We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views and great rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Sydney

Save Saved
You added Quay West Suites Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quay West Suites Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #15 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Dubbo, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Stunning views and great rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The views from the rooms are stunning, we had a 2 bedroom harbour view room and the view on the left was the Harbour Bridge and the view on the right was the Sydney Opera House. No need for a TV. The bed was comfortable, the shower worked really well, quite roomy apartments. It includes a kitchen, everything worked, a laundry that worked. The valet parking worked well for us, the car was ready in no time and the service from the front desk was friendly and helpful.
Only negative and its only a minimal thing, its a steep little walk down the hill to George Street, but Circular Quay, and the Rocks is very close.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    187
    44
    29
    11
See reviews for
306
146
22
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Not sure that this hotel deserves a 5 star rating. Cigarette burns in pull out sofa bed. Amazing views are the best thing - we stayed in a 1 br suite. Terrible concierge service - we waited an hour for our bags after check in. Average front desk service. Would definitely choose another nearby 5 star hotel over this one next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights and had the 2 bed apartment. (Taxi is about A$50 from airport). The views were incredible - 180 degree of the harbour bridge and opera house. Great to watch the ferries and cruise ships coming and going. The apartment was very clean and spacious for 4 adults with 2 double rooms (very comfy firm beds) and a sofa bed in large lounge, large dining table and a very well equipped kitchen (hob, microwave , toaster,fridge dishwasher (powder provided) so we were able to make our own meals on the nights we stayed in. Also excellent washing machine and tumbledryer (washing powder provided but not tumble dryer softener sheets) We arrived very early in the morning and the room was not yet ready but the staff were great. They gave us towels and we were able to get changed shower and also use the pool facilities on the recreation deck. Very welcome after flying direct from the UK. The pool although not huge was rarely busy and you can swim while looking out over the harbour. Circular key is a very easy 5 minute walk and so you have access to all the transport links which are very easy to use. The ferries are a great way to explore and they have free WiFi. My only criticism of the hotel is that you had to pay for WiFi (not cheap) which, given the cost of the hotel I thought was a bit unreasonable. Sydney is pretty expensive to eat out every night as so was very handy to have the kitchen. Beware do not buy food at the small stores there is a small supermarket about 5 mins from the hotel and also a woolworths and Coles within 10 minutes. Overall just a fabulous hotel

Room Tip: 2 bed apartments have awesome views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Let me start with the good things about the hotel. The location is fabulous - near to the harbour and near to George Street which is the shopping street. Service meets expectation. You'll get the nicest view if you stay in the deluxe rooms but the standard rooms have decent views too. Ours face directly across The Four Seasons and Marriot but still able to see the waterfront. Room size is large and is very well-furnished. Beddings and pillows are very comfortable.

One main gripe I have is the internet. When I checked-in, I couldn't get a wifi signal in the room and later I was told by the concierge that there is no wi-fi. I saw an ethernet cable in the room but since I am using the new MacBook Pro, it doesn't have an ethernet port and I had to run out to the Apple Store to get an adapter. This is after a 16 hour journey to Sydney from China. The internet is also NOT FREE and to be paying for a connection so terribly slow is just daylight robbery. $290 for a month of crappy connection. I'm not even sure why I am bring charge $290 for 4 weeks when I am only staying for 10 nights. I guess I'll find out upon check-out.

The day after, in the morning, the wi-fi signal was detectable - so there was wi-fi afterall! I didn't have to run out to get my computer plugged to the ethernet cable! That was some bad information given. However, I decided to keep using the ethernet because we were only able to connect a maximum of 3 devices per room onto the wifi network. The connection via ethernet is better than the wifi but it was still so slow, they had to bring a router up to get a better signal! I also had to keep resetting my password. And each time the password is reset the connection will get better for a bit and then worse. And every time it got worse I had to call reception to have them reset my password and restart my computer all over again in order to get it going. Connecting to the router didn't quite work out to be a solution. It is extremely frustrating and annoying especially when there is work to do! In this day and age, the hotel's service and capabilities in this regard is sorely lacking and disappointing.

Also, the housekeeping doesn't do a good job of cleaning the room. The bin in the toilet was not emptied and the cooking pans were crusty because they weren't washed properly.

Hope the rest of our stay gets better than this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed for a week back in July and really enjoyed our time at he Quay West.

We had a two bedroom harbour view apartment and the view was amazing. To wake up with the sunrise over the Opera House and Harbour Bridge was fantastic.

The rooms were fine with modern kit, including a very useful washer and dryer, which was great as we were on a four week trip and our clothes needed freshening.

Location was great for Circular Quay and the Rocks. Easy access to the trains and the ferries. One bonus was the swimming pool, which was great and used by our kids most days. The gym was also pretty good with nice views over the city, while you exercised.

Even though, it's not the cheapest place to stay, the two bedroom apartment was massive and so, a much better way of living for a family travelling together than a hotel room.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a Harbour view - the extra money is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Best possible pivotal point for exploring the historic Rocks area, catching ferries and public transport from Circular Quay and relaxing against the backdrop of the iconic Opera House.
Ensure you book the best possible suite with a harbour view. They are spacious and provide the perfect vantage point.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Sydney

Address: 98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Family Hotel in Sydney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Sydney 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quay West Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay West Hotel Sydney
Quay West Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.