We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour

Save Saved
You added Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Macquarie Street | East Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 182 hotels in Sydney
North Sydney, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I cannot rave enough about my stay here. From the warm welcome at check in, to the wow that you get from the view in your suite, to the tasty food and great service in the Quadrant. I can't wait to be back in Sydney so I can experience this again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Harbour view. Definitly worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda P, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us whilst in Australia we relaise you have a choice when making a reservation and truly value that you chose this Hotel. Im happy to read that you were impressed by our amazing views and location and that you ejoyed your experience in Quadrant Restaurant please know i will share your feedback with the team.
Safe travels we look forward to wowing you in the future.
Sincerely,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    495
    111
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
172
318
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived after 21 hours of flying from Germany at the Quay Grand and recieved a warm welcome - with one drawback: "Oh we are sorry, your reservation has been cancelled". The hotel was totally booked and it seemed they gave us the last room they propably hold in reserve for people like us or other emergencies. (I booked the room myself via the Accor Site and recieved a confirmation) It was on the first floor with a street view. We were looking forward to the harbour view suite we have booked and since being totally exhausted we were absolutely frustrated. Since it was 11 p.m. room service was not even serving hamburgers or club sandwiches any more and we ended up with approximately 200 drunk teenagers at McDonald´s on Circular Quay. (The Quarterpounder was actually the best I´ve ever eaten!) Since we definitely wanted a good view, we went over to the Four Seasons, which we did not like. The rooms are rather on the small side and the place is old.

Finally we got a call from the reception that they will move us to harbour view the next day. They also gave us a complimentary breakfast for AUD 100 Dollars which was extremely delicious. The two young ladies who work there were also very, very nice and helpful.

Our room on the 10th floor on the next day was fantastic. It was light and clean, the view over the harbour was fantastic and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony and watch the people, the ferrys and the little cruise ships.

There are weddings going on all the time and everybody is smiling. Staff are absolutely friendly, especially the people we encountered at the front desk.

We have looked at all the five star hotels in Sydney and we think that the Grand Quay is the best value for money. As someone else has already stated, Sydney is really not the city for glitzy Peninsula or Ritz Carlton style accomodation. Maybe the Hyatt is the only one that can reach this level, but 800 USD for a 40 sqm room is just too much.

Beaware of the 7 Elevens and all the convenience stores! This is just robbery what they do there. Water is about 5 AUD, Marlboro Cigarettes go for 17,50 a box for example. Try to hit a Coles or a Woolworth grocery store and buy all the stuff you need. There is a big refrigerater and a fully equipped kitchen - and it´s so much fun cooking Spaghetti with Meatballs while looking out to the harbour bridge and the beautiful cruiseships.

Room Tip: Harbour View top floor is perfect. 1005 is a really nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Pullman Quay Grand is the best hotel we have stayed at in Sydney. Fantastic staff ... awesome room ... great location ... I don't have a bad thing to say about it.

From the Pullman we were able to walk through Circular Quay around to Campbells Cove. We also walked through the botanic gardens to the NSW Gallery for the Archibald Prize paintings. This hotel is in a prime position to see the best of Sydney .. the Opera House, the Harbour Bridge, Circular Quay, the Rocks and the botanic gardens - all within easy walking distance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my bridal party for my wedding at the Opera House. Service was outstanding, not request too hard. Everyone so glad to help when needed. Rooms beautiful. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. 6 stars!

Room Tip: Splurge on the Harbour view. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda P, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing to stay with us over such a monumental occasion. I sincerley appreciate the feedback on your stay and more specifically on our staff's guest service culture we continously strive to exceed our guest expectations and i know that your comments will serve as further motivation to excel in this area.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to celebrate your annivesary.
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We chose this hotel as we were going on a cruise to New Zealand the next day o Queen Mary 2and this hotel was as convenient as you can get. We had a veiw of the international terminal and was able to see the ship arrive at 6.30am.Even though we only spent the one nightit was very enjoyable ,the dinner and breakfast were excellent and would have no hesitation in staying here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwell Point, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Clean, very well appointed and friendly helpful staff. We choose park view apartments as they are cheaper and (I assume) quieter. The location is perfect too with easy access to transport, shops and entertainment

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent five nights in what has to be one of the most stunning suites in Sydney. Waking up to the fantastic sight of the Harbour bridge and the ferries pulling in and out of Circular Quay can't be beaten.

However don't be lulled into a false sense of security the glass is neither one-way nor tinted, so pull your blinds before getting dressed if you don't want to offer fellow tourists a sight they weren't expecting. (This applies to the lounging area by the swimming pool too, people can see in and will watch you in your swimmers quite happily!)

Service at this hotel is laid-back Australian with no one rushing even if you tell them you're in a hurry (particularly at breakfast where the waiting staff were lovely but one-paced)

The real problem with the venue which keeps it at v good rather than excellent for me are the appalling lifts (elevators) You can wait for five to ten minutes to get out of the building and the knack of using your room key to get the lift to your floor is never explained - it's a question of trial and error and a wasted journey in a packed lift when you can't get near the controls!

It's a problem the hotel is aware of, but does little about. One of the residents who owns one of the apartments within the hotel suite said the lifts were a disgrace and I should demand a 50% reduction on my bill (I didn't!)

That aside you can't be more central and the view is to die for. We did all the main Sydney Harbour sights in our trip and it was wonderful to 'get home' so quickly after stepping off the ferry.

The apartment itself was well apportioned and offered everything you could want including fully functioning kitchen and washing machine.

The kids asked if we could buy one of the suites (they'd have given it five stars) but the concierge said our two-bedroom suite retailed at $2 million, so we're staying put for now. . .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda P, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the duration of time spent waiting on our elevators. Unfortunately a delay in parts caused us to have one elevator out of order and some interruptions to our guests. I can assure you this is highly unusual for this property with monthly servicing of all mechanical equipment ensuring this. Know that I have also addressed your comments regarding breakfast with my Food & Beverage Manager.
I was happy to read that you truly enjoyed our location it’s hard to beat and I’m glad that your children also thoroughly enjoyed their stay.
I hope to welcome yourself and your family back to Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour in the future.
Sincerely
,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour

Also Known As:
Quay Grand Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay Grand Suites Sydney Hotel
Quay Grand Hotel Sydney
Quay Grand
Quay Grand Suites
Address: 61 Macquarie Street | East Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Tingo, Amex, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.