We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour to your Saves list
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Macquarie Street | East Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

i booked a 1 bedroom harbour view suite. it was our 1st night in sydney so the view of the bridge really made our stay (especially when you have been looking at pictures of the bridge in guide books weeks before your visit). the staff were pleasant. the pool area was decent. the food was spot on every time, with great service to boot. i can't fault this hotel one bed. great juob pullman!

Room Tip: choose a harbour view suite. its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    173
    40
    17
    5
See reviews for
254
479
33
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The views and location is incredible, no doubt about that. Quay Grand rooms and areas are clean. Very simple approach to accommodations which is why it is a 3 and not 5 stars. Having stayed at Quay Grand and Quay West, I would say Quay Grand is obviously a newer hotel and that extra sparkle but Quay West did have a better view, also depends on what kind of room you select. In our case, we had a 2 bedroom suite.

• If you want cheap and clean this is place for you. DO NOT READ FURTHER.

The entrance to the hotel is the apartment feel. They do a great job at picking up your bags but it lacks the zest of the Park Hyatt, Sheraton, Four Seasons or Shangri-La. That extra reminder that your on holiday.

The overall internet experience in Australia still baffles me. I don't quite understand how you can get away with charging for WIFI, but they do and it's not cheap. (This is a personal thing, all Sydney hotels operate in such manner, so please do not count this comment against the hotel.)

The restaurant is easy and convenient but not as good as other Sydney hotel restaurants. This is an average restaurant but they serve food if you're hungry. Another reason why the hotel is not a 5 is because of OVERALL hotel.

I also understand that the hotel is right next to the park and Opera House but I like a nice fitness area and when I mean nice, I mean Virgin Active. In order for this hotel to be in the top 10, there needs to be added amenities. This goes back to OVERALL hotel experience.

The problem with many of these reviews is the source of the reviewers. Many of them are hyper complaining, bargain finding travelers who are only looking for cheap and clean.

Room Tip: Obviously try to get harbor view or corner rooms for added view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda P, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour.

I appreciate the constructive feedback you have provided. We do have very high standards for both customer service and our overall guest experience and I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations.

I would like to take the time to assure you that the feedback you have provided particularly in relation to the internet, fitness area and Restaurant, is very important to us and will help us strive to continuously improve the value and quality of these services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. If I may be of any assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We honeymooned on Sydney Harbour in this Hotel and stayed 8 days It is by far the best place we have stayed in. Staff really look after you - Location is beautiful and has it all! Lovely watching fireworks on new year on our own balcony. Best of all was ourApartment -it was kitchenette yet fully equipped dining area flowing on into a lounge tv area - the bedroom separate room-hall- large bathroom and spa - tastefully furnished with timber flooring and carpet and we could see Harbour from kitchen, lounge, dining room and bedroom - no complaints and the pool we used daily because it was warmed and covered and on lower floor area overlooking harbour whereas some hotels put the pool way up near the roof. We were close to Botanic Gardens, Quay and Ferries for trips, Train station, Rocks, Harbour bridge for a walk accross
Restaurants, Cafes, a show at the Opera House it was all very memorable and we will not forget this trip! Bed was so comfortable and amenities top rate too.

Room Tip: Harbour view 1 bed apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda P, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so happy that you decided to stay with us for such as special occasion and enjoy all that is on offer from the location to our guest room suites with the views of the Harbour and bustling of Circular Quay. How fantastic that you were able to experience the fireworks from your balcony- such a special way to bring in the New Year in Sydney.

I will share your comments with our team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, we hope to welcome you back to the Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour in the not to distant future.

Sincerely
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We realy enjoyed our stay. Being so close to the city meant that we could pack in a lot of events and visits to museums, art galleries and shops. Also the restuarants close by were great. We did enjoy have meals at the hotel itself as the qauality and service was amazing. The Best part of the few days was waking up and being able to see the Harbour, especially with the cruise liners coming and going.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München, Deutschland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying at quay grand for years and are always looking forward to returning. The apartments are very spacious, with large windows and balconies. The fully equipped kitchen is ideal if you want to have a night in. The washing machine and dryer have been especially useful when you're staying for a longer period. The staff have always been very friendly and helpful, however sometimes it took a while till they managed to hail a cab for us. Often there is no cab in front of the hotel. The location is superb, very close to good restaurants, the rocks, opera house etc. we have often enjoyed the restaurant downstairs (east bank), where they serve nice pizza. I can fully recommend this hotel and look forward to returning next time. (Last time I particularly liked the roger gallet amenities!)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I am normally hard to please but I could not fault this hotel. I had a one-bedroom harbour view suite and although not cheap, it did not cost a lot more than other city centre hotels, which are pretty ordinary in Sydney. The room was large and very comfortable, and well-appointed. A balcony overlooking Sydney Habour is a great place to be! And to be so near the Botanical gardens is a great boon as well.
Staff were really good. They were pleasant, efficient and seemed genuinely interested in their customers. This is so unusual in a hotel.
I had room service dinners, and a small issue with one of them was swiftly solved with good humour and grace.
I will defienitly stay here again... and again.

Room Tip: The Harbour View rooms anre more expensive than the garden view rooms but it is worth paying the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda P, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback regarding our service. I am also pleased to hear that the issue encountered with your room service was dealt with promptly and with a smile, and did not impact on the remainder of your stay with us.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to see you back at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour soon.
Sincerely,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here back in September 2012 and it was amazing. It was for our anniversary and we got engaged here :) After looking for a hotel that offers amazing Sydney Harbour Bridge views and offer a balcony this is the only hotel we could find and I think that the price was worth it. Our stay was wonderful & the staff are very helpful and nice. There are many restaurants in walking distance.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda P, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Jess,

Congratulations on celebrating your wedding anniversary and thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour for such a special occasion. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I am really pleased to hear that as a return guest, your experience met your expectations and that you were able to take advantage of the optimum location of the Hotel, on the beautiful Sydney Harbour.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, we hope to welcome you back to the Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour in the not to distant future.

Sincerely,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#21 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
0.3 mi away
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#15 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour

Address: 61 Macquarie Street | East Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#3 Family Hotel in Sydney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-Star apartment hotel located at the edge of East Circular Quay boasting stunning Sydney Harbour views. This luxurious and boutique hotel features spacious 1 and 2 bedroom suites, Sydney's best Bar by far ECQ, a newly refurbished restaurant on the mezzanine level of the hotel Q Dining, 3 versatile function rooms and superb hotel reacreation facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay Grand Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay Grand Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.