We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

On a last-minute trip to Sydney I had the great pleasure of staying at the Radisson. The room was remarkably large for central Sydney and while there was only a view of another building the spacious room and excellent facilities coupled with an excellent (if a little small) gym and health club more than made up for it! I dined at the in-house restaurant for dinner and breakfast and found both meals highly satisfactory although the Banana Smoothies at breakfast were a little on the sweet side. The staff were a delight and went out of their way to help. While enjoying dinner I had a staff member ask whether I might like a newspaper and was promptly presented with two fresh copies of local papers. At breakfast I was told if there was something I couldn't find in the buffet I should ask the chef and they'd do their best to prepare whatever I needed. Other hotels in Sydney take note! ;-)

On calling for a late check-out I was amazed to be given a friendly: "Of course, what time would you like?" An astounding hotel with a truly remarkably guest focus - keep up the great work and I look forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear John W,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and in particular the size of the rooms and the location of the hotel. I’m pleased to read all aspects of your stay were satisfactory and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,434
    577
    142
    42
    24
See reviews for
274
975
153
493
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a great hotel, in a very good location, with a fabulous staff... I think it's my first TripAdvisor review where I can't find a single item for the "Cons" section...

Pros:
- Charming hotel, great room, great facilities, very good location, very good value for money.
- The staff is just above and beyond... they make it even better. Helpful, knowledgeable, warm.
- Breakfast is yummy...!!! And the German guy that runs the breakfast place seems to be both a perfectionist and a workaholic... and you see it on the details, the quality, and the Service.
- They make a difference too on the little things: letting you take a shower in the gym lockers after you checked out, giving you an apple for the way to the airport.

Cons:
- No that I can think of.

Overall, an enjoyable travel experience.

Hope this helps. Sergio.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Sergui1970s,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and in particular our breakfast and service was to your liking. I’m pleased that you did not have any con’s to speak of either. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Decided to take a chance on a Wotif Mystery deal for a monday night date night and found ourselves booked in to the Radisson Blu. Despite saying that we would arrive about 5pm,when we rocked up at 2,everything was ready for us to check in. We enquired about the possibility of upgrading to a club level room and the value for $$ offered for 2 people was unbeatable - room upgrade/drinks & canapés that evening/buffet breakfast the next morning.
The room was lovely,the location of the hotel means the view from the window is nothing to write home about however the room was spacious,the bed sizeable and comfortable and a bathroom with a deep bath and the best water pressure in the shower of any Sydney hotel I have stayed in.
The club lounge itself was lovely,again it lacks the view of some other hotels however this is reflected in the room price. The spread available in the evening was very high quality,sufficient that we didn't need to go out for dinner afterwards,and Julie,who was looking after us was outstanding,attentive,courteous,friendly - standout staff member.
Had a wonderful sleep,very little noise from outside and room achieves almost total blackout. Breakfast was a standout,again superb range available and excellent quality. We did go and check out the gym/pool/spa - the gym wasn't accessible that day as new equipment was being delivered,however had a pleasant swim in the lap pool (maybe slightly warm for the serious swimmers) and the skylight over the jacuzzi is a nice touch. Towels also provided at the pool.
All in all I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking to stay city central without the price tag of some of the Circular Quay establishments. Valet parking was efficient and $40 for the night which compares well with some other hotels.

Room Tip: Definitely worth upgrading to Club room if you are going to make use of the evening food/drink servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear minx_in_the_city,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and in particular our the upgrade to our Business Class Lounge and i’m delighted to read you found the service from Julie to your liking and ensure I’ve forwarded your comments to her and her supervisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Even if Sydney isn't even remotely as vast as e.g. Tokyo or LA it is still nice to stay "close to everything" and at the Radisson Blu on O'Connell Street you really do just that.
However, despite the fact that you really are "down town" you hardly notice any traffic noise when inside your room due to thoroughly insulated windows.
The building, which is early nineteen hundred, looks i bit like a smaller version of the famous "Flatiron Building" on Manhattan. It is nicely refurbished to high standards and if you, as we were, are staying in one of the Premier Rooms on the upper floors you really live nice - not very big rooms but well planed with e.g. a dedicated space for big suitcases. The bed was large and very comfortable. Lovely bathroom with tub and dedicated shower compartment. Too small a wardrobe with not enough hangers for a couple like we, traveling for an extended time, though.
Cleaning was top-of-the-line and we were given the now-so-common option to have linen and/or towels changed every day or to make a contribution to "saving the Planet".
Breakfast was originally not included in our booking which turned out to be a poor choice since it was quite a lot cheaper when included from the beginning. It was good quality, though, with an airy dining room and lots of tasty dishes too choose.
Concierge staff was very helpful - never left a task unsolved and manage to memorize faces amazingly quickly (which is kind of nice). We had to re-schedule our flight home due to a tropical storm in Hong Kong but it was nu fuzz what-so-ever to get an extension and we din't even have to change rooms. Also, we got lots of help getting through to the Airline ticket office when all lines were busy ALL THE TIME.
The one annoying thing was the unreliable wifi-access up in our room (it was perfectly all right down in the lobby).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear frennstormV,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and in particular our location and the quietness of the building. I’m glad that you also found our concierge service extremely helpful and i’ll pass on your comments to our Chief Concierge. Regarding the WiFI we have strategically placed WAP devices to extend the service to each room. I will have our Chief Engineer re test the signal is working satisfactory. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed at the Radisson Blu in September; I had a wonderful stay, from the service to the spa. The food was amazing. The location is amazing with just 20 minutes walk to all the main attraction. I had a very nice upgraded room. I will definitely stay here again if I return to Australia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Norman V,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and in particular our Spa service and location.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Travelled with my husband who was on business but wanted something with a good location for me as a tourist. Have stayed in a couple of places in Sydney but this was perfectly located for Circular Quay and the harbour for ferries and shopping in the City centre. Concierge staff very friendly, good memories for faces so trained well. The room was an internal one so what is lacked in view it made up for in peace and quiet. Both room and bathroom spacious and very clean. Beds comfortable. Guests seemed wide ranging from business to families. Definitely would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Sue H,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and in particular our concierge service and location of the hotel. If you are looking for an outward looking room on your next visit, I suggest a premier room as these have external windows. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Have nothing too bad to say about this hotel and highly recommend it if you wish to stay in this part of Sydney. The area is quiet at night as it is right in the CBD. Rooms are large and clean with extremely comfortable bed. No noise in the hotel and very welcoming staff. Only negative is slow and intermittent wifi access.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Nickcom,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and in particular our rooms and comfortable beds.
Please be assured I've passed on your comments to our Chief Engineer in regards to the slow and intermittent WiFi access and have him investigate the matter.

Friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#5 Business Hotel in Sydney
#8 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 362 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, A superb restaurant, Bistro Fax Restaurant & Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.