in the currency it was booked in.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

I stayed at the Sheraton for 4 days whilst in Sydney over new year. We arrived at 9am and unfortunately our room could not be prepared until 12pm but as it was obviously a busy period this was ok. The room was large, bed comfortable and facilities as expected ie large LCD TV, office area, lots of storage with a large walk in closet. My only criticism was the view - a wall!

The location is excellent opposite Hyde Park and only a 5 minute walk to the Botanical Gardens where we attended the New Year's celebration overlooking the fireworks on the bridge. (Amazing).

The hotel was reasonable value given location and standards. However the drinks in the bar were very expensive about $25 for a small glass of wine and a bottle of beer!

For a good standard of accommodation in the city with excellent transport links I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

I stayed here for a couple of nights over the Australia Day weekend. The rooms are very nice and location is central to most everything in Sydney. I typically stay at more Hilton properties (Diamond HH Member) but have been a strong PG supporter (Gold Member) for a number of years. The hotel seemed slow and on my second day it occurred to me that they hadn't given me access to the club lounge - so I called and requested and was denied (not on this stay according to front desk). It's not a big deal as I really don't use these to much extent anyway (maybe a morning juice or bottle of water) - but I thought it was a bit strange. The hotel was slow and they have a loyal customer a long way from home (Chicago) - with one day left - it may have been a nice gesture.

Otherwise, this was a nice hotel and good location. After a week in Melbourne, I returned to Sydney and stayed at the 4-Points Darling Harbor (5-nights) and think I enjoyed it a bit better. The rooms are certainly better here but Darling Harbor was great! Overall - I would recommend this hotel and Sydney was terrific!! Bridge Climb is a must!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
399 helpful votes 399 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

Our stay at this hotel was very enjoyable with professional, efficient and friendly employees that offered attention to detail and what we considered a five star experience!
ARRIVING & DEPARTING
We used taxis to/from the airport and found the staff on hand to assist on both occasions. They were very prompt and professional in helping with our things. There are stairs and a ramp to access the lobby area. A lovely hotel entrance awaited us and it was very nice to see the staff in uniforms on hand to help.
RECEPTION
On entering the hotel the lobby area was very busy with activity and it took a moment to be orientated. We found the reception desk on the right and were promptly attended to by the friendly staff member. It was great initiative of the staff member to ask us if we would like to upgrade to a park view room for an additional $30 AUD however we decided to stay with the city view room and thanked him for his offer. During our stay we approached reception for assistance on two questions we had and on both times the service was professional and efficient. On check out we were attended to very quickly and our last impression was as good as our first – an excellent five star hotel.
ROOM
We walked in our king city view room and were surprised with how big it was! On entry we had a walk in luggage storage and wardrobe to the right, the bathroom to the left, straight ahead the desk area with a sitting area and around the corner to the left one of the most comfortable king beds in our many hotels to date! The bathroom was big, the range of amenities impressive and different lighting options were available. There were ample towels provided, a big bath and a walk in shower with a glass door. The water pressure was perfect and it was a wonderful room and bathroom to be in after long flights! The mini bar had a very good selection and there was a big tea selection as well as hot chocolate & coffee. The cot provided for our infant was beautiful and it was so lovely to see the staff take the time with it each day and even tuck in the little toy under the blanket! As a family staying at this hotel we felt very welcome. There was so much attention to detail in this room and many things were thought of for the guest and traveller, we were very impressed and would not hesitate to return here if ever have the opportunity to! There were the shutters to offer privacy in the room as the view was to a city building and it okay to not have a view as the room offered so much comfort we didn’t even notice!
FACILITIES
The swimming pool and health club were at a charge and not included in our room price. The internet was at an expensive fee for in room use however free in the lobby area as well as an internet area for guests with no laptop. We didn’t dine at the options in this hotel so can’t comment on these however they all looked nice and inviting.
AREA
The location of this hotel is ideal for the first or regular visitor to Sydney. Main tourist attractions are accessible on foot, monorail, bus, or taxi from the hotel (or near it in case of monorail). We were very happy with the position of the hotel for shops, restaurants and ease to get a taxi. The Hyde Park is across the street that some rooms face and it is very beautiful to walk through.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.