We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jaw dropping views & close to everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Sydney to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Jaw dropping views & close to everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in a 2 Bdrm Suite for 2 nights prior to hopping on a cruise.
We loved our view & just how close to The Rocks, Circular Quay & shopping we were. So convenient to everything, an easy walk down to the quay where you can wander down to the Opera House or hop on a cruise out into the harbour, takes you over to Taronga Zoo and/or Luna Park...plenty of choices for excursions close by. We loved the very accommodating staff who whisked one of our double rooms into twin within no time and couldn't have been more helpful. The Suite itself was great, modern & clean, with your own laundry & kitchen etc. No deck with our suite but there is an outdoor deck up by the indoor door pool (which the kids loved).
The Concierge, although extremely helpful initially, running out into the rain to hale us a taxi...did (no doubt unintentionally) send us off to a restaurant that turned out to be closed, and since our taxi had already left, by the time we realised this, we ended up walking a mile to hale another cab, only to return to the hotel...an adventure we didn't really need in rush hour traffic - luckily for the Concierge he was off duty by the time we returned & thankfully the rain had stopped or his management would have heard about it! But this was the only flaw in an otherwise perfect stay.I suggest that you have the Front desk check, by phoning any potential restaurant etc..and to book if possible ;)
The Quay West Front desk staff were lovely & eager to be of help.
The breakfast buffet is worth starting your day with, lots of lovely healthy options too.
We loved the "Sydney Cove Oyster Bar" (alfresco waterside seafood dining) & "Guylian Belgian Chocolate Cafe" for dessert (just across from the Oyster Bar) both down on the Quay, a 10-15 minute saunter away from the Hotel.
We would definitely stay at the Quay West Suites again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagen W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear 'Rohini M',

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased you had a good one! It is unfortunate about your dinner reservation and the horrible weather though! Apart from that, I hope you had a wonderful stay and I hope to welcome you and your family back in the future.

Kind regards,

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    217
    49
    30
    11
See reviews for
342
174
23
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The apartments were lovely 8 of us had 2 apartments that slept 4 each. They were so clean and the staff could not have been more helpful. Great location in the Rocks walking distance to everything. Would definitely stay there again. I have stayed in many hotels in Sydney this was the best with great views.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagen W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear 'Lynne T',

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased you all had a great time!

Kind regards,

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were very disappointed,this definitely was not a 5 star hotel,well our room wasn't .
Maybe it was because we used a Accor gift card,I'm not sure, we paid $500 for one night,for a one bedroom room,the view was overlooking a building site.
The apartment did have everything,that was advertised, the bed was ok,the linen,the apartment was reasonably clean.
No ensuite,and the carpet was very smelly.
The carpet going into the bathroom,was torn,and very ripped,the carpet tacks holding the carpet down,we're sticking out.I stood on some tacks,and needed to get band aids to put on my foot,because my foot was bleeding.
I mentioned to the girl on reception the next morning when we were booking out,about the state of the carpet,she was not the slightest bit interested.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
But as I said before,maybe it was because we used a gift card.
We have used Accor card before in Queenstown,and Gold Coast,and have had no complaints

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagen W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear 'Pam A',

Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us. I sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us, as you should have. We definitely do not allocate rooms, based on the method of payment. I can see you booked Queen City View suite, which just has views of the city. Due to our high occupancy during your stay, this is why your suite was more expensive than usual. I also apologise for the issue you experienced with our carpet. This definitely does not reflect our usual high room standards. Please contact me directly if there is anything I can do, or if you do wish to stay with us in the future.

Kind regards,

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Why stay in a normal hotel room when you can have a huge apartment overlooking Sydney harbour for the same price. Our ' room' consisted of a fully fitted kitchen with dishwasher, full oven and stove top as well as the normal appliances., a separate laundry with washer and drier, a beautiful bathroom with bath and separate shower, a king size bedroom with tv and a huge living dining room with stunning views of the harbour bridge.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and although we did not use it there was 24hour room service and an onsite restaurant. The swimming pool on level 23 must have the best pool views in Australia.

Only a few minutes walk to the Rocks restaurants and shops and also to the ferries and trains on Circular Quay it was in the perfect location. We will definately stay here again when visiting Sydney

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagen W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear 'Suki49',

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased you loved our service, amenities and view.

I hope to welcome you and your family back.

Kind regards,

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Sydney

Address: 98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Family Hotel in Sydney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quay West Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay West Hotel Sydney
Quay West Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.