We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet corner right in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Save Saved
You added Sheraton on the Park, Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
City Getaway from $199
Ranked #18 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice quiet corner right in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

It is in a very convenient location of the city with a great view to the park. The staff was very friendly and helpful and room was spacious and clean. Breakfast at Feast was so so but with good varieties to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Robertal34,
Sheraton on the Park is in an absolute perfect location for all types of travelers, be it business or leisure. Im pleased our staff ensured you had a memorable stay and that you enjoyed our award winning Feast offerings!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    871
    512
    132
    57
    43
See reviews for
206
585
169
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

From the moment we drove up to the Sheraton on the Park we were treated to five star class. Valet staff were attentive and proactive. Our luggage was sent to our room. Check in was efficient and we felt very welcomed. The hotel foyer is quite lovely and even though there was so much happening we felt attended to.

We called for a rollaway bed and the gentleman arrived within twenty minutes despite me saying there was no rush. He took care of everything. Our luggage also arrived within twenty minutes and was placed in the walk in wadrobe. Nice.

The room was a standard city view room at the Sheraton but would be a king room or small suite anywhere else. The bed was outstanding and beautiful to behold. The pillows...oh the pillows... speechless. Heavenly.

A lovely desk area and lounge setting with a coffee table was also very nice. There were shutters across the entire window wall and they looked great however our view was not so great. We looked upon the office block opposite. That was quite disappointing. The mini bar and wooden Twinings tea chest were stocked and elegant. The tv was standard hotel size.

The bathroom..... was quite beautiful with marble walls and finishes and a glorious bathtub. The shower was separate and very nice also.

I was disappointed not to have the opportunity to do a little personal tour of the hotel but I was very tired.

My friend went for a swim in the pool and a spa and said it was wonderful.

Checking out was easy but it was very busy and we did have to wait a little while for our car. It was clear that it was a particularly busy morning and honestly.. it was nice to just stand at the steps of the hotel and watch the comings and goings and look over at the park.

We will stay again next year and make the most of our time rather than recall the tired weary travellers we were the night we stayed.

The Sheraton on the Park is a class above anywhere else I have stayed. In every way.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of some sort whether you are going all out with a park view or settling for the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Cate R,
Thank you for taking the time to post your very thorough review and for your wonderful feedback. I’m delighted you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park in the not too distant future.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights August 2013. The guy who checked us in was snooty from the start. Demanded a credit card even though we had a voucher. Made us feel bad for booking through a reseller instead of from Starwood directly. They gave us the last room on the floor by the fire exit. We asked for newspaper which did not get delivered. The second day we advised the housekeeper that we are leaving at 9AM and asked for the room to be made up. At 2PM when we came, it was still not made up. The executive floor was being remodeled so there was no place to go but in the lobby, When we ordered a bottle of Diet Coke the non speaking English girl came back with a glass of Coke, we asked again, she came back with a bottle of regular Coke. We had to ask for someone English speaking. The elevators did not work properly. We found mold in the bathroom. One night we were awoken by drunken people who used the fire steps to make their exit. We recognized them to be hotel employees. The hotel denied this. They refused to let us check out into another hotel. We spend the time to write a review about this to Starwood, and got a standard "we are the best in the industry" form letter back. Not so good. Do recommend staying there, and bother letting them know something is wrong. There are a lot of other much better and less expensive, hotels.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear ExpectG00dService,
Thank you for contacting us through Starwood Corporate Customer Services and for also taking the time to post your review. We do indeed appreciate your feedback and once again apologise for the inconveniences caused. Please note for future stays, most hotels require payment to be held on a nominated credit card to cover for room and incidentals charges, this is also stated on the registration card you had signed on arrival and is common practice. Additionally, room allocation is not dependant on the channel used to confirm a reservation however, our apologies for your disappointment caused and as advised to you earlier, the noise you encountered from the vicinity of your guest room was not a Sheraton on the Park associate, as we did investigate your feedback and reviewed the CCTV footage to confirm this. ExpectG00dService, I understand you had bought your concerns to our attention whilst you were in house and as a gesture of goodwill and a token of our apology, we arranged complimentary Sheraton Club Lounge access for the remainder of your stay and furthermore upgraded your room, our apologies this still did not meet your expectations.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Delayed review.... Stayed Easter long weekend 2013. Booked the deal where you get free parking which was the selling point as parking costs in Sydney can be high! We are Sydney siders and wanted a staycation.. The room was a great size, quite roomy, extremely clean, great pressure in the shower, an all round great choice. Had dinner offsite but went to the bar for dessert and a night cap, which was yummy, i had the brownie. Didnt stay for breakfast as it was too expensive. A beautiful hotel that we would stay at again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear HolnMatt,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park for your staycation! Sounds like you had a great long weekend stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards,
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've always enjoyed this hotel, so I won't bang on other than to say it's an excellent city hotel with spacious rooms and attentive staff. The executive upgrade to Club level was very pleasant, although rather odd treatment when I asked the wait staff if I could just take a couple of scones to my room as the throng of the room and my state of mind just wasn't in public mode. I was not permitted to and informed that it was 'company policy'. I left, having been put in my place, and as I went down in the elevator reminded myself that in a five star hotel, company policy just has to be transcended occasionally - especially when it comes to two scones on a plate! I then rang guest services with this observation - and this is the attention to service and detail - after which, Nigel (well done) sent me some scones. This is what five star means. Not the trappings of the hotel, but the service. Otherwise, a brilliant stay, although breakfast on Club level is a bit of a rat race given the size of the room and the service area, so try and go really early or really late.

Room Tip: City side is less expensive, and the park view really isn't worth it - Hyde Park is no Central P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Zaubie,
My apologies for the service shortfall you encountered however, I’m pleased to note that Nigel had assisted you in making sure you were happy and enjoyed the scones!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel really is special. A great location opposite Hyde Park close to everything in the city. Our stay included parking (a huge bonus),and your vehicle is securely parked and speedily available for exit. The staff are really friendly, professional and obliging, nothing is too much trouble. Huge spacious rooms, only down side we had a room with an adjoining door with noisy neighbours - I really should have complained. An excellent buffet breakfast was also included, but we had so over indulged at the Seafood Buffet the night before we ate very sparingly.

Room Tip: Ask for Parkview rooms overlooking Hyde Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear jamscone3,
Im delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us, our Stay Park and Play package is definitely a very popular choice for guests wanting their accommodation to also include parking and buffet breakfast in our award winning signature restaurant Feast!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great big rooms & bathrooms, received a free upgrade upon arrival, extremely comfortable beds and very well insulated rooms; huge spread for breakfast & Very friendly and professional staff - Really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard L, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear flemarch,
Im so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us whilst travelling to Sydney and we hope you will return soon!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.