We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CENTRALLY LOCATED IN THE HEART OF SYDNEY....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton on the Park, Sydney to your Saves list
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summerscape from $229
Ranked #24 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“CENTRALLY LOCATED IN THE HEART OF SYDNEY....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We took the kids for a weekend away in Sydney and we decided to stay at Sheraton on the Park. We can't fault the location of the hotel, directly across Hyde Park and 5 minutes walk to the St Mary's Cathedral, National Australia Museum, CBD, surrounded with endless shops and eateries.

The kids enjoyed their stay and loved their beds. We didn't really find out whether there is a kids room in the hotel. It would be nice if there is...but perhaps that would be for next time to find out.

We did not try any of the restaurants in the hotel other. We experienced the Executive Club which extended good services with very attentive staff to our needs considering we have children.

Price is on the high end for this hotel even if you are after a standard room rate but if it's location you are after for a few days stay in Sydney, this is for you to consider. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms 1212 and 1213 (interconnecting rooms facing Hyde Park/ Cathedral and a bit of water view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear moverskami,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your family time away and our staff ensured the kids were well looked after, creating a memorable family holiday.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    614
    158
    78
    61
See reviews for
260
706
185
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

A company that I am on the board of recently relocated its head office to a site very near the Sheraton and so booked us here for a board meeting. Many hotels in Sydney have tiny rooms so I was surprised by the spacious, well set out room. The air conditioning was efficient and quiet - something I feel is very important on hot night. I like to sleep cool and many hotels fail to get cool enough. The internet speed was not brilliant but acceptable. The service was all good and at the rate I received I thought the hotel was good value for Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear John D,
Im pleased to read we met your expectations with the Boardrooms available for our corporate guests and that you had also thoroughly enjoyed your guest room. We hope to be of continued service you in 2014!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The Sheraton on the Park is one of the best hotels I have stayed in and certainly in Sydney. It overlooks Hyde Park and is very convenient to the main shopping area including David Jones and the QVB. Buses pass the door so you can go by bus or taxi to Circular Quay or to the Eastern Suburbs etc.
The food in the restaurant was superb and the breakfast one of the best in any hotel with delicious fruits, bircher muesli, eggs, bacon etc. delicious pastries. All are replenished frequently and the service was always excellent.
There is a lap pool at the top of the hotel and a small sunbathng area, with views across to the Heads and towards Watsons Bay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Hyde Park are good and with hush glass, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Maturity,
Such an honour to read your review of your stay here at the Sheraton on the Park and to be “one of the best hotels you have stayed in”. Our location is definitely the best you will find in Sydney with all the convenience you could ever ask for right at your doorstep, and the view from our Rooftop pool is breathtaking. I thank you for your feedback regarding our Food & Beverage offerings and we look forward to welcoming you back in the new year!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

First: we are staying at this Sheraton hotel under two reservations [continuing nights]. One under Celebrity Cruises and the other under our own name. I'm not sure where to begin. We arrived at the hotel at 11:00 AM on 24 November 2013. We were informed that our room was not yet cleaned [understandable]. We were told that the cleaning would be given a PRIORITY but would not be ready for an hour [not understandable since there is no logical way that it would take an hour to clean each single room]. It was suggested that we go upstairs and have some coffee, tea, and / or lunch while we waited. This would be acceptable except that the restaurant was CLOSED for the change-over from breakfast to lunch. We then went back downstairs to the Tea Lounge and was told – even though the area was almost completely empty that no tables were available. After some discussion – we were told that we would be served if we would be finished by noon [at this point forty minutes away]. We managed to gobble our sandwiches down with three minutes to spare.

Upon arrival back at the reservation desk – we were informed that our room was STILL NOT READY. We took seats nearby and our door passes were brought to us approximately 10 minutes later. We headed to our room where we encountered our next surprises: the room was booked as a wheelchair accessible handicap room and all correspondence between both Sheraton and Celebrity Cruises and our travel agent confirmed this room to be such. This room was anything but wheelchair accessible [pictures available]: no roll-in shower, no space for a wheelchair under the sink, few lift bars in the bathroom, no wheelchair height security peep hole in door, etc.. Lastly, the view from this room – even though it was supposed to have either a park or city view had a view of the building air conditioning equipment and the wall of the hotel. We weren't paying almost $300 per night for this.

Going back down to the front desk – the manager [who actually checked us in originally and should have known about the restaurant problems noted above] first told us that this room was their “wheelchair accessible handicap room” and saw nothing wrong with it or it's location. After I reminded her that we were Starwood Preferred Guest members of long standing and that something needed to be done to correct these problems – she offered us an alleged upgrade – not wheelchair accessible but something we could manage to work around with a lot of extra effort and work – to a room with a view of the park. Additionally, she stated that this room was larger than the original room. It turns out to be much smaller but my wife and I agreed to make the best of it for the four nights. We were later informed that – even though they specifically list “roll-in showers” on their web site and confirmed such on our reservation – they have NO SUCH ROOMS.

We're not through yet...... We found that there was no ice bucket in the room. Called the front desk and they sent up a wine bucket with ice. It didn't take long for that ice to melt. It gets better!!!!!!!!!

We received a call at noon on Monday asking us if we knew what check-out time was. I informed the caller that we were now on the second continuing reservation from Celebrity and that I had filled out the necessary form on Sunday. First she said that she had no record of this and finally – after minutes of arguments – found the record. I figured everything was now fine. Stupid me... We went down to lunch and when we returned to the room – none of the door passes would work. Upon going down to the front desk, again, I was informed that the keys were no longer good and new keys had to issued and that the caller at noon should have informed us of such.

Monday evening I placed the note on the door knob requesting the newspaper in the morning. Tuesday morning came and when we left for our tour at 8:00 AM the paper was not yet there. I figured that maybe we were too early and that it would show up while we were out. Returning at 5:00 PM: still no newspaper. Going down, again, the manager told me that she couldn't understand not getting the paper delivered “if” the tag had been placed on the door Monday night but that she would get a paper sent up. As to an “ice bucket”: they don't have any but she would send up the same wine ice bucket and ice that they did on Sunday.

We next discovered that there was no representative from Celebrity at the hotel nor any “letter” for us pertaining to our transfer from the hotel to the port [something that we have ALWAYS received upon arrival at the pre-cruise hotel on every previous cruise no matter what the cruise line]. After numerous international calls and requiring the services of our travel agent – who was on vacation – a half dozen Celebrity personnel in Miami and the local agent in Sydney: it was established that, indeed, the usual letter was left at the front desk for us but never delivered [something that we established was delivered to all other Celebrity passengers staying at the hotel.

We're almost through and out of the hotel. We had a scheduled 11:00 AM pick-up time scheduled. After breakfast I checked out early with the understanding that we were not leaving until 11:00 AM and would continue to need access to our room [key still working, TV working, and AC working]. I was assured that there would not be any problems. Foolish me. I no sooner get into the elevator to find that our keys no longer worked. Upon going back to the front desk and seeing the manager – who kept lying to us about their service getting better – I was told that this could not possibly be happening. He escorted me back to our room so that I could get in still telling me that this problem couldn't be happening but acknowledging that our keys weren't working.

In no way can the service that we received at this hotel be considered acceptable. You stay at this hotel at your own risk..................

Just for the record: we stayed at the Sheraton Darling Harbour a few years ago and everything was perfect. Same hotel chain, same city, different hotel and totally different experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Lrothfl,
I appreciate the time you have taken to provide such a thorough review and am glad we had the opportunity to meet with each other so I could extend my sincere apologies for the less than perfect stay. Please rest assured that your feedback is taken very seriously and I realize that we cannot turn back the clock on your disappointing experience however, moving forward, please contact me directly so that I in turn can personally handle your future reservation requirements and ensure that you are well looked after.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton on the Park recently to celebrate our birthdays and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Check in was smooth and to our delight we were upgraded to a park view room. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was huge and there was even a walk in wardrobe. All staff we met were professional, friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was lovely and ranks up there among the best. We took advantage of a special deal for in house guests for the lunch buffet. The range and presentation of food was amazing! Very convenient location to Hyde Park area, shops and Town Hall. Make sure you visit the pool on the top floor. The view is amazing from there and not to be missed!

Room Tip: Park side rooms are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear KerryandDave,
Happy Birthday! I’m so pleased we were able to play a part in ensuring that your birthday celebrations were both memorable and enjoyable. Its great to note we were able to take such good care of you and that you were so pleased with our products and services. Thank you for choosing Sheraton on the Park for such a special occasion and we hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This hotel is very functional but just lacks a little polish in areas to take to the next level. We arrived late after 14 hour flight check in fine and helped with Starwood number as forgot my card this gave late check out and free wifi other hotels in Australia free wifi as standard. Showed to City side room but it was dark and had wooden blinds opened in the morning to be faced with a view of concrete walls all sides. The room internally was excellent with a great shower but even with our concrete wall view still noise issues from both street and corridor.
Breakfast offers a good choice but can be chaotic plus some of items need refreshing more often.
Concierge staff excellent and very helpful with everything

Room Tip: Check the room if you want a view suggest higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear MDFern,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park on your travels to Sydney. Positioned in central CBD with such a great location we are faced with the challenges of city noise however we thank you for your feedback and hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great location and close to everything. a bit pricy, however, as it's CBD what else can you expect.
Great Breakfast and worth including. Rooms very comfortable, cant complain. We must mention the room was noisy from the street even though we were on the 15th Floor .

Room Tip: Go High and try and avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear DenisAsgard,
I appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay at the Sheraton on the Park and am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. As we are so centrally positioned in the CBD we do face the challenges of street noise however do have the advantage of being central to everything!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.