We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Sydney

Save Saved
You added Quay West Suites Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Orbitz.com
and 11 more sites!
Quay West Suites Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Georgia, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom harbor view suite on the 26th floor the end of March. The view was spectacular. All we wanted to do was sit and watch the view of the harbor, Sydney Opera House, Harbor Bridge and the cruise ships docking and leaving. The rooms were large, well furnished and very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We used the car service through the hotel and it couldn't have been better. We highly recommend this hotel. We have fabulous memories of our visit to Sydney!

Room Tip: Any harbor view would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    167
    34
    24
    10
See reviews for
263
126
21
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a room that overlooked the habour. To be able to look out your window and see the Harbour Bridge was great.
The room was a great size the spa bath was superb.
Loved the bed it was huge and really comfy.
We ate breakfast in the resturant was a little expensive but was really tasty.
The staff were very friendly and knew alot about what we could do around the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKylie, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Cassie436l,

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Quay West in November 2012.

Thank you for your lovely comments about our team and comfy beds!

I am happy to confirm we have introduced a special discounted breakfast voucher on arrival for those who would like to try our wonderful breakfast buffet in Harringtons Restaurant!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future,

Warm regards,
Kylie Ashwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here and have wonderful memories sat at the huge window with my family gazing at the amazing scenery. The views ARE amazing and definitely better than I expected. I found the reception staff friendly and helpful, although I did think that there were a few things that prevent it being 5 stars. There was absolutely no information in our rooms about anything: breakfast times, costs, bar and restaurant info, general things you usually find in a hotel. I felt that the staff at breakfast were quite often unprepared; cutlery etc never laid out and often had to forage to find my own. They completely forgot to clean our room and we had to request it, which was annoying as we were all in the room. There were a couple of other minor gripes, but not worth a mention.

I would stay here again for sure, but for the full 5 stars (and the amount you pay!) I would expect more.

Room Tip: Request a high room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We moved from apartments in Kent street because they were so basic and the location was really grim and noisy(the meriton on Kent street). What a relief it was to find Quay West. The one bedroom deluxe apartment was furnished with very good quality furniture,was really large, well equipped and most of all had amazing views. We were told it was a city view apartment, but it actually had a view of darling harbour on one side and the bridge on the other! We also saved a fortune in taxis because the location is so central and right next to the Rocks. The only thing that may bother some people is the sound of the traffic if you are on lower floors, if overlooking d.harbour there is a busy dual carriageway below. this didn't bother us on a higher floor, but then we had previously had to put up with the sound of all night music and revving motorbikes on Kent street. My only gripe was no free WiFi and the cost of the apartment which set us back a small fortune in UK sterling, but having already seen what you get for your money in Sydney I would pay for these apartments every time.

Room Tip: If you can afford a one bedroom deluxe city view some on higher floors still have amazing views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Staying right now in 2 bed 1904.

Views are breath taking and everything is close by - location 2nd to none.

Got a great deal with breakfast but if had to pay full price would have to toss it up - grateful I got a special rate though.

Breakfast was very nice and had enough to satisfy even a fussy eater.

Pool area gd as well but spa a little on the cool side - should be at 37 - 38 but not near that - only slightly warmer than the pool.

Compkex kept tidy although it is a little dated but in saying that it is kept very clean which makes it look less dated than it is if you can understand what I mean.

All in all would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were met with valet parking and baggage handling, which was fantastic as we have 2 small children so we had our hands full. Check in was easy and our room was ready made for our stay. We went straight to the hotel pool which was great for the kids as there is a shallow part to the pool where they could stand, as well as a heated spa.
All of the staff were outstanding I have to say, very accommodating and friendly. We have stayed at this hotel twice now and would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Sydney.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the west side have beautiful views of the harbour bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKylie, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Nathan D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Quay West Suites. It is so lovely to hear your comments about our friendly and helpful staff. They take great pride in consistently offering high standard of personal customer service to our guests.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Kylie Ashwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Victoria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here prior to leaving on a cruise ship hoping that we could see the ship in the harbour below ... we were just amazed at the stunning view from our harbour view apartment on floor 23. The 2 bedroom apartment was better than we expected. The staff were excellent. Pool and gym area were fantastic. Great view of the bridge, opera house & harbour. Quiet location but very close to Circular Quay restaurants & ferries. Go with the 'pay in advance' deal on the hotel website and save considerable $'s.Definitely will return.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor with harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKylie, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Katorcaz,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It is so lovely to hear your comments about our friendly staff and hotel facilities. We are incredibly lucky to have such an amazing pool with such a spectacular view!!

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Kylie Ashwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quay West Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Sydney

Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Sydney Hotel
Quay West Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay West Hotel Sydney
Quay West Sydney
Quay West Suites
Address: 98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Family Hotel in Sydney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Sydney 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quay West Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.