We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't think of anything bad about Radisson!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Splendid Autumn: 15% off
Ranked #11 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Can't think of anything bad about Radisson!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on our way back from New Zealand.
From the minute we walked in to the time we left we felt at home.
Check in was prompt and friendly.
Room, large bed, very comfortable, large well equipped bathroom.
Importantly, enough space to put down all our luggage!!
Free internet was great too.
This hotel is in an excellent location for anyone visiting Sydney, being minutes walk from Circular Quay and also from Darling Harbour......everything else is very accessible.
Business floor was excellent and the staff in the lounge lovely.
If you are looking for a good hotel in an excellent position that is great value for money(and believe me, everything in Sydney is very expensive due to the exchange rate!) then look no further.
We will certainly return if we are back in Sydney.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,538
    629
    155
    46
    25
See reviews for
293
1,043
162
558
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We recently stayed at the Raddison Blu after being transferred from the Sir Stamford hotel due to an erroneous overbooking. We arrived at the hotel around 1am and Oscar who met us at reception was extremely accommodating, he had has checked into our room promptly and his friendly attitude & attentiveness was much appreciated after such a long and exhausting day/night. The room was clean, very spacious and offered free wireless internet. The bathroom was also very clean and a generous size.
The king size bed was extremely comfortable, having a choice of different pillow types is always a nice added extra and offers even greater comfort, we both had an amazing night sleep.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again, I won't waste my time with the Sir Stamford next time though and will just head straight here!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We found this inner city Hotel an excellent base for shopping in Sydney.

Apart from having to lug my heavy case up several steps into Reception, the attentive staff were ever ready to assist.
The room was beautifully decorated and the disababled facilities I had requested were immaculate and spacious. Thank you.
The hotel does not have view from any window, but the compensation is the comfortable sleep in a very quiet room with quality linen on the bed.
Large flat screen TV kept me happy when I was not out shopping at Pitt Street Mall, just up the road.
I felt secure in that I could lock my room, but the lock was a bit suspect. Housekeeping.

I would recommend this quality hotel to anyone wishing a quiet, serene central base in Sydney.

Room Tip: Ask for a disabled suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I booked a secret hotel for one nights stay and was happy to learn that it turned out to be the Radisson. I did not expect a big room but I ended up receiving the Studio Spa suite which was a great size and very comfortable. The marbled bathroom is huge with a separate toilet/powder room and the bed is super comfortable, it's probably one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in and I was disappointed that I only booked one night! Only two things irked me a little bit: my tv did not seem to work after exhausting every button and technique it displayed no channels but luckily I had brought a book with me and also the room service is a little expensive...$25 for a pizza?!. Aside from these two I thoroughly recommend this room and this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is my second quick stay at Radison Blu in Sydney. I travel a fair bit for business and this has to be the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at. Lovely building, great location and the staff will bend over backwards to exceed your expectations. The swimming pool is a lap pool so it would not be a place to take the little ones to play, but for someone who actually wants to swim it is great. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed four nights at this lovely 5 star hotel, perfectly located in downtown Sydney a few minutes walk to everywhere. Staff were friendly, room was comfortable and quiet. Good facilities including pool and gym, and nice bar/restaurant. Would recommend a bed and breakfast package deal; I thought the buffet breakfast was very good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We booked through wotif and secured a very good rate. However, when we checked in, we had been given a disabled room. I could tell straight away from the bench seat and handrail in the extra large shower. I thought the room I booked meant to have a bath. Immediatley I contacted reception and within 5 minutes the concierge moved us another room which was better than I had anticipated. We stayed Thurs through to Sat night and found Friday was a little noisy for some reason. Im not sure where the music was coming from, but other than that I could not fault our stay and would stay here again. We didnt eat here as we had dinner appointments. We had drinks in the bar and the staff were excellent, very attentive.

Room Tip: If you book through wotif and are given a disabled room, ask to be moved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Business Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#8 Family Hotel in Sydney
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 362 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, A superb restaurant, Bistro Fax Restaurant & Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.