We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton on the Park, Sydney to your Saves list
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summerscape from $229
Ranked #24 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in the Sheraton on a bargain last minute deal for my husband's birthday and we had a terrific time. Our room was upgraded to a beautiful view over the park and harbour on the 14th floor, and they delivered a complimentary bottle of wine - all because it was a birthday celebration. The staff were all so attentive and friendly, ensuring that we were having a great stay, pity I'm terrible with names as I would love to pay credit to the staff on the front desk that looked after us and our waiter in Feast restaurant. The hotel itself feels quite luxurious, with beautiful bathrooms and well thought hotel rooms and public spaces. We found that the hotel is very convenient to the museum, art gallery, and shopping district. The buffet downstairs (Feast) is a very very good price for in house guests, and full of amazing food. Very easy to over-indulge! The waiter at Feast brought a special piece of cake with a candle and 'happy birthday' sign for my husband which was a lovely touch. If you're lucky enough to find a good price (so that you feel you're getting a cheaper deal than the full price) then this hotel is well worth staying in!!!

Room Tip: 1416 has a lovely view over the park and cathedral with glimpses of the harbour, and nice and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Jessica A,
I’m so pleased we were able to play a part in ensuring that your husband’s birthday celebrations were both memorable and enjoyable. It’s great to note we were able to take such good care of you both and that you were so pleased with our products and services. Thank you for choosing Sheraton on the Park for such a special occasion and we hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    614
    158
    78
    61
See reviews for
260
706
185
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Our visit did cover New Years Eve, so we paid top rate (and a bit) - but I was under-whelmed. Our room (and presumably half the others) faced onto office blocks (you could see people at their desks) - the rooms (particularly the bathroom) were embarrassingly large and the feel was of conspicuous oppulance to a level that made me uncomfortable (and always suspecting I was going to be caught out for an extra payment - the water so carefully laid out on the side was - in small print $9 - internet access was charged at $25 - when they claim they are offering hospitality such basics should be included, not set there to trap you). My Travel agent, Travelfinders) had booked a room with breakfast - but the Sheraton failed to mention breakfast when we arrived, on day 2 they charged it to the room, when challenged they changed us to breakfast included and said they were removing the charge and then when I checked out the charge was still there. It was an excellent breakfast but spoilt by lack of "hospitality". It may be fine if someone else is paying but even with a deal, this Sheraton is too self important for an average tourist.

Room Tip: do not take the "city side" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear rosevear99,
I was most concerned to note your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton on the Park. We do have an option of either City Side rooms or Hyde Park Side rooms and our guest rooms are indeed the largest you will find in Sydney (and our bathrooms are a favourite for our guests!); we strive to provide all the necessities our guests require for their stay (such as water and internet) however apologies if you felt this was a trap, as we definitely do not intend to make you feel it is. Additionally, our apologies for the confusion regarding your breakfast inclusion as the experience and service that you encountered certainly does not reflect the quality of service that we strive to achieve here at the Sheraton on the Park. I thank you for raising your concerns and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to make up for this less than perfect experience.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed over New Year when hotel very busy but everything worked very smoothly, good room and. Rey good breakfasts. Location perfect for getting to most places in the city. However, travelling for two months in New Zealand, Australia and Malaysia this was one of very few places where there is not free wifi throughout the hotel. Having an hour free but only in the lobby is a pain and in a hotel of this calibre (and cost) very surprising.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Gemini31_13,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor from your recent stay at the Sheraton on the Park. I’m delighted you had a nice time with us on your trip to Sydney. In regards to the internet usage, we provide complimentary wireless connectivity throughout the entire hotel in all public areas and for a small fee in all rooms we have wired and wireless options for up to 3 devices at one price. Nevertheless, I have taken your feedback on board and hope to welcome you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park in the not too distant future.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Unless you get a deal (we had 3 nights for the price of two) you need deep pockets to stay here but it really is a great base in Sydney. Hollywood lobby, large room overlooking the park, big comfy bed, walk-in shower, attentive, friendly staff, easy walking distance to Darling Harbour restaurants, the Barracks etc. In quality, quantity, presentation and price the hotel's evening seafood buffet (stuff yourself with lobster tails, oysters, king prawns etc) beat anything we had elsewhere and you could have something different for breakfast every day for a fortnight. Which must all have been some comfort to fellow guests Strauss, Hussein and Gower (TV cricket commentators, for the uninitiated) who were left well alone to muse on England's collapse.

Room Tip: Head for the upper floors facing the park. You might even be tempted to join the early morning exerc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Dynevorman,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review on Tripadvisor. I’m delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back when your travels return you to our shores.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed at the Sheraton from 29/12/13 to 10/1/14 and had a great stay. Spotlessly clean and staff very helpful and polite even to us Poms!
Food was excellent although quite expensive as were the drinks.
Minor problem with the third bed for our son we had put in as it was broken but this was quickly replaced.
Wi-fi bit of a headache as you have to keep going to reception to access codes which last for one hour and they only work in the lobby.
My main issue was the waking up at 5.30am every morning with the sound of 2 car park barriers on Castleraigh Street that kept beeping loudly every time a car entered or exited the car park below. We stopped on the sixth floor and the noise was enough to wake you, our friends stopped on the 19th floor and couldn't hear it.
So if stopping either stop in a higher floor than 6 or ask for the Park View side of the hotel.
The rooms are very nice and have plenty of room although the storage space for clothes is a little puzzling as there is hardly any, about 10 coat hangers and 3 very small drawers was noit really sufficient for a family of 3 staying for 2 weeks, hence clothes were just left on tables and spare chairs which I know is not of paramount importance but made the room always look messy despite the great job the cleaning staff did every day.

Room Tip: Top hotel but stay in as higher level as possible to alleviate street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear neilcrump,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park for your trip Down Under and for your wonderful feedback. In regards to the internet usage, we provide complimentary wireless connectivity in public areas of the hotel and for a small fee in all guestrooms we offer wired and wireless options for up to 3 devices at one price. Our apologies for the noise you had mentioned as this is from the Carparking Station across the road from the hotel, which has not been raised as a concern from any of our guests however, I have taken your feedback on board and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Sheraton. Everyone was really friendly and the room was stunning. I loved having the full sized bath in the bathroom.

We had room service three times, and although expensive, it was well worth the cost. Each time it was lovely and exceeded our expectations.

The pool area is beautiful and the staff were great - they even lent us some goggles as my daughter forgot hers :-)

Check in and out was very easy and the location of the Hotel is brilliant. We were able to walk everywhere and there was always a taxi available.

Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try the soup for dinner one night - it is huge and definitely enough for a mail meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Sam F,
I’m delighted to read your review and truly appreciate your 5 Star Rating and wonderful feedback. I’m pleased we met and hopefully exceeded your expectations and look forward to your speedy return.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here over Christmas holiday. I was very disappointed with the wait in line to get my room which was part of a cruise tour package. I stood in line for a good 20 minutes and before getting service and was told they did not have my reservation. A good 10 minutes late and another computer later they finally found my reservation (even though it was confirmed the day before by my tour guide along with the letter with the reservation). The room was a good size, looked a little dated with the black tiles in the bathroom that could use some good cleaning, but overall the room was comfortable. Shops, park, and malls were within walking distance and the reception staff help with suggestions for shopping. I was really sorry for the porters who brought our bags into the hotel as our bus was unable to park in the front of the hotel they had to take us into the back of the hotel which only had stair to take 17 peoples luggage up. We felt sorry for them and helped they take them up the stair when we came and when we left. I was really disappointed with the buffet. The food was only so-so not much variety and they really catered to certain nationalities and was not worth the $42. Check out was horrible again another 20 minute wait to hand in my key. I would recommend it if you want a good location, plenty of shopping, but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear gemgirl115,
Please accept my sincere apologies for the delay you encountered on arrival to the hotel as this is not at all typical of the high standards that we constantly strive to achieve. I’m pleased to note you were comfortable in your guest room and our associates were able to suggest some good locations for shopping. Please note the tour buses do not park in the front of the hotel as our arrival area for our groups is in the rear of the hotel, close to the stairs leading to our reception area which indeed does have a capacity to take more than 17 guests luggage, however apologies for the disappointment. The buffet in our Feast Restaurant is a very popular choice for guests in our hotel and we also do provide express checkout service which allows guests to drop their keys in the box located near the lobby lifts and an email is sent to you of your tax invoice. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and reinstall your faith in the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.