We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Sydney!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton on the Park, Sydney to your Saves list
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summerscape from $229
Ranked #24 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Manly, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Sydney!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I have stayed at many different types of accommodation in Sydney, from budget to apartments and many 5 star hotels. The sheraton on the park is my Favourite of them all.

The interior is stunning from the lobby to the rooms. It has a cosiness about it even though the rooms are massive and the bathrooms are extravagant. I loved the "frames" decor above the bedhead. There is a lounge, desk and lots of storage space- and this is in a normal room!! The black marble bathrooms are amazing, it gives that special touch I haven't felt at any other hotel which all feature the same modern white/cream bathrooms. Loved the separate bath and shower too.
Breakfast was great- had everything you'd expect and lovely view of Hyde park.
The location is good, quiet next to the park but close enough (2 blocks) to Pitt street mall where there is many shops at all price range, miu miu, Zara, sportsgirl etc. You can also walk 15 min to darling harbour where I'd recommend you eat at a restaurant overlooking the water. Also the hotel is opposite the st James train station for quick access to the airport or 1 stop to circular quay :)

Room Tip: View of Hyde park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    619
    158
    78
    61
See reviews for
261
712
185
539
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Sheraton for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded to the Club Executive Floor and had a 'city view'. (There are two options a park view of Hyde Park or City). The city view was a nice way of saying we are looking into an office block.
The Exective Club Lounge was enjoyable.
The room was lovely with a King Size Bed, desk, lounge and a massive bathroom with separate bath/shower.
The service was efficient and excellent professional. The staff were all friendly.
The buffet breakfast had a large variety of choice, all fresh.
We have stayed at a number of Sydney's hotels now and we feel that this one is one of the city's best.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night in November and the staff were wonderful, the Sheraton upgraded us for free and we had a wonderful room. very spacious, very comfortable and a short walk to the show we were seeing.

We would definitely stay at the Sheraton again, it's 5 star value at an excellent price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Managed to get an approx $200/night internet rate. 'City view' (corner) room on a lower floor.

Check in was efficient, although it was busy.

The room was very spacious and well appointed. The aircon was efficient, unobrusive and easy to use. Very little noise from the street below. The 'plantation' shutter blinds don't nearly block out all the light if you are after a dark room. But all in all a quality experience.

Not surprisingly, charges in the rest of the hotel are high - internet, bar drinks etc. Top flight hotels charging for internet is getting pretty tiresome these days.

The Botanica Brasserie is a bit of a zoo. Crowded and noisy for both dinner and breakfast and not well laid out, adding to the crowding. The buffet was fine, though.

All in all for $200/night this was excellent value and highly recommended if you can get the rate or close to it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

As an SPG gold member we were given an upgrade and the room was large and comfortable. However the bathtub had pubic hair from the former guest which somehow spoiled the feeling for the room. I contacted the reception shortly after check in to have this cleaned but had to follow up twice before anything happened but the following day was contacted directly by the on duty manager who offered his sincere apologies and provided us with a bottle of sparkling wine and some chocolates. The gesture was appreciated but I would have preferred a clean room to begin with.

We paid around 600 AUD / night and at this rate the price of internet and breakfast should have been included and I felt that it was ridiculous that it was not. Charging extra for internet is nowadays akin to charing for water or electricity consumption...! It makes one feel that the hotel is trying to squeeze one dry.

Location of the hotel was ok: good for shopping but a bit of a walk to the wharf.

I would be willing to return but don't feel that I must rush back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear JohnStockholm,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to my attention. I was most concerned to learn that we failed to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us, in particular with reference to the cleanliness of your guest room. This is far from what you would come to expect from a hotel such as ours and is certainly not acceptable. I can assure you that the cleanliness of our rooms is of paramount importance to us and this inadequate servicing of your room certainly does not meet our high standards of cleanliness. I can only apologise for the lack of care and attention; rest assured I have forwarded your review to our Executive Housekeeper to ensure this is not repeated and the appropriate training processes are reinforced.

There are also numerous complimentary wireless options available for your convenience including the Link @ Sheraton located on the Lobby level, and all public areas throughout the hotel. With the implementation of our new wireless internet our hotel now has the fastest connection in Sydney through all public areas and guest rooms however I have taken your feedback on board.

JohnStockholm, we certainly value your patronage to the Sheraton on the Park and would very much appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back and make up for this less than perfect experience.

Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel just before Christmas on a very good deal including breakfast. The hotel has an excellent service, friendly staff and all amenities necessary.

Rooms:
Big rooms with TV and DVD player, minibar and air conditioning. Bathrooms again very spacious with shower and bath tub.

Amenities:
free WiFi, free internet in the business centre (incl. free printer), free newspapers, spa and pool on top floor etc.

Breakfast:
Huge selection of delicious hot and cold food (pancakes, waffles, eggs, toast, muesli, fruit, ham and cheese, juices, coffee, tea etc.)

Location:
Good location next to the park and central transport. Approx. 10-15 min walk to the opera and harbour bridge. Shopping mall (Westfield) just behind the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This hotel ruined what was a decent, by no means perfect stay with what seems to be dodgy financial practices and Bad communication skills. We stayed at this hotel for an 8 day period over Xmas for what was overall a reasonably enjoyable experience, i will get to the review of the property later but first.....

On the day of check out after signing the final account and paying by credit card we discovered that the hotel had charged us for an in-room move that we had never purchased. We returned to the club floor and explained this to the staff who quickly removed the movie and canceled the first charges on our card or so we thought(just a quick note this hotel seems to enjoy charging guests for things they did not use as we were also charged for 1 night of Valet parking funny when we arrived in a Taxi) Our trouble began the day after we checked out when we arrived in our next destination Hong Kong.

After checking into our hotel in HK we checked our credit card online to find that our limit had been reached and exceeded by charges from the hotel,with a very expensive phone call back to New Zealand we where informed that the hotel had attempted to charge our Card Three times for the stay as well as placing holding amounts on the card that exceeded the total amount of our stay by a considerable amount. So overall they had Clogged our Credit Card with an amount that was 4 Times what our total bill was. as you can imagine this can be problematic when traveling and is incredibly inconveniencing requiring days of emails and international phone calls to rectify.

Prior to all this and while in the process of booking the hotel we also found a complete lack of service over the phone with reservation and front desk staff and management. It took three attempts to get a correct booking confirmation sent to us and at least 12-13 attempts to get a quote on a Hotel car to pick us up from the airport. Management made excuses for both errors and made a offer to send a European car to pick us up from the airport instead of the standard car when paying what i think was about $ 120 Aud for a car i would expect that it was European to start with not a glorified Holden Taxi. We politely declined the offer and payed for a Real Taxi which cost just $40 and came equipped with lovely driver.

Now to the actual stay. We had booked an executive suite with club privileges. We found check in incredibly quick if not extremely welcoming. The room was large for an executive suite in a city hotel and had nice decor in the living and bedrooms with the bathroom aging but gracefully so. The room also boasted a great open view over Hyde park and Sydney harbor. The amenities on offer in the room where reasonably standard with two LCD tv's with all expected channels, well stocked mini bar ect ect..... The breakfast in the club lounge while decent could have done with a little variation after 8 days it got extremely repetitive. The lounge it self was average and the service incredibly hit and miss for example some mornings and evenings you would be asked for your drink order while others you would have to chase the staff hard to get a coffee or cocktail. The other bugbear was the supposedly free WI-Fi in the club lounge, on our first 2-3 days this WI-Fi was easy to use and access as expected with a password provided by the staff But apparently some bright spark thought this was costing the Hotel too much and to discourage the guests form using it they would make them connect to a much slower network with a password provided by the hour so guests would have to chase the elusive staff in the lounge for a password then while in the middle of something would have there internet cut off with no warning. Come on Guys I have stayed in guest houses in Cambodia with Free Unlimited internet its not too much to ask.

The Food a beverage at the hotel we found to be Top notch both through room service and the restaurant and clearly the F&B manger has it ticking over nicely unlike other areas of the hotel.

All in all if you want to be Ripped off not Replied to and Ignored the Sheraton On The Park Sydney is a great option. If not stay at the Westin or the Intercontinental we have and will again. They also have great rooms but seem to have discovered the secret......its called Service.

P.S
We have since been credit the majority of the money back, of course minus the inconvenience & some money actually because of the exchange rate.

Room Tip: Exec Suite was lovely with stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear awoody91,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am extremely disappointed to note that we did not meet your expectations during your Christmas stay with us and to learn of the several service shortfalls you had encountered. I empathize for the displeasure caused as a result of the points you have raised and can only sincerely apologise for the disappointment caused as a result. The level of service encountered is indeed unacceptable as this is not at all typical of the high standards that we constantly strive to achieve here at Sheraton on the Park. Rest assured that I have personally addressed your concerns with our Management Team for immediate attention to ensure such service shortfalls are focused on via our ongoing quality control program.

The Sheraton Club Lounge is recognised as Sydney’s Premier Executive Lounge nonetheless, your comments are duly noted. I am however pleased to advise that we have just completed the implementation of wireless connectivity throughout the entire property. Disappointing this wasn’t to your satisfaction and I apologise if you were inconvenienced.

awoody91, I am in agreement with you that the combination of all the issues below result in a disappointing stay. I trust you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves and show you that this is not indicative of the normally high level of service we offer. It is very important to the hotel that we restore your faith in Sheraton on the Park and would invite you to contact me directly should your travels return you to Sydney, I would welcome the opportunity to recreate your experience here at Sheraton on the Park.

Warm regards,
Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.