We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Radisson Blu is very close to Circular Quay and Wynard Stations so very easy to get to on the train from the airport. I spent two nights here for work and was very impressed. Staff are fantastic with the young ladies on reception particularly sharp, remembering my name as I came and went over a few days. Nice touch.

I got an upgrade which was also nice and the room was excellent, comfortable bed, nice shower and deep bath.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,313
    526
    131
    39
    21
See reviews for
233
901
145
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of our holiday. The hotel has an unbeatable location, close to all tourist attractions, shopping, transport and restaurants. The hotel itself is beautiful, boutique in style. It is a quiet, low key sort of hotel. The rooms are furnished in art deco style to match the building. Very comfortable bed.The bathroom is beautiful with an excellent shower. Good WIFI. We had one dinner at the Bistro Fax restaurant (after a long day trip to Blue Mountains) and it was very good. The breakfast buffet is excellent. I had managed to get a promotional deal that included breakast so for us it was excellent value. Without exception the staff are all very professional and friendly. Could find no downsides. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to find a promotional deal that includes breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

It would be hard to beat the room quality and features, the helpful staff, the reasonable price, or the great location of this splendid, modern facility -- two blocks north of the Pitt Street upscale pedestrian mall, a block east of the main drag (George Street), and a short walk to such major attractions as the Circular Quay and The Rocks, with a bank and convenience store right around the corner from the hotel.

The only problem I encountered was with the heat control in my otherwise excellent room, which received quick attention but the engineering staff was unable to fix immediately on a weekend. However, the issue was resolved by the duty manager, who upgraded me to an even bigger and better room with plenty of heat and even sent me a bottle of red wine (which I can’t drink, so he comped me instead to an outstanding breakfast at the hotel’s fine Bistro Fax restaurant). The front desk, concierge staff, housekeeping, and porters all were friendly, efficient, and helpful throughout my stay.

Both rooms were large, clean, quiet, and well-equipped, featuring a strong free wi-fi signal, excellent flat-panel TV, comfortable bed, an in-room safe, superior bathroom facilities and amenities (with instant hot water available at all hours), good lighting, and sufficient drawer, desk, and closet space.

I will happily return to the Radisson Blu Plaza on my next visit to Sydney.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here whilst on holiday in Sydney with the Better Half.

The Radisson Blu is located in a former Banking Chamber and the building on the outside retains the colonial charm. Inside, it has been transformed into a modern, comfortable hotel. Personally I would prefer to have had some of the Banking Chamber feeling retained, but as an hotel it works beautifully.

The staff were excellent. We were upgraded at check-in to a Deluxe Room, which means it is the same s their standard rooms except they are located on the 12th (top) floor, so have a Juliet balcony. The room was spacious and well appointed and the bathroom was luxurious with marble tiles and luxury fittings. The internet was fast, simple to connect and free. The mini-bar was well-stocked. The television had excellent choices and multiple cable channels.

The bed was amazingly comfortable, and you can phone Housekeeping to have them deliver any type of pillow you require. We did not use this service but I like it.

The staff were all excellent. We did not eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on the food but Bilson's has an excellent reputation.

Stay at the Radisson Blu for a stay you won't regret or forget.

Room Tip: Flirt with the check-in clerk for an upgrade. Floors 11 and 12 have small balconies with views to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had four days here on holiday, nice to be able to walk down to the opera, to the rocks, uptown, and get back easily and quickly. They were able to provide feather pillows on request, and the room was spacious enough, bathroom well designed with comfortable bath. They had a promo on, and we scored a free movie on the wheel, but didn't get to use it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for the record July 2010. Thought it was very nice. Had to share a room with a colleague but the room itself was clean and beautiful.
Loved the bath and indulged in the amenities.
The breakfast buffet was really good and I liked the Asian variety of dishes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Central
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The only downside to this hotel is they do not offer a free shuttle service to and from the airport. Service excellent and very central location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Business Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#8 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 362 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, A superb restaurant, Bistro Fax Restaurant & Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.