We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet hotel in the CBD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A quiet hotel in the CBD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have stayed many times in the Sydney CBD and, until now, thought traffic noise was inescapable, even on the highest floors. However, my husband and I stayed at the Radisson Blu on a recent weekend (Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights) and found it is possible to have a good night's sleep in the CBD.
I rang the hotel to book my room so that I could ask for a quiet room. The reservations person was very helpful, recommending a room on the O'Connell St side as that has much less traffic than the Pitt St side. He booked us into a premier room on the 7th floor, advising that all rooms are sound proofed and so it is not necessary to book on the top floors (the deluxe rooms) to get away from noise. On arrival I noticed a tavern with tables on the pavement a few doors away on the other side of O'Connell St. I was a bit worried that would be noisy on Friday night but we did not hear a thing.
The room itself was roomy and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I liked the way they all greeted us with a big smile and a comment every time we walked into or out of the hotel. We ate one night in the Bistro Fax restaurant. The food was very good. I also used the gym which was well equipped.
Full marks for Radisson Blu. We will be back.

Room Tip: The O'Connell St side is quieter than the Pitt St side as it is away from the through traffic. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,766
    692
    169
    50
    31
See reviews for
347
1,147
177
658
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Myself, my husband and my 6 month old daughter stayed here on our first stop on a 3 week trip to Australia. The hotel was superb, the staff were welcoming and the rooms were comfortable.

We stayed for 6 nights and our only complaint was that the cot we requested for our daughter was metal and therefore squeaked (as she had jet lag, the squeaking every time she moved woke her up). We didn't complain as we had brought our own pop-up cot - although i believe the staff would have done everything possible to attend to our needs had we done so.

The hotel is in such a central location. Yes, it is in the Business District and is not very touristy, but we walked everywhere with a buggy and it is not far from most attractions/stations/ferries.

I would definitely return to this hotel if i had the choice.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor, further away from the busy streets below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed for 4 nights here. Apart from a little confusion at check-in in regards to only supplying one room when I had booked two rooms, which was quickly sorted out, we loved the stay at this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable with everything needed, the restaurant staff and food were amazing, and all other staff we came across were approachable and helpful and went out of their way to make us feel very welcome. The concierge staff noticed on one day we were exhausted and hot and they gave us a bottle of chilled water each to rehydrate when we got back to the hotel, another day it was raining and they supplied umbrellas for the day. Good location too. Would definitely stay here again, and would recommend to others.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

In last 6 months, I have spent over 40 nights at this hotel and I just love it. The staff is amazing. Very caring about their guests, their dietary plan, their room comforts and always have smile on their faces. The 4 things that always bring me back to this property are:

Best Room Rates/Night
Good Food
Prime Location (Next to George and Pitt Street)
Nice Cafe

I would highly recommend anyone traveling to Sydney to check out this property.

Thanks Guys.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I recently stayed in a Premier Room on the fourth floor for three nights and I cannot recommend this hotel enough! From the moment we approached the hotel with our suitcases we were attended to by the doorman and helpful, friendly staff.
The hotel is gorgeous and the room itself was spacious, beautifully fit out and clean. I accidentally returned to our room when it was being serviced on the second day and had a lovely chat with the representative from housekeeping.
The pool and spa are great and be sure to treat yourself to one of the massages. I had one and it was absolutely blissful!
Location is perfect, short stroll up to Pitt St mall and down to Circular Quay. We went to the opera house for a play on the Friday night and it was a very quick walk back in a totally safe area when the play finished later in the evening.
Wonderful place to stay and I'd like to stay there any time I'm in Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. The staff made the whole experience worthwhile! There were numerous staff members that went out of their way to help us!
Room:
Clean, no view but very comfortable, you are also able to select out of 5 different cushions! They gave us a late checkout as well which helped make our stay even more comfortable!
Facilities: we did not drink here or get massages as it was quite pricey. The pool was a little cold as well.
Location: Fantastic you can walk to everything!!!

In summary this hotel is very clean and comfortable! just what you need after long day in the city!
-Paper delivered daily and bed also made up daily.

Room Tip: We stayed in the premier- if its a special romantic weekend then maybe go the room up. If its just f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Well located in the Sydney CBD.

Easy to access and easy to find. We have never stayed here before but used 'Last Minute' to book.

We stayed 2 nights, Friday and Saturday in Nov 2012. We were greeted warmly by reception member named Fraser. Fraser was a credit to his profession...and credit to upper management to foster such a culture.

Staff: All the staff we met were happy, helpful and enjoyed their work. I chatted with the cleaners and bar staff and others and all were respectful, helpful and happy!!
Room: We selected an Artium Room. Small, but very clean and a great bath tub...so very happy.
Food: Did not eat there.
Drinks: Did not drink there
Internet: Free. Happy about this.
Paper: Delivered free.
Early Check in: Yes
Late Check out: Yes

Overall: 9/10 for this Hotel. Yes, I will return. I would recommend this to others.

Tips: Read below.

Room Tip: Room: Ask for a room on the 11th or 12th Floor. Get a room with a bath if you can. Our room faced We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,675 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
0.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#20 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
1888 Hotel
1888 Hotel
#5 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#3 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Business Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#8 Family Hotel in Sydney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 362 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, A superb restaurant, Bistro Fax Restaurant & Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.