We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Start Luxury on the park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Save Saved
You added Sheraton on the Park, Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates from $199 per night
Ranked #21 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Galway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“5 Start Luxury on the park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were between two minds whether we would stay near to the rocks, but looking back we were delighted by this central location in the city. Both the harbour and The Rocks are within easy walking distance. It was also central for exploring other areas of the town such as China Town and Oxford Street.
We were on Honeymoon and got upgraded to a park view room including breakfast. This was a great addition, as the buffet breakfast offered some excellent options and filled us up for the start of a busy day touring.

The room and bathroom were very spacious. There was a fully stocked, but super expensive mini bar. The room was so comfortable that it was difficult to leave the room. The pool on the top floor provided a beautiful vista of the city landscape. The pool was a very good size, while the changing rooms were very clean and well equipped.

Overall an excellent stay with very efficient and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Park view rooms provide a lovely view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear PaschG,
I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your Honeymoon! Congratulations again. Thank you for choosing to share your wonderful review on Tripadvisor for all to see. We have the best of both worlds being in the city so close to fabulous main attractions as well as being only a short stroll away from the Iconic Sydney Harbour. We wish you the best and hope you will visit us again on your next travels to Sydney.

Warm Regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    569
    148
    72
    49
See reviews for
238
648
179
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
victoria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton on the park Sydney on Sunday. Very good location and value for money. Large rooms with great amenities and bar and restaurants. Sydney has very few luggage storage but they were happy to store my bag. Friendly staff and great service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear er81892,
Thank you for you kind and helpful review on trip advisor. We make sure to look after guests before and after they leave! We hope to see you again in the near future.
Warm Regards,

Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hunter, NSW
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the weekend and had a fantastic time. From the moment we arrived all the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially in the Executive Lounge. We had an Executive Suite which was spacious, clean and very comfortable. I would highly recommend having access to the Executive Lounge on Level 21. We enjoyed the delicious afternoon tea, pre-dinner canapes and drinks and the breakfast each day of our stay. We had dinner at Feast which was lovely, although it was very busy and noisy but it was a Friday night. The hotel is close to shopping at Westfield or Pitt St Mall and a quick stroll to the Monorail station to go around the city.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, we had a most enjoyable stay and hope to return soon, thanks Sheraton on the Park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Daniw,
Thank you so much for your kind words and such wonderful ratings. I am so glad both you and your husband enjoyed your Executive Suite as well as access to the Executive Lounge. Feast Restaurant can be quite popular on the weekends - though I am glad you enjoyed your overall dining experience. We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We decided at the last minute to stay with Sheraton on the Park as we were booked to stay at another city hotel the following night and the Sheraton were offering rooms at very good prices. We stayed in an Executive City view room. As we expected there wasn't a view but we weren't concerned about that as we had Executive Club access and enjoyed the view from there. The room was surprisingly large and well designed in that there was a little sitting room alcove off the bedroom area meaning that you didn't have to sit on the bed to watch TV. When we did go to bed, the TV swung around so you could watch it from bed. The bathroom was also a very good size with plenty of space on the vanity for makeup and toiletries.

The club was excellent. A very good variety of food including a dessert buffet and attentive service. The staff came around and served drinks as opposed to having to line up which was much nicer.

We opted to have breakfast in the hotel restaurant as opposed to the club. Breakfast is offered to club guests at a very reduced rate which is an excellent idea. There was plenty of variety and the offerings were fresh and well presented.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Fussyvoyager,
We are so glad you chose Sheraton on the Park for your last minute stay! Sheraton on the Park offers some of the largest rooms available in the city. I am happy we lived up to your expectations, and we look forward to you staying at our hotel again.

Warm Regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel really makes it a fab stay if you have Platinum status. This means you can eat at the Club Level and be served awesome snacks and food for both breakfast and evening snack. You can also have the option (if traveling with kids) to eat at Feast with a limited buffet selection - although you can't eat inside the restaurant, they make you sit outside in the atrium area. A bit annoying but fully understandable and probably better for all around. The Club Lounge is well stocked with alcohol, sodas, and plenty of other items to tempt your palate. I was bumped to the Executive Suite and really enjoyed the spactious atmosphere. The staff were really accommodating to me, and didn't seem overbearing or pretentious. I didn't particularly think the host at Feast fit in with the rest of the team due to his not so pleasant attitude but then again he probably didn't want kids in sandals dining in either. I would reccommend this place if you have status with Sheraton so you can take advantage of everything. Otherwise I would keep my eyes peeled for great deals because $50 for brekky is far too much. MANGIA!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear JANENARELLE_11,
Thank you for reviewing Sheraton on the Park. I was so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Taking advantage of the club lounge is a fabulous tip – guests staying in our Executive City Side and Hyde Park rooms as well as all suites receive complimentary access to the lounge. Guests in other rooms are able to pay an upgrade fee if interested in the club lounge. We look forward to your next stay.

Warm Regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I recently stayed for two nights on business as I was attending a conferance being held in the Hotel.generally everything was very good, with only a couple of minor quibbles.

The hotel is relatively easy to get to located in Elizabeth Street right opposite the park. It is about a 10-15 min walk to circular quay. I found the staff helpfull with no real service issues.

My room was on the level eight and described to me as king city view. The reality is king back alley view as all I could see out my one smallish window was a concrete wall only a few meters away. That said the view aside this was a very nice room, I think a bit larger than the standard room it was a little oddly shaped with the bedroom and a sitting room in two separate areas giving the feeling of a small suite. Also had a nice big bathroom, so putting the lack of view aside this was a nice room to get (810). I think there is only one of this layout on each floor as it fits into an odd corner of the building.

Minor problems, the toilet did not flush properly unless you stayed holding the button down and then you had to play with it to stop it running, there was also a fair bit of plumbing noise from the rooms either side.

If you bring a car, it will cost you $60.00 per night, fairly typical for central Sydney but still I think very expensive. Internet $20.00 per night and works well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Mark D,
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. As we are centrally located in the city, there are a variety of main attractions only a short stroll away. Perhaps a Hyde Park View will be more suitable for your next stay – we look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Had the good fortune to spend 2 nights here early this week. Was given an upgrade to a corner suite on the 16th floor with a balcony overlooking Hyde Park. Suite was luxuriously appointed and extremely spacious. Bed was very comfortable and despite being on Elizabeth Street was very quiet. This hotel is in a great location with access to Sydney's CBD and business area. Club Lounge on Level 21 has a great outlook over the park and on over the harbour and is a great spot to have a few drinks or have breakfast Staff are very helpful and go out of their way to make you feel at home. Great service by a great team. This is my second stay there this year and is still my choice of hotels in Sydney.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear ozandy,
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful review for all to see and for making Sheraton on the Park your choice hotel in Sydney! We have the best of both worlds being centrally located in the city but with the quiet and serene Hyde Park for our front yard. I will pass along your kind words to the staff; we take great pleasure in looking after all of our guests! We will look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.