We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Sydney property for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Sydney to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Phila., PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Sydney property for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

For our first trip to Australia (5 weeks) with our first stop in Sydney, we had a 2 bedroom apartment with a harbor view. It was a perfect way to start our trip. While our room was not ready and our bags didn't make the connection from LAX when we arrived about 8am (weren't expecting room to be ready), reception offered us towels and shampoo to freshen up at the showers by the pool given our 24 hour flight. In addition, the concierge was exceptionally helpful in following up with Qantas to make sure that our bags made it to our room after a snafu with the first delivery (Qantas had wrong address).

The rooms were modern and clean with all the necessary amenities (really good shower). The kitchen was great for breakfast in the morning rather than eating out (grocery nearby).

Most important, you can't beat the location. First, our view was spectacular with a pefect view of the Sydney Opera House and Harbor Bridge! We were a 5 min walk from the Circular Quay (with transport options to many places), Harbor Bridge, and Sydney opera house. There's many restaurant options in the Rocks.

The only real downside was the poor wi-fi service. We actually piggybacked on the Shangri La hotel's free wifi that usually worked better than our pay-for wi-fi.

Bottom line: If you are a traveling family and want an excellent option for Sydney, this will work well.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    219
    50
    30
    11
See reviews for
343
176
23
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Perfect location and suits couples, families and business trips. We stayed in 1 bed apartment on 18th floor. Modern furnishings. Clean rooms including all kitchen items. Laundry with washer and dryer and clothes airer. Good sized kitchen, lounge and storage closet.
Restaurant and lounge were fantastic. Special mention for service in bar and restaurant areas as we found this to be excellent. Meals and drinks were very good and we ate in restaurant most evenings.
The concierge and porter were always helpful and friendly.
There is an indoor rooftop pool and gymnasium with spectacular views of Sydney harbour, so take the camera.
Could not fault this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed one night to allow for a night out in the city - very impressed - great space in the suite, reasonable view, clean well maintained and breakfast for a large place was excellent. Perfect for what we wanted and very helpful and pleasant staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite - 1402, could see a bit of water and city scapes. Good use of the space and nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our family stayed here 3 nights in a 2-bedroom unit with Harbor view. It was fabulous. Everything in the room was in working order. Beds were comfortable although the pillows were not great. Having laundry in the unit was very helpful. We liked the option of cooking versus eating at the hotel vs. going out.

Wifi was reasonably fast although didn't really get into the bedrooms well.

The views were truly stupendous, the best part.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family and I booked into a one bedroom apartment at Quay West for two nights. I have to say I was very underwhelmed by the experience. The hotel room was very dated, appliances were very old, carpet a bit natty and overall, not what we were expecting from a five star hotel. The room service meals we had were just OK (while paying an absolute premium), but not worth the wait and I could have used the steak as a hockey puck on the first night.

But to top it off, we were informed by hotel management via an envelope slipped under the door to use the fire stairs from level 23 to 22 after 9.00am due to lift maintenance. We dutifully did this at 9:30am and were subsequently trapped in the fire stairs ( with a small child under 2) as no one had thought to unlock the doors to the fire stairs. I then trudged down the 23 flights of stairs to the foyer to gain access to the first unlocked door. I subsequently travelled upstairs (to free my family) with the lift technician who informed me the work wouldn't be going ahead until 10.00 and that the staff were just lazy. I informed hotel staff of this and they seemed largely unapologetic (although they did waive the parking fees).

Pretty average I must say, our last hotel stay was in the Langham, Hong Kong and the experience was so far ahead of Quay West it was like a different planet. Do yourself a favour and find somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't bother, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I am currently staying in this service apartment .

Room:The room is clean and tidy. However only 2 rooms on each floor get the harbour view and unfortunately my room face the wall of Four Season Hotel . Currently there is a construction going 1 street away and every morning it wakes me up when the work start so if you are sensitive to noise, better ask for room that is away from George Street.

Distant:Its around 250m to Circular Quay Station and 450m to Wynyard Station. George Street (the main shopping area) is just 1 street away.

Area:There is a 24-hr McDonald opposite Circular Quay Station. A lot of restaurants around the hotel so no issue with meals

Room Tip: However only 2 rooms on each floor get the harbour view and unfortunately my room face the wall of F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I struggle to think of a more perfect view of Sydney than what we got from our 17th floor 2 bedroom, massive unit. The positioning of the living room with floor to ceiling windows was perfection.... but then there was the service!

We had booked the unit to double as a meeting space for some small client meetings. A few of these meeting times changed and we asked for either an early check in or a late check out (FYI check out is 10am not 11am). Both requests were met with very rude reaction. We then asked if there was any common space we could use to meet people... this was also rejected, however when we arrived there was more than enough space that could have accommodated us.

The service did not get better- we were sent to the concierge for a dinner suggestion.... after being ignored for about 5 minutes we asked if there was any Asian restaurants near by, to which we were told an outright no. A quick Urban Spoon and 4minute walk later we were at Sake- one of the best Japanese restaurants in Australia.

The location and size of the hotel rooms and of course the view were great.... just don't expect to be treated well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Sydney

Address: 98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Family Hotel in Sydney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quay West Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay West Hotel Sydney
Quay West Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.