We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour to your Saves list
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Macquarie Street | East Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #6 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
New South Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were to meet friends at the ECQ bar for lunch and as we are a fair distance from the city, I looked up accommodation on the net and found that there was accommodation above the ECQ bar. When our friends heard we were staying here, they suggested they join us in our room for lunch and said we would not be disappointed with the views.
Wow were they right! We did not move from the apartment during our stay except to have one drink at the bar and a brief swim in the great facilities. It was a fabulous location to meet friends as they caught the train in and were able to enjoy the afternoon and wonderful views with us and take the short train trip home.
We had a wonderful stay in a one bedroom apartment overlooking Circular Quay - you could almost call out and have a conversation with the passengers on the ferries going by.
The accommodation was just superb! Location was brilliant! Staff were efficient, friendly and professional. I joined up as an ECQ member prior to our stay and this also gave us some extra little perks!
The last time we ordered breakfast to our room was 29 years ago on our Honeymoon. I was so pleasantly surprised and would go so far as to say one of the best breakfasts we have had in a hotel. The spa in the bathroom was just luxurious! Everything was just the best of the best! Value for money was outstanding! Definantly the best of the best and we have had stayed in many hotels! We will be back - perhaps for a very special occassion I am already starting to think about planning for 2013

Room Tip: Book a Circular Quay view room - you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda P, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour. We sincerely want all of our guests to experience nothing short of an exceptional stay and I am delighted to read your feedback.
It has been said in past reviews that our location is fabulous and I couldn’t agree more with this but I’m glad that you took your friends advice and chose to book a harbour view suite allowing you the ability to sit back and just enjoy our bustling Sydney Harbour from your balcony and living room with room service to provide you with an intimate dining experiecne.
Thank you for the great comments on our service we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Happy Holidays,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    141
    32
    13
    5
See reviews for
211
400
26
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great location with everything on your door step - trains, ferries etc
The views are just breathtaking of the bridge
There is a constantly changing vista with cruise ships sitting along side the busy ferries and the tourist boats
Excellent facilities within the hotel and within easy reach of bars, shops and restaurants.
Minutes walk to The Rock and less than 10 the City Centre - all easy enough to negotiate
Ferry or walk to Darling Harbour where there is a plethora of restaurants and bars too.
Lovely staff throughout the hotel. They could not be more friendly and happy to assist
I would highly recommend this place
The apartments have everything you could need

Room Tip: Decadence go for the harbour views but for a little quieter go for the garden views. Either way you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda P, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Tracy,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us; it’s always a pleasure to receive such a positive review. I’m pleased to read that you were able to experience our ever changing scenery from your suite. I agree it’s a joy to watch the bustle of the ferries in the morning and the busy harbour then change into the cruise liners coming in and in what is our busiest season yet, but also to watch Luna Park light up at night behind our famous Harbour Bridge is truly a unique experience and one I’m glad to have been able to deliver you with.
Your right our location is amazing and makes navigating around easy with an abundance of choice train, ferry, bus or taxi are all at your doorstep.
We hope to see you back at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour soon.
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great hotel right on Circular Quay over looking the harbor and the Sydney bridge! Great for site seeing and people watching! Great balconies overlooking the water! Service was excellent! Located right on the Quay there are a multitude of restaurants and shopping areas. Within walking distance of almost everything!

Room Tip: One bedroom harbor view is great! It is two separate rooms and there is a pull out couch, so could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My fiancee and I recently stayed 2 nights at Pullman Grand Sydney Harbour (previously Quay Grand Suites Sydney) in a one bedroom harbour view room. We had an absolutely fantastic experience.

First, the location is the best in the city, right on Circular Quay. The harbour view is also great.

Second, the suites are huge! Far more space than you need, but appreciated. The balcony is also a great spot to enjoy a meal (room service breakfast was excellent). There's also laundry ensuite, which is really convenient.

The service is also great.

Nothing to complain about here and totally worth the money.

Room Tip: get a circular quay view - see pictures attached for unbelievable view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda P, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Congratulations on your engagement we are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour.
Your right our suites are one of the largest in the CBD and our Culinary team are delighted you took the opportunity to have breakfast in your room and out on the balcony. You are one of a few that have had such a unique experience sitting on your own private balcony watching the Harbour and Circular Quay come alive.
Thanks for your comments on our service we strive to continuously exceed your expectations.
Don’t forget we also do weddings but will happily welcome you back for just a stay also.
Safe Travels,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I've lived in Sydney and now come back for 3 days on business every year and this has become by far my favourite hotel. It's in a perfect location on circular quay, along from the opera house and backing onto the botanical gardens. The views from the room/balcony are stunning: over the ferries and the bridge. It's a v understated hotel with delightful staff and everything that one could need. I used to stay in the Hyatt on the other side of circular quay but this is a much nicer hotel and much better value. Get a harbour view rooom. You can't go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: Any on the harbour side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Quay Grand for my husband's 30th birthday weekend last weekend. We absolutely loved every part of our stay. We were gifted a complimentary bottle of champagne on arrival when they found out it was my husbands birthday.
The valet parking was convenient and I thought pretty reasonably priced ($45 a day) and the room was unreal. I love the fact that it was an apartment that was fully equipped. It just made us feel so at home. We had some people come to visit us at the apartment and the hotel staff buzzed them up for us and the apartment was big enough for us to hang out there easily.
When I first booked I thought it was a bit expensive but now think it was absolute value for money - especially because you can prepare food in your apartment with the kitchen so you can actually save on unnecessarily eating out for every meal.
Also, the view was amazing.
I would definitely recommend staying here if you are looking for something luxurious and self contained.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Harbour View room and I think it is worth the extra money. It is a 'working'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We've stayed at Quay Grand a few times now. While it's a bit on the pricey side compared to other hotels in Sydney, it is perfectly located on Sydney Harbour, overlooking the Harbour bridge, right on the doorstep of the Opera House, Botanical Gardens and a number of excellent restaurants. If it's your first time visiting Sydney - you won't be disappointed with the location. The hotel overlooks the Quay ferry terminal, where you can catch ferries to the Zoo and Manly Beach - and shuttle buses take you to the retail hub of the city.

All our previous visits have been in a Harbour view apartment - which provide great views of the city, harbour and harbour bridge - but as they also directly overlook the main ferry terminal, it can be quite noisy. Nevertheless, the busy harbour view can be very entertaining. This time we stayed in a 2 bed garden view apartment - which overlooks the botanical gardens - hoping for a more tranquil experience. The garden view was pleasant, but it wasn't much quieter than the other side. No big deal - you come to expect lots of noise in the city.

Staff were great on this occasion..in fact they were much improved, compared to our previous visits. So someone's doing a commendable job in this area. Bravo!

So why the 'but..." in the review title? You pay top dollar for this place - we were paying $509 per night for a 2 bed apartment. BUT where was the complimentary coffee???

The only complimentary coffee we could find was instant decaf. My consequent request for some instant 'normal' coffee was met by a 'sorry but we are unable to do that"!! You see, they have one of those espresso machines in the room, and they want you to pay $3 per pod for a cup of coffee. A variety of complimentary tea bags were provided...but no coffee - unless you like decaf of course. Well this is just plain rude nonsense!

The management need to take some lessons from their sister hotel up the road....Sofitel Wentworth, who provide complimentary nespresso machines plus free pods in their higher grade (but cheaper) rooms. I've stayed in plenty of other hotels - and have never encountered such miserable stinginess!

Unfortunately, it's often small things like this that leave a negative impression.

Our room was also tired and a bit grotty (e.g. marks on the lounge and children's sticky hand prints were visible on the uncleaned lounge windows). Our shower screen door was off it's hinge and difficult to open and close. The range hood over the stove didn't work - and this despite a sign next to it warning of a $750 fine in the event the fire alarm is triggered and a fire truck falsely called in. Rooms need to be inspected more carefully by staff before the next check in. We did advise reception of these problems prior to check out - so hopefully they will be fixed.

Our rating would be lower if this hotel was not so conveniently located. And we will probably be back for this reason...plus the great service provided by staff.

Provide some complimentary coffee and inspect your rooms more carefully to ensure they are ready for your next guests...and you get top marks!

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are busy and noisy but very entertaining; pick a garden view if you want somethin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour

Address: 61 Macquarie Street | East Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#3 Family Hotel in Sydney
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-Star apartment hotel located at the edge of East Circular Quay boasting stunning Sydney Harbour views. This luxurious and boutique hotel features spacious 1 and 2 bedroom suites, Sydney's best Bar by far ECQ, a newly refurbished restaurant on the mezzanine level of the hotel Q Dining, 3 versatile function rooms and superb hotel reacreation facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay Grand Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay Grand Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.