We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Save Saved
You added Sheraton on the Park, Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay + Save from $199 p/n
Ranked #19 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Centennial, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night after disembarking from a Princess Cruise at 7:30AM (a 10 minute taxi ride from the port). The reception staff let us check in when we arrived at the hotel around 8AM that morning and our bags were in our room immediately. We had a king with a roll-away and that also was in our room when we got there. The concierge staff was very helpful and got us tickets on the Bridge Climb for that evening (which was worth the $$). They have free WiFi in the lobby which requires a password but they were quick to provide one. Our room was large enough that 3 adults didn't feel crowded. It felt like the hotel rooms may have been updated recently and the bed was extremely comfortable - including the roll-away. They provide an electrical adapter for free (it was located in the mini-bar/food drawer under the TV) which helped with charging our phones/iPads. Our room came with the breakfast which was an outstanding buffet. This hotel is well within walking distance to most everything including the Opera House. Would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear COtraveler5660,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheraton on the Park. Im pleased to read that you enjoyed all that our hotel has to offer and look forward to your return trip to Sydney so we can welcome you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    936
    553
    139
    64
    46
See reviews for
226
625
174
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here and loved it! The Sheraton was able to book us 2 last minute rooms to rescue our vacation after 2 very disappointing nights at the Swissotel. Sarah in reception was great. We ended up with corner rooms on a high floor. It was spacious, well-appointed, with great amenities, and the service was wonderful. The concierge staff was always friendly and ready to help. Tedley the doorman was always smiling and welcoming. Their recommendations were right on for restaurants and tours. The room rates were very reasonable - less than the Swissotel and with nicer rooms. Room service prices were high, but everything was delicious and the portions were generous. The fitness center is one of the best we have experienced in a hotel. The spa staff was able to get 3 of us in for massages at the same time which we really appreciated. The location of the hotel is perfect for shopping and dining. Nothing is more than a walk or short cab ride away. We saw mixed reviews on the seafood buffet but tried it anyway. It was just average, particularly when you consider the price but that was really the only disappointment. We would definitely stay there again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Valerie P,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park and for your informative review. Im so pleased to note you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to make your vacation that little bit more special. We look forward to your return stay when your travels next bring you to Sydney and the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for four nights at the beginning of January 2013 during our tour of Australia. We had a room on floor 12 which overlooked the park. The room was clean and tidy and well appointed. Nice bathroom and separate bath and shower, and one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. The reception staff were all pleasant and helpful. Nice pool on the top floor. Breakfast could be a little hectic as there was large numbers of people seemed to be eating at the same time, but the buffet itself could not be faulted and was extensive to say the least. My claim to fame was in the lift with Cliff Richard, I think he was probably in town for the tennis. If its good enough for him its good enough for me.

Room Tip: Higher room overlooking park if you want a view. There is a club lounge option but this was an addi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear marknic63,
What a great review and thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park. Im delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Had night in Sydney (Xmas Gift from childen) recently and had a wonderful time. Rooms were spotlessly clean and luxurious. Well appointed bathroom and lovely toiletries. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Had not stayed here for a few years but was pleasantly surprised at the upkeep and condition of hotel. Will always stay here when visiting Sydney again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise. Very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Bec251,
Such a nice gift to receive from your children, I’m pleased to note you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and will return to the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park hopefully in the not too distant future.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place isn't cheap. Rooms aren't cheap. Breakfast isn't cheap ($50AUD!!). Dinner isn't cheap ($35AUD sandwich). But OMG do I love this hotel!

Location on Hyde Park is wonderful, and very convenient to bus and train lines. In the CBD, it's walking distance (20-30 mins hilly walk, but enjoyable) to both Sydney and Darling Harbour, as well as just about anything else we wanted to see during our 5-night stay the last week of November.

The rooms are HUGE and have great layouts. Entry way has nice large floor to ceiling mirror. Walk-in closet (when's the last time you saw that at a hotel?) lets you hide the luggage and dirty clothes, making your actual bedroom area feel that much bigger. Bathroom is also huge - and gorgeous. Great shower, great tub, lots of space around the sink. (only complaint is the shower door doesn't have a magnet to keep it shut, so you have to be careful about water leakage).

The bed was comfortable, and the desk and sitting areas were also nice. We had a city room view on an upper floor and they had great blackout curtains that were a godsend as we were getting over our jet lag. A/C was also nice and cool.

Service was good - front desk was fine, easy checkin and checkout, and concierge provided decent recommendatinos although they could be a bit haughty at times.

In short, it's a great home away from home. There is no doubt I will stay here again if I'm ever lucky enough to go back to Sydney. I really can't complain.

A note about Sydney: this place is expensive. Seriously. Typical lunch entree is $35AUD and dinner entree is around $50. Tack on sides, salad, drinks, etc. and your bill racks up quickly unless you're trying to be cheap / eating fast food. But it's oh so worth it. Amazing city. Amazing people. Great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear DallasPillowTalker,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park on your trip to Sydney. Our standard guest rooms are definitely the largest you will find in Sydney and make for a comfortable stay. In regards to the Food & Beverage prices, all our charges are benchmarked in line with other Sydney 5 star hotels as we endeavour to ensure we not only match but exceed the offerings of our competitors. With this in mind, I have taken your constructive comments on board and look forward to welcoming you back when your travels next bring you to Sydney.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton in February, in the lead-up to mardi gras festivities. We had a room on a higher floor (overlooking the city), and were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness and overall comfort. The bathroom was huge and the bed was large and very comfortable.

When we arrived (at about 1pm) we were told we could check-in immediately and have a room on a lower floor, or wait until 3.30pm for a room higher up. Obviously we waited for the higher room. The room took longer than expected to be made-up (finally in at 5pm), but it was worth the wait.

The gym and pool facilities are not to be missed. The views from the top floor across the city are amazing.

We will definitely be looking to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear slug00,
Mardi Gras season is one of our busiest times of the year so my apologies for the delay in receiving your guest room, however I am pleased it was worth the wait. Thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Generally, I had a great impression of the hotel! I had a delighting experience and because of that it made my work easier! I would like to point out that I came across the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! Moreover, I came across the most impressive breakfast buffet with a great variety of products and fruits I didn’t even know the names and their existence! It is a must try!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear loannisk82,
Thank you for your 5 Star rating! We do indeed receive a lot of wonderful feedback regarding our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds (which can also be purchased from the hotel!) and our award winning buffet so thank you for your review. I’m pleased we met your expectations and look forward to your return to the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.