We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartment accommodation in Sydney Rock area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Sydney to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #15 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Apartment accommodation in Sydney Rock area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have stayed here on a number of occasions over some years now. We always return for short 2-3 night stays. Rates are competitive with most others in the area.

The rooms are great, modern, neat and tidy with modern kitchen and appliances, LCD TV in main and bedrooms, internal laundry with washer and drier, views depend on where in the building you stay.

Hotel is child and family friendly, with double bedrooms on offer with full facilities and the kids will love the enclosed, heated pool and spa.

The upper levels has a Gymnasium, sauna, pool and spa. The Pool is great, is heated and all this is enclosed in glass with unobstructed 180 degree views of Darling Harbour, South City, Harbour bridge and Opera house.

Staff are friendly.

Parking is provided at around AUD$40 per night, just leave your car with them at the entrance on Gloucester Street. You dont need a car in this area.

Harbour bridge, Opera House, Circular Quay, access to ferries, monorail, all older Rocks area is easy walk from this place. Even Darling Harbour is only 15 minutes or so walk. You can take a Ferry from Circular Quay to the North Shore, Taronga Zoo, Manly and so on if you like.

Most of the city centre is not far from here and the Rocks Markets are normally held on Sunday and maybe Fridays if I recall correctly, they have some great stalls with some selling typical Australiana.

Places definitely worth seeing are the areas in the streets just west of the apartment, where you can see the original remnants of old Sydney. There are also lots of really old, quirky pubs around this area too.

We rarely eat in house, there are so many great places to eat in the Rocks and local area, mind you the Rocks is not that cheap to eat at in general. Try China Town, 15 minutes walk South, close by to that is also the Spanish Quarter, The Spanish club does good Spanish food and is cheap for Tapas.

The rocks is best for breakfast with many small cafes. The Australian Cafe, I think it is called from memory is tucked in to some old rear sandstone buildings and court yards with some history. Mind you, we don't have history or architecture anything like Europe, however it is a very nice place with some interesting history. This is a really great and cheap place for breakfast.

Hope this helps someone

James

Room Tip: Use the hotels parking, it is generally cheaper than long stay local parking stations. Rooms with H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    198
    45
    29
    11
See reviews for
320
155
22
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Georgia, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom harbor view suite on the 26th floor the end of March. The view was spectacular. All we wanted to do was sit and watch the view of the harbor, Sydney Opera House, Harbor Bridge and the cruise ships docking and leaving. The rooms were large, well furnished and very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We used the car service through the hotel and it couldn't have been better. We highly recommend this hotel. We have fabulous memories of our visit to Sydney!

Room Tip: Any harbor view would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a room that overlooked the habour. To be able to look out your window and see the Harbour Bridge was great.
The room was a great size the spa bath was superb.
Loved the bed it was huge and really comfy.
We ate breakfast in the resturant was a little expensive but was really tasty.
The staff were very friendly and knew alot about what we could do around the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKylie, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Cassie436l,

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Quay West in November 2012.

Thank you for your lovely comments about our team and comfy beds!

I am happy to confirm we have introduced a special discounted breakfast voucher on arrival for those who would like to try our wonderful breakfast buffet in Harringtons Restaurant!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future,

Warm regards,
Kylie Ashwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here and have wonderful memories sat at the huge window with my family gazing at the amazing scenery. The views ARE amazing and definitely better than I expected. I found the reception staff friendly and helpful, although I did think that there were a few things that prevent it being 5 stars. There was absolutely no information in our rooms about anything: breakfast times, costs, bar and restaurant info, general things you usually find in a hotel. I felt that the staff at breakfast were quite often unprepared; cutlery etc never laid out and often had to forage to find my own. They completely forgot to clean our room and we had to request it, which was annoying as we were all in the room. There were a couple of other minor gripes, but not worth a mention.

I would stay here again for sure, but for the full 5 stars (and the amount you pay!) I would expect more.

Room Tip: Request a high room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We moved from apartments in Kent street because they were so basic and the location was really grim and noisy(the meriton on Kent street). What a relief it was to find Quay West. The one bedroom deluxe apartment was furnished with very good quality furniture,was really large, well equipped and most of all had amazing views. We were told it was a city view apartment, but it actually had a view of darling harbour on one side and the bridge on the other! We also saved a fortune in taxis because the location is so central and right next to the Rocks. The only thing that may bother some people is the sound of the traffic if you are on lower floors, if overlooking d.harbour there is a busy dual carriageway below. this didn't bother us on a higher floor, but then we had previously had to put up with the sound of all night music and revving motorbikes on Kent street. My only gripe was no free WiFi and the cost of the apartment which set us back a small fortune in UK sterling, but having already seen what you get for your money in Sydney I would pay for these apartments every time.

Room Tip: If you can afford a one bedroom deluxe city view some on higher floors still have amazing views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Staying right now in 2 bed 1904.

Views are breath taking and everything is close by - location 2nd to none.

Got a great deal with breakfast but if had to pay full price would have to toss it up - grateful I got a special rate though.

Breakfast was very nice and had enough to satisfy even a fussy eater.

Pool area gd as well but spa a little on the cool side - should be at 37 - 38 but not near that - only slightly warmer than the pool.

Compkex kept tidy although it is a little dated but in saying that it is kept very clean which makes it look less dated than it is if you can understand what I mean.

All in all would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were met with valet parking and baggage handling, which was fantastic as we have 2 small children so we had our hands full. Check in was easy and our room was ready made for our stay. We went straight to the hotel pool which was great for the kids as there is a shallow part to the pool where they could stand, as well as a heated spa.
All of the staff were outstanding I have to say, very accommodating and friendly. We have stayed at this hotel twice now and would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Sydney.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the west side have beautiful views of the harbour bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKylie, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Nathan D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Quay West Suites. It is so lovely to hear your comments about our friendly and helpful staff. They take great pride in consistently offering high standard of personal customer service to our guests.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Kylie Ashwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Sydney

Address: 98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Family Hotel in Sydney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quay West Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay West Hotel Sydney
Quay West Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.