We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra 2 Bond Street

Save Saved
You added Mantra 2 Bond Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mantra 2 Bond Street
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr of George & Bond St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Saville 2 Bond Street)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

What I liked about this hotel:
Modern and well appointed, has a small kitchen with stove, oven, microwave and dishwasher, it is adjacent to Wynyard Station, very centrally located. Has washing machine although I didn't use it on this trip.

What I didn't like:
Small bed (not King like we are used to), low water pressure, cafe downstairs was plain and uninviting.

We requested a quiet room and did not have a problem with noise from the street.
After we left the hotel, we found the invoice was not itemised which is needed for our expense claim. A call to the hotel resulted in the full bill being sent to my email within minutes. Well done.

We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear ozgypsy,

Thankyou for your recent review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Always pleasing to hear when we exceed expectations as it means that we are moving in the right direction. All our guest rooms are equipped with queen beds, kitchenette, and laundry facilities. Appreciate your comments on the team and their efficiency.

Thankyou
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    274
    88
    38
    23
See reviews for
128
191
38
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great place to stay in CBD. Central to everything. Large clean rooms. Lobby very quiet. Lifts always there. Minimal noise except when the Australia Square opposite aircon starts up. Aircon in room seemed to be not cold enough. I am sure I will stay again though.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Foodnpiste,

Thankyou for your kind review of Mantra 2 Bond St. The location of the hotel is a fantastic asset to have, however the size and cleanliness of the rooms is another wonderful attribute which you have commented on. We will look into the air conditioning issues you encountered and will have them rectified before your next visit.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel in a 2 bedded apartment on the 12th floor. Very central and provides easy access to everything in the city. The apartment was roomy and well set out. Good restaurants within walking distance.

However, the major problem is the traffic noise. The saturday night was particularly bad as there are some popular night clubs around the hotel. The sound proofing was non existant and as a consequence we found it difficult to get much sleep before 3am on sunday morning. The weekday nights were generally ok but again we did get woken up by the occasional emergency services siren. This was not helped by the dorr to the balcony not being well fitted. I did ask the hotel if they could do something about it - but this had no effect.

If I was to return to Sidney, I would not stay at this hotel but stay in the Rocks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Graj77,

Thankyou for your recent review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Sorry to hear about the noise issues you experienced whilst staying at our property. As the hotel is located amongst some of Sydney's best clubs and dining facilities we do encounter this problem from time to time. Hopefully on your next visit to Australia given the opportunity we will be able to accommodate you in another area of the hotel.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Mantra with my daughter and 2 grandsons for a 4 day break in Sydney. Our room was great, kitchen well equipped, beds very comfy and the only dissapointing thing (according to the grandkids) was no ABC 2 on the TV!
The rooms were serviced daily and were nice and clean. A little noisy on Frid and Sat night, but you have to expect that in the city. Staff were very pleasant and friendly.
I did think the cost for the Internet was a bit steep, $25 per day!
Airconditioner was loud and a bit difficult to control (was really cold or hot)
Other than that I would recommend this hotel to all, business or family.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the George St side if you are there on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear anne_patrice,

Thankyou for your kind review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Very pleasing to hear that you and the grandkids enjoyed your stay and the service and rooms met your requirements. We are looking at upgrading our TV channel options so hopefully next time there will be something for the grandkids to watch.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

In centre if city with many sights -Darling Bay ,shops, within walking distance. we had an executive apartment with small sitting area, bed near window with city view and clean facilities. Good maid service. One problem with a faulty kettle quickly helped by management. Simple good food available in foyer. Roof top pool small , a nice swim but not obviously supervised.

Room Tip: we had a tenth floor executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear NIRunaway,

Thankyou for your recent review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Very happy to hear that the facilities and location were suitable. Always nice to receive positive feedback regarding the team which has been duly passed on. Our apologies for the problem with the kettle nice to hear that the staff were responsive and rectified the matter.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon for part of our visit to Australia. This hotel is good and meet our needs for our stay over nye. The best thing about the hotel is the location but we did have a very Nice room with good facilities.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Emma M,

Thankyou for your recent review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Very glad to hear that the hotel met your requirements with regards to facilities and location. Hope you had a wonderful honeymoon.

Kind Regards
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was on a trip with 2other friends and needed a hotel to accommodate 3 comfortably on a budget.This was the perfect hotel.The room was very large with kitchen and laundry and had a lounge area as well. We were extremely impressed!
When we required new towels,toiletries, laundry detergent,airport shuttle bookings the hotel staff were more than accommodating.
The pool was small but had a view of the bridge and Harbour.
The hotel was situated in the perfect position for walking to circular quay, the Rocks, and to many bars,cafes and restaurants.I was able to stay out and see bands at the night clubs and safely walked back alone at 4am as the area is under camera surveillance and very safe for travelers and women.
There was also shopping not too far from the hotel within a short bus drive away.
Darling Harbour is also very accessible from this hotel too.
I highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Higher rooms get a better view and less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear funnydude,

Thankyou very much for the your review of our property. It is always nice to receive positive feedback and extremely pleasing to hear that the service standards were of the highest quality. Location of the hotel is fantastic and ideal for travellers and corporate clients a like.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra 2 Bond Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra 2 Bond Street

Address: Cnr of George & Bond St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Saville 2 Bond Street)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra 2 Bond Street 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney is perfectly located close to Sydney Harbour and Circular Quay and is a minute away from the heart of Sydney's CBD. Mantra 2 Bond Street has a sense of cosmopolitan style with over 170 spacious executive studios, one, and two bedroom apartments, penthouses or junior suites, most with stunning Sydney city views. Please note no twin bedding available. Guests will enjoy the Lobby Cafe & Bar located within the hotel, or a host of multicultural cuisines at an array of restaurants and bars located within close proximity to Mantra 2 Bond Street. For those that have time to indulge in some leisure, the luxurious rooftop pool and spa is the ideal spot to relax while watching the world go by. Guests must present a credit card upon arrival and Mantra 2 Bond Street have a no cash policy. If you elect to pay your account by credit card or other card using a credit payment facility, Mantra Group reserve the right to charge a payment processing fee in order to cover its associated administrative cost. Payment made by MasterCard/Visa/Amex/Diners will incur a 2% surcharge. Mantra 2 Bond Street is a NON SMOKING hotel. Maintenance Advise: Mantra 2 Bond Street has announced the first stage of a million dollar refurbishment to commence 4 May 2014. The street level restaurant and lobby will undergo a transformation to create a stylish new look in keeping with its urban location and create a functional and contemporary space for guests and is due for completion late July 2014. Minimal disruption for guests will occur during the two month refurbishment process with works taking place from 8am and no later than 5pm Monday - Friday. As all food and beverage service will cease during this period (including room service), charge back facilities with a nearby restaurant have been arranged. A 'pantry service' will also be available offering breads, cereals, fruit, pasta sauces and condiments. We thank you for your patience during this period and look forward to bringing you an exciting new dining experience at Mantra 2 Bond Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mantra 2 Bond Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 2 Bond Street Hotel Sydney
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney
Saville Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra 2 Bond Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.