We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent - but getting a bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Save Saved
You added Sheraton on the Park, Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates from $199 per night
Ranked #21 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Winterthur, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Still excellent - but getting a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed last time two years ago at this hotel. It's still excellent: Rooms are large, bed is comfy, club lounge is offering good wine and snacks, as well as a good "continental plus" breakfast. The plus means also scramled eggs and sausages are provided. Staff is very friendly and efficient. Yes, there is a bit more wear and tear than two years ago, but the property is generally well maintained. The only downside is that they more than doubled the rate in two years - which makes it rather expensive for a hotel which is two years older, anyway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear swiss_global_trip,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your stay in Sydney and appreciate your wonderful feedback regarding our guest rooms and our Sheraton Club Lounge. Please also note our rates are always in line with all other 5 star hotels as we endeavour to not only match but exceed our offerings however I have taken your feedback on board and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    569
    149
    72
    49
See reviews for
238
648
179
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stay regularly at the Sheraton on the Park when visiting Sydney for business. It really is a fantastic hotel, and if you're lucky enough to be able to use the executive lounge on the 21st floor, all the better!

The rooms are spacious and light. I can't recall a time I have been unhappy with my room at this hotel. It is right across the road from parkland, and St James Station, where you can get a train to the airport in around 15 minutes. There is a great walk path, that is accessed across the road, up past the Art Gallery of NSW (5 minute walk) and then right around the waterfront past the Opera House and back up to the Sheraton - takes around an hour and is a stunning way to start the day.

The breakfast buffet is plentiful and typical of an Australian 5-star buffet. No, actually it is better than many.

I highly recommend this hotel, but it will depend on what you are in Sydny for and where you need to be. This location suits me for most of my visits.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear aussie_traveller55,
Thank you for your patronage and loyalty to the Sheraton on the Park and for your wonderful feedback. It is very rewarding to receive feedback such as yours and for the recommendation we thank you!
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a favourite of ours and I have never previously written a review on it before, but given i was a little disappointed in something this time around and when I brought it to the staffs attention and it didn't appear to be taken with much credence I thought that I would get Managements attention this way.

This hotel is one of Sydney's best. It's location is perfect for so many things. Only a short walk down to the quay, a one minute walk to the main shopping spots, beautiful Hyde park directly across the road, everything just so close.
There is warm and welcoming staff right throughout the hotel. Rooms are spacious and well appointed, despite getting a little older now.

This visit was the first time we have used the club lounge access. Upon arrival we thought that we would access the lounge to have a cup of tea to refresh but were turned away advising that we could only use the facilities between 5-7pm and for breakfast from 7-10am. Having used this service in the Hyatt hotels throughout the world, we had not encountered this before and were disappointed. We just wanted a quiet place to sit, refresh and were told we couldn't. That aside, when we did come come back at 5, there was a lovely selection of food and drinks to choose from and good service. Breakfast was also good the next morning, with plenty of choice to start the day with. I think it is good value for money to upgrade to the club if you are considering it.

What was disappointing this time was that it became clear to us that our room had not been serviced properly prior to our arrival as the evening of our first night I noticed something on the floor by the toilet and upon investigation I discovered it was two soiled sanitary napkins, left on the floor by the base of the toilet. This made me think that the toilet had not been cleaned at all since the previous guest otherwise these would have been found. I found this disappointing for a high end hotel. When I alerted desk staff to this they didn't really seem to care which was also disappointing. I put the napkins in the bin and then some 7-8 hours later a staff member came to refresh the room. Too little too late I thought.

All this aside, I would still highly recommend this hotel to anyone. hopefully my glitch was a rare error and I hope to not find this again for a very long time.

Enjoy all that this great hotel has to offer. I know we will be back again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, Owner at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear LizMontereo,
I appreciate your thorough review and from the very outset I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the disappointing feedback you have provided, especially as we are your favourite hotel of choice. It is hearing constructive feedback such as yours that provides us with the opportunity to re-evaluate our products and tailor it to our guests’ preferences. I regret your concerns were not brought to my attention whilst you were still in residence, as this would have provided me the opportunity to address your issues immediately, ensuring your stay with us was both comfortable and enjoyable. Please note our Sheraton Club Lounge trading hours are 7am through to 9pm and I greatly apologize for the miscommunication that has occurred. Regarding the cleanliness of your room, this is our absolute focus and I thank you for bringing this to my attention. Rest assured this has been addressed immediately and we hope to welcome you back soon to make for this less than perfect experience.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The rooms are very Sheraton - nice beds, some space and oldy world.

The gym is great and always has a spare bike, cross trainer etc.

The sheraton club is very good however has too much free wine for an underweight like me.

A great place to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear scog1,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park and for your positive feedback, greatly appreciated.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed twice at this hotel and it has been great both times. Lobby is comfortable and staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are particularly large and comfortable and modern. Breakfast buffet is very good. Location is central to CBD as well as a short walk to opera house and the Rocks. Club lounge upstatirs is also great. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Marc G,
Thank you for your return stay and for your loyalty to the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I don't usually write reviews for big hotel brands such as Sheraton, since they usually already have a good client base and respectable reputation.

However, I stayed at this 5 star hotel on a long weekend recently to visit a friend in Sydney and was extrmely happy.

Travelling with my partner, we found the room we stayed in to be very big, with a huge beautiful bathroom and even a walk-in wardrobe. The attention to detail is fantastic and it definitely deserves its 5 stars.

Rooftop pool and spa is also very nice, with a stunning view of Hyde Park and the CBD.

One thing that really stood out for me was the customer service. I have stayed in a few 5 star hotels where staff have been snobby and rude. But here, I was warmly greeted by reception (I think the girl's name was Lucy), who did everything they could to have a room ready for us even though we arrived early. Baggage services and even the cleaners were friendly and happy and greeted us as we walked by. It was really refreshing.

I didn't get a chance to try the restaurant but it looks exquisite and I will be sure to stay with Sheraton on the Park on my next trip to Sydney.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Mitch P,
I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at the Sheraton on the Park and am delighted we met and exceeded all your expectations. Also, thank you for your kind words regarding the Associates we have working at the Sheraton on the Park and representing our wonderful hotel. I appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share with all to enjoy. Thank you!
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
415 reviews 415 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a comfortable room that was clean and included a nice view of the park below. The workout room had everything we needed. Be sure to enjoy the view of the park from the swimming pool outdoor patio- you will have to pay for such a great view anywhere else in the city. Breakfast was amazing! Lots of choices! It was included in our hotel package, otherwise it is rather pricey. Concierge was helpful with tips for meals and could provide an umbrella. Westfield mall is just a block away. Easy walk to the harbors. Coffee and tea provided in the room. Had a great stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for the park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear alibarbaraMilwaukee,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park and for your wonderful review. We definitely have one of the best views from our rooftop pool and Health Club. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton on the Park once your travels bring you back to Sydney.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;