We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madama Butterfly stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Sydney to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    211
    46
    30
    11
See reviews for
332
165
23
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell, Virginia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at Quay West on our recent three day stop in Sydney. The location near circle quay is fantastic. The view from our living room was spectacular. We walked to the opera house and it was mostly under cover. The rainy day did not affect us at all. I used the exercise room twice and the pool. Both were very convent and nice. The views from the pool were even better than from our room as it was on a higher floor. Hagen, the manager, was very helpful as I had a small problem with the tea pot. Needless to say don't put them on the stove.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely apartment great beds and very helpful and friendly staff .
This apartment has the most amazing view of the opera house and the harbour bridge .one word to describe the view ....simply stunning
We stayed in a 2 bedroom harbour view apartment and we enjoyed our time there my only criticism and this is THE ONLY criticism ! the living area does not have enough seating for 5 people comfortably unless 2 people sit on dining room chairs .there is a large desk taking up prime space overlooking the harbour that could fit a 2 seater lounge which would seat everyone comfortably and at 900 + a night I would expect that everyone should be able to comfortably sit around having a drink etc . We were offered a breakfast deal which we took and this was very good value . The concierge not only delivered our car on checkout but also had our luggage packed ready to go when we came back from breakfast ... A first
All in all a lovely stay but limit your numbers to 4 and hopefully they address the desk thing which is not needed .
All in all a lovely stay an exceptional view and very nice staff . Give it a try

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at Quay West for the 3rd time and we will definitely come back for a 4th! We booked a two bedroom apartment for our family of 5 with Sydney Harbour Bridge view. The views of the bridge, the Opera House and Circular either early morning or late at night, never failed to impress us.
Great location for all the sights in Sydney. The apartments are spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Kitchen, washing machine/dryer, pool towels etc etc.
The first time we stayed here was over 7 years ago and we feel that they have done a good job in maintaining the property.
Concierge and reception staff were friendly and helpful.

The only problem we encountered was that we wanted to make a direct booking with the hotel instead of going through the on line booking system. We kept on being transferred to call centres probably located outside Australia who did not have a clue what they were talking about.
Finally managed to get hold of somebody at the hotel and managed to get a good price and we were then able to put in some special requests.

Room Tip: Spend a couple of more dollars to get a room or an apartment with Harbour Bridge view. We stayed a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for a few nights for business, after a break of several years. The property has remained well maintained, some parts refurbished and still 5 star quality. The location suited me for work but being centrally located at the Rocks it is perfect for a few days r and r. The facilities are adequate, but surrounded by world class restuarants, walking tracks and the worlds most beautiful harbour, I hardly needed them. The room was large, everything provided, down to pool towels, and very comfortable. I wont wait as long next time.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagen W, Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear 'ozpd70',

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with a good partial view of Sydney Harbour bridge and Circular Quay. The room was very comfortable and well catered for. The Concierge was great to deal with and had good communication. Hotel is in a good location, close to many items. The main entrance of the Hotel is located on a relatively quite street.

We will book again.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagen W, Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear 'KruegsAust',

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear concierge were very helpful during your stay.

Kind regards,

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Sydney

Address: 98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Family Hotel in Sydney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Quay West Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay West Hotel Sydney
Quay West Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.