We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Liverpool Street, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Stockbridge, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

My friend and I were booked at the Radisson for our stay in Syndey after our cruise. Thankfully they allowed us to check-in early. I booked two single beds, although they didn't see the request the manager called housekeeping before we ever went up to the room to seperate the bed into two. The room was spacious and clean, and surprised to see a kitchenette area as well. The only bad thing I can say about the hotel was the traffic and drunk people noise on the street, but can't fault the hotel for that except to get sound proof windows.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    301
    79
    18
    16
See reviews for
230
175
54
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiwi Kid, Auckland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Had a weekend in Sydney for Taylor Swift concert with husband and 13 year old. Booked thru Expedia at 1/2 price for a 1 bedroom suite + $50 per night for a rollaway. Upon check-in was told hadn't paid for rollaway and would have to pay again. Girl who served us was not helpful but once her Manager got involved we were told to go to our room and it would be looked into.

Room on 8th floor - which was highest level. First impressions - bedroom pokey, lounge area adequate but very cramped with rollaway (our choice as opted not to pay for a 2 bedroom). Bathroom smallish. Upon closer inspection the sheets were ripped, towels were of very average quality bathroom vanity was hardly big enough for 3 toothbrushes + hairbrushes, let alone a makeup bag or similar, shower over bath was permantly stained with black stains and tiles were not clean - nor was light switch - yuk!

Bedding situation was rectified promptly and we were told that this was a common problem when booking thru third party sites. Bed and linen delivered promptly and with a smile by Manager herself.

Now we chose this hotel because of it's central city location and did anticipate some noise, but even on the 8th floor with earplugs it was still loud enough to keep you awake at 3am on Saturday morning and again on Sunday. Sunday night things quitened down a lot earlier.

Housekeeping was hit and miss - first day fine, but despite housekeeper asking what time would be suitable for do room when she saw us coming in after breakfast around 10am, it was not done between 11am - 1.30pm when we were out. Around 2pm a knock - told her not to bother but she gave us fresh towels.

Was impressed with their conservation efforts - sheets not changed unless you put a sign on the bed, rather than other way round - use sign if you don't want a change. Same policy with towels as most international hotels - leave on floor to change, or hangup.

Pool & Spa - didn't use despite wanting to as smell of chlorine was overpowering - also spa was same temperature as pool - not ideal for a soak. Gym looked adequate but not utilised.

Didn't eat on site - plenty of options around - just the ads for their breakfast buffet put you off - didn't look at all appetising or of 4 1/2 star quality.

Business centre was an oversized cupboard with 2 computers and a printer - we waited 15 minutes or so for a computer. Did need and received help printing boarding cards - all with a smile.

If you like to watch a bit of tele (we did a bit as weather was horrendous - no fault of Hotel of course!), every time the monorail goes by your reception is interferred with for 5 seconds or so - they come and go every 7-8 minutes, so a bit of a pain.

All in all, very disappointed as I thought I'd researched this well. If this was advertised as a 3 1/2 star and priced as such I'd give it a 4's for everything, but at A$1550+ full price for 3 nights, even at half price this was not worth the money. Location was ideal, staff were helpful and friendly, with exception of initial receptionist, but that's the only good aspects.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

Loved the large one-bedroom with kitchen, separate living area, balcony. Got a great price through United when I bought plane tickets. in CBD, short walk to Darling Harbour, few blocks to Town Hall Station then 2 stops to Circular Quay. Clean with friendly staff. Hotel food was ok, but not terribly vegetarian-friendly. Neighborhood felt safe, had lots of restaurants, busy area. A couple of nights there was a musician playing across the road until around midnight - I enjoyed it, but some people might not.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

This is a great hotel in a fab location its situation around the corner from the main shopping street, George Street. You are 5-10 mins walking distance from Darling Harbour,which has plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from.
Downsides are it can be a bit noisy at night and car parking is expensice at $35 a night
Would definatley stay here again

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

Spent 10 nights in Sydney. Stayed at the Radisson in a one bedroom suite.

Was originally given an "accessible room" at the rear of the hotel. Which although pleasant did not have a balcony. Was able to switch to a balcony room on day two of my stay.

Second room was on the second level facing Liverpool Street. As others have said, the noise, (especially the monorail) can at times, be an issue. The room was very spacious and well maintained. Nice size television with a good selection of pay TV channels (e.g., Discovery and Lifestyle). Kitchen was spotless and was well stocked with utensils and serving ware. Bathroom had a shower over the bath. Hotel includes a good collection of toiletries and in kitchen, a pack of ground coffee for the plunger. The view is nothing spectacular, but it's fun nonetheless, to watch city life passing you by. It would have been nice to turn the air conditioning up a notch (cooler), but generally the temperature in the room was satisfactory.

Generally the hotel is very clean and tidy. A trivial issue, the reception area and corridors could do with some modernisation and better ventilation. Staff were always very pleasant and eager to help.

On returning home I was asked to complete a satisfaction survey. I did raise the issue of noise and received an email from management stating that this would be looked into.

Overall I would definitely consider returning to the Radisson when staying in Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

I travel from Syd every week for business. I booked into the Radisson with the expectation that this was a suite/serviced apartment as the pictures seem to imply. Note: I had a single room only. The room was tidy and the bathroom very good - new tiles, no shower over bath. I was astonished to find that the kitchenette (including hotplates) had virtually nothing in it...., no plates, bowls cutlery, anything to cook with or anything provided for washing up - soap or dishwasher. I could get plates & cutlery from the front desk after asking if there was some mistake, however I was greeted with, "what do you want?" (frankly an equipped kitchenette). There is no microwave however there is a empty space where it would normally go. You can request one. There's also no washing machine (guess I didn't read the full description.
Couple of small things: the fit-out of the interior of the wardrobe had clearly been done to a very low budget with a free-standing laminated set of light-weight draws - it's just these little things that give you a clue to the standard. There was only one cake of soap provided... had to remember to take it from the sink to the shower each time..., err, why would a hotel do that? no idea.
If you go for a single room it's a case of expectations and that's if your fine not to expect to use the kitchette then, well it's a reasonable hotel room.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

We stayed at this hotel 2 separate nights (Jan. '10).

We had booked a room with 2 queen beds, but when we got to the hotel, they upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite (for free)! Wow! It was on the inside (courtyard) of the hotel, so it was very quiet as well.

The 2nd night (2 days later) we were not able to upgrade. This room was on the outside (street side) of the hotel & the noise from the street was noticeable. It still was not so bad, but required ear plugs. Monorail is across the street from the hotel (Liverpool St.) so request a room not on the street side.

The hotel had an adequately equipped workout room & a great pool & hot tub. The pool area was clean and is very pleasing to the eye.

The staff were more than helpful & I would say one of the best I have experienced.

We had the $17 AUD breakfast included. The breakfast was in the very nice restaurant on the 1st floor. It was a full breakfast with meats, eggs, etc. The waitstaff were superior as well.

Overall, you get what you pay for at this hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (especially the 1st time with the upgrade). The hotel is centrally located on Liverpool St. in the Darling Harbour section of the CBD, Sydney, NSW. It is extremely close to the Chinese Gardens, IMAX, and the Wharf area. It is only a 20 min. walk to the Harbour Bridge, Sydney Opera House, Botanical Gardens; a 15 min. walk to Hyde Park; & a 10 min. walk to the Central Railway Station.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney

Address: 72 Liverpool Street, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#41 Business Hotel in Sydney
#42 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Hotel & Suites Sydney recently completed a refresh to the hotel lobby, level one conference floor, including our restaurant and bar. Our guests are now enjoying the newly refreshed surroundings, which we hope you can also experience as our guest very soon.100% non-smoking facility.Experience Luxury at one of the Premier Sydney CBD Hotels.Located in the heart of the Sydney Central Business District, the Radisson Hotel and Suites Sydney is the ideal place for business and leisure travellers. Our 4.5 star Sydney CBD hotel's location is within walking distance or a short drive of many attractions, including Darling Harbour and Capitol Theatre. Chinatown, the city centre and other notable shopping districts are just minutes from our Radisson Sydney accommodation. All of our hotel's oversized guest rooms feature large balconies, kitchenettes, well-lit work desks, broadband cable Internet access and 24-hour room service. Spacious suites with one or two bedrooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Sydney
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.