We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Save Saved
You added Sheraton on the Park, Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay + Save from $199 p/n
Ranked #20 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous - you can't go wrong here. I stayed for work a few times and the service and rooms are absolutely fantastic. If you're looking for a luxury hotel in a prime downtown location, this is it. Everything is within walking distance and the views of the park are so nice. Breakfast is delicious (although the price is pretty high). Staff is welcoming and the rooms feel like a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Andrea S,
Thank you for your return stay at the Sheraton on the Park and great to hear you found our service and facilities of an excellent standard. We look forward to your return once again!
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    937
    554
    139
    65
    46
See reviews for
226
627
174
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have stayed here a few times now and find it a bit hit and miss. Service and room quality in particular can be inconsistent. I think the room you get depends upon your booking agent/website - if you use the hotel it seems to be a better room; maybe this is just coincidence. Buffett breakfast is expensive and seems o be better on a week day than weekend. The location is great.
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Snowyfriend,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Booking through our Hotel website or contacting us directly allows us far more opportunity to cater and specifically target your requirements as well as provide you with a guaranteed best rate however this does not change the allocation of room or differ in the service we provide. My apologies for your disappointment also in our breakfast offerings however I am pleased to note you will return to the Sheraton on the Park to allow us the opportunity to re-instill your confidence in our Product, Service and Brand.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed here for four nights on business/pleasure in June 2013, after relocating from another property. The hotel is in a great location with views of Hyde Park and just a block away from the Westfield shopping center. It's a 15 minute walk to the Rocks. We had a beautiful and enormous corner room, with a gorgeous black marble bathroom. Breakfast was included in our rate (normally $42) and there was a huge selection of food for many different cultures (I don't think I would have paid for it if it wasn't included). I'd definitely recommend this property to anyone visiting Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Krissy1983,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor for all to view and enjoy. Im delighted to note you relocated to Sheraton on the Park and that we met all your expectations and hope to be of continued service to you in the near future!
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location! Very short walk to Westfield/Sydney Tower, Pitt St mall etc, and across from the lovely Hyde Park. I shared a twin room with a friend, and although the view wasn't the nicest the room was great. Comfy beds, perfect amount of space for two people, writing desk, TV, lounge, and mini bar fridge that we could fit two drink bottles of our own in.

The bathroom was nice, but having a shower curtain instead of a door on the shower was quite irritating. Every single time I had a shower, no matter what I did to prevent it, half the bathroom floor got covered with water. The bath mat would get soaked and I'd have to be really careful not to slip. Not fun.

We ate breakfast there a few times, each time we were seated very quickly, and we really enjoyed our meals.

Our stay would have been almost perfect if it had not been for the unfortunate miscommunication regarding payment that we had to endure upon arrival. My friend went to pay with a debit card (neither of us aware of the problems not having a credit card would cause), and the lady at the desk kept making mistakes, putting the wrong number in, putting the payment through multiple times, making a huge deal about how difficult debit cards are to use vs. a credit card etc, until it got to the point where my friends daily limit had exceeded and we were forced to take a trip to her bank, which thankfully was around the corner.

The amount of money the lady had put through was all on hold, and waaaay more than we were meant to be paying. This was extremely frustrating and could have been dealt with in a much more professional manner. When we came back from the bank the lady was no where to be found, and we spent the next 3 hours trying to get an explanation from so many different people as to what would happen with the money they had taken from my friend.

Not once did anyone apologise. It was brushed off and we were made to look silly for caring. Not what we were expecting for such a luxurious and expensive hotel. All we got was a call from the manager when we got to the room, to finally apologise for the mistakes they had made. We were sort of expecting a bottle of wine or something, for the trouble they caused, but that didn't happen.

Luckily there were no other issues during our stay, and the money was returned to my friends account, although not until we got back from our trip...luckily she hadn't needed it while we were there!

The Sheraton is a lovely hotel, but after that negative experience I don't think I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Andrea S,
Thank you for your return stay at the Sheraton on the Park and great to hear you found our service and facilities of an excellent standard. We look forward to your return once again!
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This literally is my second home and I have been staying here for years. Centrally located, near buses, trains, CBD business locations, retail and a quick trip from the hotel gets you onto all major traffic routes. Most of the staff are happy to assist and very welcoming. Rooms are always comfortable and clean. If you are a Gold + SPG member, you will get the occasional room upgrade (rarely) and a few bonuses.
My only reason for not giving full marks is that they often will price the regulars out if they have volume bookings from tourists, so their loyalty is questionable at times.

Room Tip: ask for a park view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear MaxV870,
Im disappointed to note your feedback and can assure you we greatly value all our Starwood Preferred Members. We endeavour to meet the room requirements of all our guests however during periods of high occupancy this can often be difficult to achieve, and I am pleased to advise that our hotel has been experiencing very high occupancy. We hope to welcome you back to your “second home” in the not too distant future.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The best hotel I've stayed at.

The hotel room I booked was one of the smallest rooms this hotel has and I have to say it was too big for me.

Opposite of a lovely park this hotel is located in a fantastic location.

They have two entrances. You can enter through the front or if you want enter through the back.

The hotel is a 5 star hotel so everything was fantastic.

The only issue I have is the hotel has a 1.5 percent fee for credit cards.
I find this rather odd a 5 star hotel having to surcharge people 1.5% for credit cards. Neither could I find this information on their website.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear pandasoft,
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton on the Park. Please be advised that the credit card surcharge is a common industry practice amongst 5 Star hotels in Sydney and the greater Australian Hotel Industry. This practice is not restricted to the hotel industry and has been introduced across many industries within Australia. Starwood Hotels and Resorts is one of the last major hotel chains to introduce this fee in Australia. Our apologies for the disappointment caused and please note this information is available on our website. Sheraton on the Park accepts alternative method of payments where the fee would not apply, for example EFTPOS and Cash.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saguenay, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just when there on business and I found the hotel to be very luxurious, clean and well tended. Would recommend to anyone. Meals were too expensive though, would rather suggest to eat at the Westfield shopping center food court close by, better price and quite nice for a food court.

Located closed to all nice attraction

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Lewistfo,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park, please note we do continuously benchmark ourselves in line with all other Sydney CBD 5 Star Hotels, as we endeavour to ensure we not only match but exceed the offerings of our competitors. With this in mind, I have taken your feedback on board and look forward to your return.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Starwood APAC, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.