We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton on the Park, Sydney to your Saves list
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Christmas from $229 p.n.
Ranked #23 of 183 Hotels in Sydney
Singapore, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good location, nice room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for business. Nice, functional, nautical themed room and friendly staff. Free Internet in the lobby but chargeable in the room. Hotel location is in front of a park and near the metro station. Overall, a good hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Hannah N,
Thank you for your recommendation and for your rating on Tripadvisor, Im delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton on the Park and hope to welcome you back on a leisurely stay in the near future!
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    586
    153
    73
    53
See reviews for
248
670
182
502
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here one night before a cruise. I would given it four stars but the tv in our room was not working. I went to front desk and was told they would be up to check it out. We went out and about and came back and still no tv. Called the front desk and they did send someone up. The room was lovely with a view of the park and we could see just a bit of the harbor. We arrived early and were able to check right in. Friendly service. Breakfast buffet not too bad - not sure of price, as it was included in the price. Walking distance to Opera House and other places to grab a snack. Would recommend.

Room Tip: We were on the 14th floor with a nice view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear cindymouse,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park for your quick stop over in Sydney. Our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with your television not working; im pleased this was rectified and you had the opportunity to enjoy the remainder of your short stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park on your return visit to Sydney.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Second visit in a couple of months and I enjoyed they stay more than the first. Arrived early rooms wasn't ready, but offered use of the health club to freshen up which was perfect. Assigned lovely corner rooms, well fitted out with allot of natural light. Stay always friendly & welcoming. Also treated to an the Club Floor lounge - great space - fantastic views of the city & harbour - adequate selection of food & beverages. Location is super central - harbour 15 mins away, foodie central Surry Hills - 20 mins walk, Art galleries, shopping & major office towers etc all within 5 - 10 mins walk.
Certainly one of Sydney's leading 4 star hotels, make it your home during your next visit

Room Tip: Corner Room - high Floor for fantastic Park & District Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear KiwiExplorer,
I appreciate you returning to the Sheraton on the Park and am pleased you had the opportunity to experience all our 5 Star hotel has to offer our guests. We look forward to your third visit!
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Excellent gym. Free wifi in the lobby on hotel computers. Directly across the street from Hyde park. Walking distance to opera house and art museums. The train station for the airport is across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear rickhoyt,
Thank you for your 5 star rating on Tripadvisor, Im so pleased we met all your expectations and thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very good experience.

Hotel is in handy location (walking distance both to Sydney Opera House and Darling Harbour as well.

Rooms were clean and nice.

I have arrived during morning and my room has not been ready yet (heavy load). Got a key to SPA were I can change, take shower and rest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Artur Z,
Thank you for visiting Sheraton on the Park and appreciate you taking the time to post your review for all to view and enjoy. Im pleased to note you were able to freshen up in our Health Club whilst your guest room was being attended to and hope to welcome you back soon!
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

In summary, a very good business hotel in Sydney's CBD, super helpful staff, and good facilities.

I stayed here on business, and stay straddled a weekend. The hotel is very much focused on the business traveler during the week, then the inevitable influx of tourists happens at the weekend, and ethos changes somewhat, but this is not a reflection on the quality of the hotel and it's staff. I had a great room facing the park; my room had a sofa, which is always nice for relaxing (rather than the stale, standard-issue, 'upright' chair you couldn't possible relax in). The staff at the hotel were very polite and helpful. I did use the gym (confusingly, you have to choose your life carefully to access the gym floor - it's a bit John Malkovich '7-and-half' floor); I was able to to get a good cardiovascular and weights workout (free weights up to 40Kg - plenty). I didn't have dinner at the hotel, but breakfast was good - standard buffet you'd expect of Sheraton. WiFi was available and charged in room. The speed isn't great - welcome to Australia (don't expect the same speed you get in Europe in Australia). Toiletries are standard Sheraton issue, good enough, but nothing special. Final note, the hotel put a voluntary 'charity contribution on your bill by default, whilst I don't begrudge giving money to worthy causes, you're corralled into it, or have to specifically ask for the item to be removed from the bill at check out.

Accommodating to the business traveler - absolutely
WiFi - charged in room, speed OK (for Australia)
Gym - good, available 24h, cardiovascular and weights workout
Toiletries - standard Sheraton issue, nothing special, but good enough.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Ethan R,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Sheraton on the Park. Our location and views (especially from our Health Club) are truly a draw card for all types of guests, leisure and corporate and the size of our guest rooms are the largest you will find in Sydney! Makes for a comfortable stay, however my apologies for the disappointment caused in relation to the donation amount on your tax invoice. Starwood Hotels globally contribute to UNICEF, a worthy charity with strong commitment to cause-related support. I apologise if this was not communicated to you and thank you for your valued feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park in the not too distant future.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had to go twice to Sydney last month and stayed at the Sheraton. The hotel is really conveniently located 'on the park' while very central. The rooms are very pricey but on both stays I was upgraded to a suite (including the second time to the amazing royal suite). The club lounge is pleasant. It is a standard business hotel but its location gives it a pleasant twist.

Room Tip: The rooms are nice, especially if you get upgraded to a suite! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sergio P,
Thank you for your valued feedback, especially as you are a Top Contributor to Tripadvisor and an extensive traveller! Im pleased to note you have been upgraded on both stays to our luxurious Suites and look forward to your return in the near future!
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.