We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #9 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wow, where do I start?

Great staff, particularly the friendly porter who was on the Thurs afternoon I arrived, came out to my taxi and escorted me into the reception area. Had candid conversations with him too when we saw him on the days he was on. Restaurant staff were also very helpful and had a fab dinner service with them.
Big Thank you to the hotel manager for sending up champagne on the first night for our anniversary, really made our stay. (despite not being a wedding anniversary, which amused us greatly!)

Room was great, king size bed was mega comfy, being on the 11th floor was very good for sleeping, barely heard traffic.
Bathroom facilities were brilliant, walk in shower and deep soaking tub with plenty of toiletries.
Hotel is very close to Pitt Street, Circular Quay, Darling Harbour easy walking distance. Train station was handy to get out to the rugby. Was entertaining meeting fellow All Black supporters in the lift after the game!
Free wifi was also handy- haven't come across many hotels that do this- awesome.

Most definitely recommend Radisson for an anniversary/ de-stress in our case. They really know how to look after their customers and provide outstanding service. Would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: O'Connell Street side is quieter, aim for a room on that side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Mara B,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and I've passed on your thanks regarding the complimentary champagne and your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,000
    434
    103
    33
    15
See reviews for
179
723
123
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sulphur Creek, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

One of the best places I have stayed. Spacious well appointed room and very nice bathroom with amazing water pressure.

Outstanding service from all staff, everyone was very friendly and welcoming.

Ideally located within walking distance to The Rocks, Circular Quay etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear AJFELLA,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our well appointed rooms and bathrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Beautiful building in a good location. Room wasn't as nice as I expected for a 5 star hotel as the window was high and it was quite dark. Great big deep bath with amazing water pressure and the nice smelling tolietries compensated. Huge bed but the mattress was soft which might not suit everyone. They did however have a pillow menu

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear GinaNamini,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our the location and our water pressure was to your satisfaction. I apologize that the room was not to the standard you were looking for, being a heritage building comes with it's limitations which sometimes makes it hard to cater to all requests but perhaps on your next visit to the hotel may I suggest asking reception on check-in if there is a lighter room available and if possible they might be able to accommodate. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great staff, very helpful & all with smiling faces
Room was immaculate!!!
Great bathroom and toiletries!
Location was super.
Close to trains/bus & easy walking distance to The Rocks, Circular Quay, City Centre
Pricing was great as we got it as a "secret hotel" so saved a big chunk of cash as a result

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear AngieMartin-Pham,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that we could be your secret hotel for the evening and enjoyed your overall experience of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Long weekend away in Sydney, traveling from interstate with my wife.

Most notable thing is the outstanding service from the front door, to the reception staff to the chefs and waiters. Everyone performed with exceptional service. I have not had better service anywhere in Australia.

The concierge was helpful with luggage without any fuss and easy to help with directions around the city. Check in check out was without hitch. There was no caffeine free tea in the room so we requested peppermint tea be sent up to the room, which was done with no hassle. We also left some medication on the breakfast table, and the staff contacted us and sent them up to our room.

We stayed in the deluxe room which are politely sized and adequate. Free wifi is fantastic, as I had to attend to some work whilst I was away.

Location is great. Walking distance to both Sydney harbor and the main shopping areas. Very easy to grab a taxi to airport etc.

Small gripe about the small size and poorly stocked gym. Pool and spa were busy. There were renovations being performed at the hairdresser area near the pool.

Price is probably fair/good value. Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear A G,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our deluxe room and free WIFI. I've passed on your comments regarding our GYM which we just have overhauled with some new machines. However we do have complimentary passes available to Fitness First less then 2 mins away from the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I spent 5 nights here for a conference and whilst most of my time was offsite, I found location was good access for town, the Rocks, Circular Quay (easy train connection to Airport - 5 minute walk to Hotel) and good restaurant options nearby. Staff were good and special mention of the Doorman who went out of his way to be helpful without his hand out for compensation. That in itself gave my stay all the positive vibes I need to stay again in future. My room was a Studio Spa Suite - it was large and comfortable. Complimentary Internet with my reservation and that made it a better deal for me also

Room Tip: Spa Studio was comfortable large - no outside noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear PoppaHopper,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and passed on your comments regarding our doorman to our Front Office team. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Clean, comfortable bed,nicely furnished and spacious room. Up to standard for this kind of a hotels. Although room walls are very thin. otherwise a very good service, excellent choice and tasty breakfast. Convenient location - close to the harbour and Sydney opera, close to the shopping area on Pitt street, train station. In overall, excellent stay and highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear mishi_mis,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and excellent service. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Business Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#8 Family Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 362 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, A superb restaurant, Bistro Fax Restaurant & Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.