We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Sydney to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #16 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Renfrewshire, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights and everything about these suites were great. Location was amazing, the view from our room was jaw dropping and we all loved every minute of our stay here! Sydney is brilliant and there is so much to do. We took a trip to the zoo which is well worth a visit. We climbed the harbour bridge, we went to Bondi beach and also to Manly beach. We spent time at Darling Harbour and watched the fireworks which take place every Saturday night, it was great. My only moan would be the price of things in Sydney is so expensive but we had heard it was expensive so were prepared. Actually the night we ate in our room at the suites was probably as cheap as anywhere we had eaten and the good was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    207
    45
    30
    11
See reviews for
327
160
23
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed one night recently in a two bedroom harbour view apartment. We stayed for our anniversary and were greeted with a bottle of bubbly in the room on arrival which was a nice touch. The small cafe was full for breakfast but we were seated at the bar with coffee until a table was free. There was a good selection of foods for breakfast. All the staff during our stay were helpful and pleasant. It's a great location in a quieter street close to the Rocks and Circular Quay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

As excellent suite style hotel. Located centrally in the harbour area, with great access to the trains, ferries and attractions. Like everything in Sydney, it is expensive, internet is expensive, food is expensive, $32 for breakfast, $15 for a dessert with dinner.

I asked about a rental car, and the concierge "friend" at Avis was almost twice as expensive as I could get myself on the Avis website.

The pool is average, but does have great views over the harbour, both of the bridge and the opera house.

One last thing, when you call an elevator, bring a chair, they are the slowest elevators I have EVER come across.

Room Tip: My room was on the side facing the Darling harbor area and the secondary cruise ship terminal, it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a 2 night stay here in Jan, the apartment was lovely, very clean, great view-location. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. We ordered room service on the first night but unfortunately one of the childrens meal's (fish) was off and it could have ended badly had we not accidently taste tested it first! Staff were very apologetic and couldn't do enough to try and fix the mistake. Kids meals especially shouldn't get out of the kitchen without good quality control. Otherwise it was a nice experience.

Room Tip: harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in the Quay West Suites on our visit to Sydney. The location was great you could easily walk down the Opera House and Harbour Restaurants. The view from the suite was amazing especially at night when the Harbour Bridge and Opera House were all lit up. Apartment was nice and clean. Kitchen had all amenities and room service was handy too. The pool is lovely and the kids enjoyed spending an hour in the late afternoon after a long day sightseeing. Would definitely visit again, hoping to do New Years Eve one year!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Better described as serviced apartments than a hotel, Quay West is one of the best stays I've had for long-term business trips. I had the 1 BR, which comes with a washer and dryer, dishwasher, bath and separate shower, a king bed, and a large Livingroom with tv, business desk, and sofa. Iron and ironingboard was also in room, and plenty of storage space. Kitchenette adjoins LR.

The cleaning staff were absolutely fantastic (thank you Pratima). I have particular interests as a long-term 3 week guest... I dont like the sheets tucked under the mattress and I don't like the the footer blankets common to hotels... She was told this once and stuck to it throughout, on top of keeping the place spotless (including washing up dishes even!)

My only suggestion for management would be to purchase an accessible ice machine for guests (or even better to supply ice trays in the freezers in rooms). Having to go down to the main floor to the restaurant is a pain at the end of a long hot summer day in Sydney. Otherwise, and excellent stay and I will be back again when returning on business or with my family.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We recently stayed in room 805 with a spectacular balcony and great views of the harbour bridge and opera house. Room was very spacious and service was excellent. Would definately recommend to others. Got a great last minute deal for a mid week night. Took a stroll to have dinner at sibel pier 1 restaurant. Took advantage of Accor advantage plus discounts for both. Siebel meal was excellent with great water views. Would recommend asking for room 805 as it has the largest balcony we could see. Thanks quay west for a fantastic mini break. Service was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for 805 harbour view suite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Sydney

Address: 98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Family Hotel in Sydney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Quay West Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay West Hotel Sydney
Quay West Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.