We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Sydney

Save Saved
You added Quay West Suites Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quay West Suites Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #16 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing views and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I choose quay west for my birthday weekend away as I wanted to enjoy the spectacular views of the harbour.

I was not disappointed. The views from our 2 bedroom apartment were amazing!!! When I was told I was on the 13th floor I was a bit hesitant as I thought they wouldn't be good but I was sooo wrong, fantastic.

I noticed other comments from people who stayed on this floor in relation to traffic noise being an issue. I honestly did not hear any traffic notice my whole stay.

There were 4 of us girls away for the weekend and we requested the beds all be split do we had 1 each. There was still plenty of room in each bedroom after this was done, and each room also had beautiful views.

We enjoyed room service in the first night, meals arrived quickly and hot.

The pool was well maintained and was a great temperature for swimming. And the viewing deck was great, espessially for the unexpected firework show started.

Staff at quay west are so lovely, the receptionist on checkin and out was great, the bar staff were chatty and fun and the concierge that took my car to valet were brillant. When arriving at the hotel I noticed my car leaking coolant, before leaving the hotel I asked the concierge if I could go to my car and check it was ok. Without hesitation this lovely man asked me to pop my bonnet and he had a really thourough check of man car finding and telling me the cause of my problem (which was nothing major) as women travelling this service went above and beyond our expectations of a hotel.

Thank you quay west and all your staff for a great weekend. I will be back in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    187
    44
    29
    11
See reviews for
306
146
22
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed in harbour view suite on the 20th floor for 5 nights at the end of November. Both the lounge and bedroom had balconies and gave excellent views of the Harbour Bridge, Opera House and Circular Quay. The bedroom, lounge, kitchen and bathroom were spacious and fully equipped; staff were very professional, welcoming and helpful. The location is ideal for access to the Rocks, Circular Quay, ferry services and open top bus tour departure point; it is also an easy walk under the bridge to Darling Harbour. The pool and leisure facilities above the 23rd floor give spectacular views of Sydney. Overall an excellent place to stay especially if you want the option to "self cater" from time-to-time; would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer reduced traffic noise and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The upsides:
- the view from our two bedroom apartment was amazing, perfect views of the Harbour Bridge, the Opera House and Circular Quay
- the price for the room was good value and perfect for a family holiday
- the room itself was spacious with good facilities. It was handy to have the little kitchen when travelling with small children.
- the pool was also nice and with small children it was great to have an indoor pool and not worry about sunburn.

The downsides:
- The offerings at breakfast were a bit disappointing for the price, next time we probably would go elsewhere.
- In general the furnishings are looking a bit tired and in need of freshening up
- The service was a bit poor at times, particularly room service. Food took over 1/2 hour to arrive.
- In general the room service menu was disappointing. We sometimes like to have restaurant-style meals delivered after the children were in bed but the options were very limited.
- There was a reasonable amount of noise from surrounding rooms through the plumbing. It was enough to disturb sleep when someone in a neighbouring room had a shower and in the case of the room above, flushed the toilet.

Overall we did enjoy our stay and for the price would definitely stay there again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: The two bedroom apartments have a better view. From the website it seems the one bedroom apartments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Suites are huge and light and have absolutely everything you need. Fully stocked kitchen, washer/dryer, ironing board etc and very comfortable beds. A few minutes walk to Circular Key, and just off George Street. The area is quite hilly but there is a lift that takes you down. Same price as a hotel and so much more space and freedom and perfect location for everything.
If you are arriving into Sydney on one of the overnight flights that get in early just be aware they do not allow you to check in early so you need to book a room for the night before.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Gong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Quay West Suites Sydney. We were met by a very professional team, starting with the reception then by our valet parking and luggage attendant, all of whom were welcoming and helpful. Our unit (2 bedroom) was very clean, well laid out and equipped which was wonderful as there were 2 small children with us and being able to feed them there was wonderful. This hotel is in an excellent location with easy access to the Quay area, the ferry services, the rocks area and the city. The hotel is also very quiet, and has a lovely pool area. A great place to stay and get around from.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view of the harbour, can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Room ok but they hadn't cleaned the sofa bed (twisties between the cushions when we pulled the bed out) whatever you do go elsewhere for food the breakfast was absolutely disgusting, even $5 for a family would be a rip off

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great apartment with fantastic views of the opera house and harbour bridge, 5 minute walk to circular quay, friendly staff, NO RAT BAGS or young party people, good for those wanting a quality apartment with a quiet setting, will stay again, To all the workers you do a fantastic job!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Sydney

Address: 98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Family Hotel in Sydney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Sydney 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quay West Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay West Hotel Sydney
Quay West Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.