We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Sydney

Save Saved
You added Quay West Suites Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quay West Suites Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Room with a view...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We recently stayed in room 805 with a spectacular balcony and great views of the harbour bridge and opera house. Room was very spacious and service was excellent. Would definately recommend to others. Got a great last minute deal for a mid week night. Took a stroll to have dinner at sibel pier 1 restaurant. Took advantage of Accor advantage plus discounts for both. Siebel meal was excellent with great water views. Would recommend asking for room 805 as it has the largest balcony we could see. Thanks quay west for a fantastic mini break. Service was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for 805 harbour view suite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    416
    175
    37
    27
    11
See reviews for
283
137
22
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent several days at the Quay West Suites with an incredible view of the Sydney harbor bridge and the Opera House. We couldn't stop taking pictures of the views as well as all of the harbor traffic! We had a two bedroom suite since we were traveling with another couple. The living room was large with comfortable furniture. There is a dining area off the living room and a compact but well equipped kitchen. Both bedrooms had separate bathrooms. The suite also has a washer and dryer that comes in handy for dirty laundry.
The service was inconsistent. The concierge was always on top when help was requested. The front desk was slow---we were having problems with the phone in our room and were promised that someone would be up shortly to help. No one came till the next day. Since there are no ice machines, we had to order through room service. On at least one occasion we waited about 1 hour. (And, we were charged $3 for the ice!) There is no complimentary wireless which makes usage pricey. In a hotel of this caliber (and price) it should be free.
We would definitely stay here again. It is just a 5 minute walk to the Circular Quay and the Rocks. Lots of good shopping and restaurants are minutes away.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the harbor and ask for a room on floor 20 or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

As a location to base oneself, Quay West Suites very well: close to the centre of The Rocks, five minutes walk from Circular Quay and 10 minutes walk from the Opera House. And, with a staff who show genuine interest in guest comfort, it sets itself apart as a quality place to stay. A suite on level 23 looking West to the Blue Mountains was excellent value: we watched a magnificent sun set and were captivated by the carpet of twinkling jewels as darkness fell. This being part of an upgrade offered via text on the day we were checking in. At $29.00 extra for the premium room and the complimentary bottle of wine it was an easy decision. Comfortable, spacious and well equipped, the suite had every thing to make the stay very relaxing.
We skipped breakfast in lieu of a lovely long sleep-in after a late night enjoying the venues in the immediate vicinity - all within a short walk or a low cab fare. A late check out handled with calm efficiency while a group booking were checking in only added to the impression of a hotel staffed by people who care about their guests.
All in all it offers the best value for money we've found in Sydney so far: great location, great service and great prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a family with multi-bedroom suites - the location is perfect and the views are astounding! The staff couldn't do enough for us - they stored an extra bag for us for 2 weeks while we toured - I loved the swimming pool and the food was excellent

Room Tip: ask for a suite overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Quay West suites, and it was every bit as good as the first stay. The hotel is beautiful, the suite was very roomy with lovely views of the Harbour. The service is really what makes this hotel though, from the booking to checkout, the staff are efficient and helpful, respectful and charming without the snootiness or arrogance that we have experienced at other city hotels. There is an air of confidence from staff but they are unobtrusive. Great, friendly place to stay and their prices are very competitive, we were very impressed with the value for money. I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough!

Room Tip: We upgraded to a harbour view room and had great views, but the room we stayed in last time had slig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great location Easy walk to Circular Quay. Spotless rooms with views to die for. We stayed in a 2 bedroom harbour view room. One of the larger suites I have stayed in. Valet parking at a reasonable price. Breakfast was simple but fresh and well presented. Would highly recommend this hotel to others. Would stay here again...

Room Tip: Go for a harbor view room. you won't be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quay West Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Sydney

Address: 98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Family Hotel in Sydney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Sydney 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quay West Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay West Hotel Sydney
Quay West Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.