We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room facilities and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #7 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good room facilities and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I spent 5 nights here for a conference and whilst most of my time was offsite, I found location was good access for town, the Rocks, Circular Quay (easy train connection to Airport - 5 minute walk to Hotel) and good restaurant options nearby. Staff were good and special mention of the Doorman who went out of his way to be helpful without his hand out for compensation. That in itself gave my stay all the positive vibes I need to stay again in future. My room was a Studio Spa Suite - it was large and comfortable. Complimentary Internet with my reservation and that made it a better deal for me also

Room Tip: Spa Studio was comfortable large - no outside noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear PoppaHopper,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and passed on your comments regarding our doorman to our Front Office team. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,088
    457
    108
    33
    15
See reviews for
197
770
127
351
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Clean, comfortable bed,nicely furnished and spacious room. Up to standard for this kind of a hotels. Although room walls are very thin. otherwise a very good service, excellent choice and tasty breakfast. Convenient location - close to the harbour and Sydney opera, close to the shopping area on Pitt street, train station. In overall, excellent stay and highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear mishi_mis,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and excellent service. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at this place for five nights. It's clean, crisp, modern with a great location. This is a perfect business travelers hotel. There is nothing overly fancy and the service is geared toward business travelers, but they do everything in that vein very well. The rooms are small with no views to speak of, but the location is perfect to almost anything in the Central Business District. The lobby bar is comfortable and actually has very good food. They also put out coffee and pastries in the mornings, free for guests. And hot chocolate and water in the evenings. There is a pool and small exercise room. The pool is nice though could be cleaned more thoroughly (the were doing lots of construction when I was there), and the exercise room has everything though it is cramped. The wireless is tedious in that you have to reconnect every day even though it's free, and the concierge service is inconsistent depending on who is manning the desk. But otherwise, this is a safe bet in Sydney.

Room Tip: No real views to speak of so get a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Dharmabum87,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel and find our reviews accurate. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked this as a secret stay. It was wonderful. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked prior to the City to surf and even after we had checked out we were allowed to leave our bags there and collect them and use there gym facilities after the run.

Staff were excellent and food was also good. I would definitely stay there again secret stay or not.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear The_Green_5,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel overall and was to your satisfaction. Perhaps next time we don't have to be such a secret and you might book Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney direct. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Getting off a 15 hour flight wasn't fun especially at 530 in the morning, By the time we got to our hotel it was about 730. We thought we could leave our luggage at the concierge since check in wasn't until the afternoon, however the lovely lady at reception stated a room was ready for us now! We were so excited, our room was clean and comfy. We didn't know where to start our Sydney journey so we asked the lovely staff where to begin we were helped by Will who gave us great insight as to what to see first , giving great recommendations, he also booked our dinner reservations for that night as well at the lovely Sydney Cafe with a great view of the city. When we came back with bags from shopping the staff didn't hesitate to grab them and carry them up to our hotel room. The staff was amazing to say the least, Maxence was a great addition to their staff making sure we had everything we needed. Location, location , location ! Its walking distance to everything from circular Quay to Darling Harbour to some great shopping. The breakfast was also delicious with $25 for a buffet it was well worth it , many choices of food with service being great again. I can't say enough about this Hotel and the great experience we had here. My next trip to Sydney will be with Blu Raddison!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear CythMarie,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel overall and the front office team were very accommodating. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My mother and I stayed at the Radisson Blu for several days, and our time there was very comfortable and enjoyable. The location was fantastic - within easy walking distance to shopping, sights, and restaurants. The staff treated us very well, the beds were lovely, and the rooms were very quiet - we could not have asked for more.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear ChantalF01,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our location, and staff treated you well. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed by chance, arranged by office and discovered excellent welcoming and helpful staff, great breakfasts [ other meals at conference centre during the course of my meeting] together with a very central location for shopping and sight seeing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear eclairedouglas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very positive review of your stay at Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that for future stays you may chose Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney as your preference rather than it being a pleasant surprise.

Thanks,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#5 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#8 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 362 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, A superb restaurant, Bistro Fax Restaurant & Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.