We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton on the Park, Sydney to your Saves list
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Christmas from $229 p.n.
Ranked #23 of 183 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Spacious Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I recently spent two nights at the Sheraton on the park and I think it's one of the nicer business hotels in Sydney. My preference is usually boutique hotels, which this hotel is not, but there are character elements which make this hotel one to consider.

The lobby and reception area has a real buzz to it. It's plush, and has an overall quality feel to it. Staff are friendly and approachable and present themselves well. The room I stayed in was on the 18 floor with a great view of Hyde Park. The room itself is one of the largest rooms I have ever stayed in. The bathroom was lovely and well equiped, the bed comfortable and the pillow selection good. The gym and pool area are also great. Having recently stayed at the Westin Sydney where the pool was very undesirable, I'd say the Sheraton's gym and pool area are first class.

Don't hesitate in booking this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear SallBell,
Following your recent stay here at the Sheraton on the Park, we thank you for your feedback. Our standard rooms and bathrooms are the largest you will find in Sydney and I’m pleased to note we exceeded your expectations. Our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds and linen are definitely a draw card along with our rooftop gym and pool with fantastic views of Hyde Park! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park and for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back for a longer stay next time.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    586
    153
    73
    53
See reviews for
248
670
182
502
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Can't fault the service or the facilities.

Beautifully appointed rooms, enormous showers, super quiet, great gym with view over hyde park.

Ask for a park side room definitely.

Staff are very helpful. Concierge has great restaurant recommendations and can reserve tables for you generally.

Catch a train to St James from the airport and it's just across the road if you dont' want to pay for a cab.

Room Tip: Park side and higher up are better but all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear ridders744,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park and for your wonderful feedback. Our rooms on the Park Side have fantastic views of Hyde Park, St Mary’s Cathedral and Middle Harbour. Great way to unwind and relax!
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed 23-24 Nov 2012.
Very good location, just approx 50m walk from St James train station.
Good rate, considering the CBD location.
For those travellers who are not used to 1.5% charges on credit card payment, Sheraton Sydney is the hotel to stay (prepaid).
Design, bed, facilities, amenities - all up to Sheraton standard
Reception staffs were friendly, even offered me late check out (for Starwood Gold member), even though 24 Nov was a very busy day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear BKLimSelangor,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. As a valued SPG Gold member, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton on the Park and look forward to your return.
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is not a bad hotel. My experience with this hotel goes as far back as 1993, when it first opened as the Park Lane hotel, and then becoming part of the Starwood group, a few years later. I worked at this hotel from 1993, till 1998; and have stayed in its' rooms on many occasions. This was a trip down memory lane for my wife and I, as we hadn't stayed at the hotel since 2002. To make it special, I booked a suite for $599 AUD. This is one of the 50 or so suites they have at this hotel. Do you think this is expensive? You be the judge.
For starters, the choice to have your car valet parked is yours. Even though you have a suite, you can still self-park - I guess if you wanna save the tip? There is no choice, however, but to pay for parking. Even though you have a $600 suite, if you have a car, it will cost an extra $50 to park underneath.
These suites are spread out over the hotel, at all levels. So I guess it was my own bad luck to get the suite on the 3rd floor. Right next door to some meeting rooms. The view - the rocks on the top of the base of the building. Couldn't even see over them to get a glimpse of the park. Sheraton on the "what park?"
The suite has: a sitting area - fairly large; bedroom - not so large; bathroom - standard size.
How's this: The wood trim around the bathroom vanity is the very same trim from 20 years ago - when the hotel first opened. Bathroom amenities are standard, and the shaving kit was missing - an empty packet was left.
As usual, in-room dining is expensive. $33 for a steak sandwich. $8 delivery charge. "NO TIP FOR YOU!"
No free wi-fi, no free movies.
Breakfast - finally, something included! Go to the top floor, to the Club lounge, and swipe your room key. Beautiful view of the city; nice buffet breakfast. Note: This is a limited selection buffet. If you want the full selection, you have to pay more money, and join the ordinary people downstairs.
Considering my history, this hotel is disappointing. To go from one the best in Sydney - the late Michael Jackson stayed here! - to a 3-4 star proposition, is sad to say.
The total bill came to over $700. In my book , this is poor value. The next day, I received an email, asking if I had consumed something from the minibar and not informed the desk. Obviously, things were missing from that - unaccounted for.
My wife and I had a good time. But not everyone reading this review, will be staying with their partner, on their first night out in 6 months. There will be the business traveller; the families; the party-planners. Does this represent good value to you? I hope this review helps you decide.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are smaller, but may represent better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear thedjlee,
Thank you for your thorough review of the Sheraton on the Park. Our hotel does experience very high occupancies in all our Suites and our prices are benchmarked in line with all other five star hotels; including charges for parking, food and beverage, wifi and in room movies however I am naturally disappointed that we did not meet your expectations in terms of room allocation (on the 5th Floor). It surprises me to note your comments about the size of the bedrooms as they are some of the largest you will find in Sydney.
Our Sheraton Club Lounge is the perfect place to unwind and relax with many inclusions such as continental plus breakfast, coffee tea and a selection of soft drinks, delicious canapés, local newspapers and books to read, private and convenient registration & check-out area, wireless & desktop internet access, business facilities including facsimile and printing, 1 hour boardroom access, complimentary light pressing of 2 garments and Shoe Shine! This is all included with a Suite reservation!
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great hotel but we didnt get a park view and in fact we had a view of the offices across the road which was a bit ordanary. The staff were great and helpfull with giving directions. A 20 min walk to Darling Harbour and about the same to Opera house / Circular Quay where you can get the ferry to most places or you can get a free bus which leaves very close to hotel. Train is also just accross the road. Just around the corner is Sydney Tower where they have a fantastic sky deck and revolving restaurant with fantastic views of Sydney The hotel restaurant is very expensive but i did have the best hamburger ive ever had even if it was $35 .

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of Hyde Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Tony L,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Sheraton on the Park and for rating us so highly! Please note we also offer the option of upgrading to our Hyde Park View Rooms if on your return this is more of a suitable alternative and I agree with you that we definitely have the best burgers in town!
Thank you once again for choosing Sheraton on the Park and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Will definitely stay at here again, so close to the Pitt St Mall and Train Station.

Love the room, very spacious in all aspects (bathroom, room, wardrobe, etc)

View are gorgeous, we got the corner room with Hyde Park & St Mary Cathedral as the backdrop.

Check in lady was helpful, had problem with other website that I booked through, but they quickly fixed it.

Other than that, we only stay 1 night, so no complaint or comment about the service :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed in the Terrace Suite overlooking the park and the harbour. Beautiful view from our balcony. The room was spacious with plenty of room to move. I liked the little touch of a complimentary bottle of wine being dropped off to the room, would have preferred a white or champange as I don't drink red, but it was the thought that counts. Very convenient to shopping if that is what your in Sydney to do all the designer wear is close by including David Jones etc. Public transport is at your door step if you want to see the sites of Sydney with out having to drive. St James station is across the road and Town Hall is a 5 minute walk away. You have use of the Club Lounge which serves breakfast and other services, we did not use this but was available as complimentary also. Checking in was a proficient and friendly. I would have to say after staying here the first time I would most certainly book here again.

Room Tip: Terrace Suites fabulous views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Mad101,
As an extensive traveller I greatly appreciate your feedback and am delighted you enjoyed our wonderful Terrace Suite and the expansive views of Hyde Park, St Mary’s Cathedral and Middle Harbour. Thank you for your great rating and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future when your travels bring you back to Sydney!
Warm regards
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.