We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra 2 Bond Street

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Orbitz.com
and 10 more sites!
Mantra 2 Bond Street
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr of George & Bond St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Saville 2 Bond Street)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good central hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon for part of our visit to Australia. This hotel is good and meet our needs for our stay over nye. The best thing about the hotel is the location but we did have a very Nice room with good facilities.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Emma M,

Thankyou for your recent review of Mantra 2 Bond St. Very glad to hear that the hotel met your requirements with regards to facilities and location. Hope you had a wonderful honeymoon.

Kind Regards
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    261
    84
    36
    22
See reviews for
123
184
37
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was on a trip with 2other friends and needed a hotel to accommodate 3 comfortably on a budget.This was the perfect hotel.The room was very large with kitchen and laundry and had a lounge area as well. We were extremely impressed!
When we required new towels,toiletries, laundry detergent,airport shuttle bookings the hotel staff were more than accommodating.
The pool was small but had a view of the bridge and Harbour.
The hotel was situated in the perfect position for walking to circular quay, the Rocks, and to many bars,cafes and restaurants.I was able to stay out and see bands at the night clubs and safely walked back alone at 4am as the area is under camera surveillance and very safe for travelers and women.
There was also shopping not too far from the hotel within a short bus drive away.
Darling Harbour is also very accessible from this hotel too.
I highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Higher rooms get a better view and less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear funnydude,

Thankyou very much for the your review of our property. It is always nice to receive positive feedback and extremely pleasing to hear that the service standards were of the highest quality. Location of the hotel is fantastic and ideal for travellers and corporate clients a like.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Mantra after being stranded in Sydney due to the weather.

I had to admit, I did have high expectations. In the past when searching for accommodation, all the Mantra hotel website images I'd seen seemed quite swish and new.

The lobby in the Mantra at Bond Street was fairly standard. It was late when we arrived and with around fifteen other people we were told we had to wait to check in, which I thought was a little strange. Staff were polite, but not overly welcoming. Given the circumstance and time of the night I suppose I can understand.

The lobby toilet is in dire need of repair. It's tired and definitely not up to standard for a hotel lobby toilet.

We stayed on the fourth level (room 417 if I recall, as the numbers had come off the door and were only legible by the sticky residue left behind).

The small suite was generous. A self-contained studio apartment complete with a kitchen as well as a washer and dryer in the bathroom. The apartment itself also had heating and cooling however the switch I believe was in the wardrobe.

I was impressed that washing detergent was available; however there as no point in washing our clothes as our stay was barely overnight (six hours).

The decor I suspect can be seen as being a little aged but it's fairly standard and not bad in the least.

The only downside was the level of cleanliness in the bathroom. Most of it was clean with the exception of a few things. The showers really do need a re-caulking. The mould has gotten into it and really, by hotel standards that should be cleaned and replaced.

Everything else seemed reasonably clean. As I said, our stay was short and so I didn't have an opportunity to have a more comprehensive look. The bed was clean and comfortable and I think for the price of the studio apartment, the cost is reasonable. It's pretty much—you get what you pay for.

Would I stay again? I'd consider it, but there are other places you can stay where mould is not visible in the bathroom. That being said, the availability of a washer and dryer is attractive, so yes I definitely would consider staying again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear AvidTravelling,

Thankyou for your recent review of our property. It was disappointing to hear your comments with regards to the housekeeping standards. This is an area we have been heavily focusing on for some time however your comments indicate we still have some work to do.

Look forward to welcoming you badck in the near future.

Thankyou
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The rooms although spacious have seen better days with the decore being very aged. The in room dining leaves you with more to be desired & would not bother with it. Staff are not friendly or helpful - in one instance not having any umbrellas but offering me a broken umbrella that another guest left behind (no hotel logo etc.) & still having the guts to take down my room number. Rooms are also very noisy with the aircon unit outside turning on every 30 minutes with the decibels of a jet plane. House keeping is also an after thought, one time having my pajamas taken with the bed sheets & taking 5 days for them to find them. I only stay here when there are no other rooms left in Sydney at late notice for business & not by choice. I would strongly urge people to not stay here as the only highlights are the central location & the moment you check out!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Michael B,

Thankyou for your comments regarding your stay at Mantra 2 Bond St.

It was disappointing to hear your comments on the staff and the housekeeping department as these are two areas we have focused on improving. Since your last visit in July both these areas have improved dramatically as is emphasised by the constant positive feedback we receive. We would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again.

Thankyou
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

In a convenient part of the city for Circular Quay. Room was quiet even though it faced George Street. Modern, clean and well equipped. Loved the laundry in unit as we got soaked on a jet boat ride. Pool and spa small but lovely views from roof and enjoyable at night with city lights around. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing George Street are not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Kim L,

Thankyou for your comments regarding your recent visit to Mantra 2 Bond St.

Nice to hear that the hotel met your requirements. Roof top pool does have amazing views. Also very happy to hear that the room was well equipped and catered to your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Thankyou
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branxton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Handy location near Wynyard station and a few blocks from Circular Quay. Bathroom a bit tight on space and shower needed new washers, otherwise good size studio room. Friendly staff. There is a cafe downstairs which is handy, good coffee, but couldn't recommend Greek tasting plate as vine leaves felt like they were almost frozen.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear goldenmoments50,

Thankyou for your comments regarding your recent visit to Mantra 2 Bond St.

Nice to hear that the location of the hotel met your requirements and that the staff looked after you. My apolgoies for the problems you encountered with the food. I have passed yor comments onto the restaurant manager.

Kind Regards
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fantastic all round. Comfortable, clean, quiet, great room design, amazing pool, safe and secure, friendly staff. Perfect location. As with all hotels I believe wifi should be included in the room price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondst, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Ben P,

Thankyou for your comments regarding your recent visit to Mantra 2 Bond St.

Nice to hear that the hotel met your requirements. Roof top pool is amazing with great views. Also very happy to hear that the customer service was good. This is an area we have been working on for sometime so to receive your comments is very rewarding.
Wifi is an aspect of the hotel we are looking into at the moment.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Thankyou
Michael Rignall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra 2 Bond Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra 2 Bond Street

Also Known As:
Mantra 2 Bond Street Hotel Sydney
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney
Saville Hotel Sydney
Address: Cnr of George & Bond St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Saville 2 Bond Street)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#53 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra 2 Bond Street 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mantra 2 Bond Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra 2 Bond Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mantra 2 Bond Street to your Saves list