We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright at night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bright at night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

The Radisson Plaza Hotel in Sydney, Australia is convenient located in the heart of the city, only a short hop from downtown business and shopping streets.
We stayed in an atrium room, which faces a grey high wall. We were lucky as given a room on a high floor, as we got some natural light in the room; nevertheless, we needed additional electric light also during noon time.
But the light I misses during daytime was compensated in the night, because of a lot off small light from TV etc and from the floor shining under the door.
There is also a permanent noise from outside the window, AC?

What I really hate are beds with wheels but without a wheel stop. Watching TV with your back on the head end of the beds causes rolling away.......

Bathroom is ok.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    525
    130
    38
    21
See reviews for
230
896
145
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We arrived with high hopes for our holiday in Sydney, Australia. Being advertised as a boutique, 5 star hotel, we thought we would treat ourselves to a bit of luxury and a room with a view. We paid a little bit extra for it but thought it would be well worth the money. How we were wrong.

Reception kindly allocated us the wrong room. How disappointed we were to open the doors into a dark and shifty room, only a few floors up and with one small window overlooking the hotel wall. No natural light whatsoever or the 'premier view'. We went down to reception immediately to ask them to check our booking and were hastily told 'you get you pay for'. An upgrade would incur a further 100 pounds a night. We resigned ourselves to the fact that Australian hotels were rubbish.

It wasn't until halfway through our stay that my husband had the foresight to double check the hotel literature and realised we HAD been allocated the wrong room. We were finally moved to the correct room on the Saturday night, a great time to have to pack up your belongings and shift. Breakfast was offered by way of compensation but with only a few days left and two early starts, this was a feeble apology and one of which we could barely partake. No financial compensation foer the money we had missed out on by being allocated the wrong and chearper room.

To add insult to injury, the housekeeping is sporadic, the complimentary water and newspaper appears when it feels like it, food orders are inaccurate and expect someone else's bill to be delivered to your room. All in all, a truly 5 star experience.

This is the last time I will be staying at a Radisson. Their customer service is an absolute disgrace.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite for 2 nights. The bed was fantastically comfortable, the room was whisper quiet and the staff were omnipresent and friendly. Short walk to Circular Quay, The Rocks and the centre of the city.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

This is my second stay. Staff are great, decor after their refurbishment is lovely. My room is spacious - bed is massive and being short I feel like I have to take a running leap at it (willingly as it's soooo comfortable).
I wish I could remember the name of the commissionaire (? - doorman with top hat who amongst other things hails the taxis) - when I was staying 6 & 7 October, great staff member. Victor the chief concierge was charming.
Love the complimentary internet (which I am using now).
Great for leisure and business. Easy walk to so many shops, restaurants, bars and attractions.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I used to be a regular at the Radisson but I don't think I'll ever go back.

I travel to Sydney regularly and appricate that if you stay in a cheap hotel that you will recieve bad service, that is why I pay the $400+ per night at the radisson.

On my last trip, I booked a car through the concierge (Victor?) for an airport pick up. It didn't arrive, so I called the hotel who said that no car had been booked and that if I wanted one I would have to wait 2 hours. No thanks, plenty of other limo companys at the airport. When I got to the Hotel, the concierge (short, lebanese man) yelled at me and said if I didn't want a car I shouldn't have booked one. He said he would charge me anyway.

Having arrived at 11am, I was not expecting a room to be ready for me so I asked to leave my bags at the hotel until I could check in at 2pm. I went to the hotel resturant bistro-fax for lunch with a client and was interupted by the hotel "something-or-other" manager Bernie. I have met him before but he introduces himself everytime he is on. Kinda cute watching him pretend we are old friends but not while I'm with a client. He has all the grace on a train wreck.

I came back to the reception desk at 1:45pm and was told by a skinny white russian kid that my room now won't be ready till about 4 or 5pm. Great. I asked if I could get something out of my bags, to which I was told that they had already been delivered to my room??

By the time they were found, about (30 minutes) the concierge had come over to gloat that he had indeed charged me for the hire car that didn't turn up and yelled something about how having golden keys made him some sort of demi-god.

With that in mind, when my bags were found, I put them in a cab, took them round the corner to the intercontinental and checked in ($120 per night cheaper!) They even gave me a harbour view room! Much better than looking at a 1970's bank from the radisson.

I only needed to wait 15 minutes for a room there, and there limo company turns up on time.

I used to like the Radisson, but has fallen in service, risen in cost and is now a dissapointment. I would have considered going back if I got a call from my pretend friend Bernie, but instead I got a call from someone called Abdullah, saying I owed $50 on the minibar plus a late check out fee for a room I never saw.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We had booked in advance with the hotel . The room was very small and no view, room 120 .Had problems with the door card keys and it took 3 trips to reception to get in. The hotel is clean and modern but at $240 a night was a lot. Went to a friends room who was on his own paid $184 a night 2 queen beds and spar bath.So ask at reception when booking what you get for your money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Stayed here in August with my partner to attend the Good Food & Wine show. Recieved no upgrade or gifts when our anniversary was mentioned. Was a bit dissapointed with this seeing the hotel is currently undergoing renovations & there were plenty of rooms available that night. Our room was very small & standard with no view. Expected something better for our first time in a 5 star hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable though & the bathroom delightful & elegant. Location isn't great if staying for the weekend as it is quiet & in the business district part of town (Wynyard). We were offered a free upgrade for our next stay after I filled out a feedback form so their service does get a gold star for that. Not sure if I would like to return just yet though.. maybe just for the bed!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Business Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#8 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 362 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, A superb restaurant, Bistro Fax Restaurant & Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.