We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra 2 Bond Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra 2 Bond Street to your Saves list
Mantra 2 Bond Street
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr of George & Bond St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Saville 2 Bond Street)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #85 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a terrible experience with our hotel we first booked and we needed somewhere to stay without any booking or notice and the mantra was quite happy to give us a room. We got a studio that overlooked George st which was fantastic. It was a split level room with a little kitchenette with everything you need. It was spotless and clean. The bed was very comfortable. It's location I great we walked pretty much everywhere if not we just hopped a cab. It is quite expensive for parking, it was $50 per night and we were there for 4 days, however all around the city there is public car parking which is cheaper.

Room Tip: If you want quiet and peaceful don't stay here, it's right in the heart of the city on one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Kirsty W,

Thanyou for taking the time to place a review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read such a nice review from the location to the service to the cleanliness very pleasing indeed. Our carparking offers 24hr unlimited entry and exit as well as a secure and safe place to park with easy direct access to your room via the lifts. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again in the not too distant future.

Thankyou
MIchael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    340
    129
    53
    43
See reviews for
175
248
51
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Booked room for 3 adults but constantly got towels for 2. Foyer had a stale cooking smell. This was my 3rd stay at the Mantra on bond and the last 2 times have been disappointing .It seems to be going downhill.I will not stay again.

Room Tip: .a 2 room apartment Works best if more than 2 adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Clare K,

Thankyou for your recent review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Our apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the lack of linen. The team should be well aware of how may guests are in the room and should ensure there is sufficient linen at all times. Concerning the smell in the foyer we are about to commence a refurbishment program in this area which will alleviate this problem and provide a new and exciting place to eat whilst in the city.

Thankyou
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment overlooking George Street. Nicely laid out apartment for two people over two levels. Room in good condition and not 'tired'. Cleaning standard good and staff friendly and helpful.

Great central location about 10 mins walk to Circular Quay and a few minutes from Wynyard Train Station. We didn't eat in at all so can't comment on food.
Small pool on roof but worth going up just for the view.

Room Tip: We had an apartment facing George Street which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear No1 Winedude,

Thankyou for taling the time to post a review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us. Very pleasing to read tour comments regarding the service and cleanliness as these are two areas in particular we having been working on improving. Glad you enjoyed the location and hope you were able to take advantage of it during your stay.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Our room had a small kitchenette and was all very clean and nice. I appreciated that they had a range of teas which thankfully included green!

The only poor points were:
1. The iPod functionality on stereo didn't work
2. The fridge's cupboard door covering was broken so that you had to open the cupboard and then the fridge
3. The utensils were limited in the kitchen which made it very very difficult to cook pasta for two due to pot sizes.

None of these problems were discussed with staff, however, as they weren't crucial.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear JaccobM,

Thankyou for your recent review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our apologies with regards to the kitchen amenities. There should be sufficient utensils available in all rooms to ensure your stay with us is comfortable. Will ensure this matter is rectified along with the cupboard to the fridge door.

Thankyou
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in a roomy and well appointed apartment. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel is located perfectly to CBD attractions and only a few minutes walk to Circular Quay, The Rocks and major shops. There are Coles and Woolworths supermarkets nearby for provisions. Staff were friendly and professional and we were particularly impressed at the understanding of the reception staff when we had to cut short our stay and return home. We were refunded our nights accommodation without hesitation. It's this type of service that makes a top class hotel and ensures a return stay. A great home-away-from home and on the top of our Sydney accommodation list.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear MPBConnect,

Thankyou for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Mantra 2 Bond St. Sorry you were not able to stay longer with us, however we do hope everything is OK back home. Glad the staff were able to assist you with your requirements. Please feel free to contact us directly when you next have the opportunity to visit Sydney as we would love to have you stay with us again.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The studio suites are well appointed and apart from a few small stains on the carpet, the room was clean and comfortable and well priced. The hotel is well located for transport, shopping and the harbour. Service was perfunctory by the hotel staff- the only smile I saw over our 3 night stay was from the cardboard cut out of Pat Rafter in the lobby. The main issue for us was noise. And I don't mean street noise- if you stay in the CBD expect noise from the city- it was thriving and pumping when we checked in at 10pm on a Friday night. But this wasn't a problem in the room. The problem was noise within the hotel. Our suite was room 1210 right next to the lift. This means every time someone came back to their room from their night out- we heard them. At 12.30am, 1.30am, 2.30am, 3.30am, 5am and then the housekeeper knocked on the door at 8.30am!! You can hear everything from the hallway- so much so that from my bed, I heard a man a few doors down yell out to some girls standing outside the lift to keep their voices down. It seems the doors either aren't thick enough or need to be soundproofed- I could see light and feel a draught from around our door- so definitely doesn't seal enough to keep out hallway noise. The Sat night was even worse than the Friday night, again hearing everyone coming and going from the lift and to top it off I got a knock on my door at 1.30am. When I opened it I found 2 men standing there who said 'oops wrong room' !! I continued to hear knocking on other people's doors all night long- so I'm not sure what the hotel's policy is on visitors of hotel guests but people certainly weren't in the hotel to sleep. The Sunday night on the other hand was like a completely different hotel, and for that reason I would consider staying again- just never ever again on a Fri or Sat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts if you are staying on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear waytogo625,

Thankyou for your review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Our apologies for the noise issues you encountered this is extremely unusual especially within the hotel premises. Only registered guests have access to the floors via their room key. We do have a policy in place regarding visitors and this is enforced in particular on weekends. We are in the midst of discussions concerning a refurbishment so will definitely pass on your information concerning the soundproofing of the doors. Appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thankyou
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Great value for a 3 nights stay in the heart of the city. The studio deluxe room was very clean, tidy and spacious. Staff was also accommodating. It was centrally located on George st. Will definitely return :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Alicia Y,

Thankyou for taking the time to place a review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us. Wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be clean and spacious with friendly attentive service. Look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra 2 Bond Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra 2 Bond Street

Address: Cnr of George & Bond St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Saville 2 Bond Street)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#69 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra 2 Bond Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney is perfectly located close to Sydney Harbour and Circular Quay and is a minute away from the heart of Sydney's CBD. Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney's accommodation is ideal for singles through to groups of six with a variety of rooms including Executive Studios, One, and Two Bedroom Apartments, penthouses or junior suites, most with stunning Sydney city views. Please note no twin bedding available. All rooms are fully self-contained and feature broadband internet access, cable TV, in-house movies, mini bar and climate controlled air-conditioning. Guests will enjoy the Memento Bar & Kitchen located within the hotel and open for breakfast, lunch and a la carte dinner service 7 days a week. If you want to head out there is a host of multicultural cuisines at an array of restaurants and bars located within close proximity to Mantra 2 Bond Street. For those that have time to indulge in some leisure, the luxurious rooftop pool and spa is the ideal spot to relax while watching the world go by. Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney is perfectly positioned to take advantage of what Sydney has on offer. Enjoy a swim or some sightseeing at over 70 harbours and ocean beaches including the famous and iconic Bondi Beach. Entertainment is first class with an array of world-class theatres, museums and galleries spread across the city, but if shopping is on the cards the CBD is a shopper's paradise with a number of department stores, one of a kind boutiques and designer fashions. The Rocks sits just north of the CBD and is the perfect blend of old and new in Sydney with beautiful buildings, shops, pubs and restaurants. Guests must present a credit card upon arrival and Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney has a no cash policy. If you elect to pay your account by credit card or other card using a credit payment facility, Mantra Group reserve the right to charge a payment processing fee in order to cover its associated administrative cost. Payment made by MasterCard/Visa/Amex/Diners will incur a 2% surcharge. Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney is a NON SMOKING hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Mantra 2 Bond Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 2 Bond Street Hotel Sydney
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney
Saville Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra 2 Bond Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.