We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location for visitors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour

Save Saved
You added Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Macquarie Street | East Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic location for visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel has probably the best location among all the hotels I've stayed in Sydney. Right on Circular Quay, which means you just go down to the lower exit and out to the ferries and trains. Plus it is only a short walk to the Opera House and Botanical Gardens. If on vacation, buy a one or multi-day pass and just ride the ferries all day long for the best views of the city.

The rooms are also sizeable, being mini-suites with a kitchenette. Make sure you get a water view room for fantastic views of the Rocks and the Harbour Bridge. I thought it was well worth the extra money. Slight drawback is that on weekends it can be a bit noisy as you have large crowds passing on the quay.

The service was excellent, breakfast was fine and rooms were good. Only thing lacking I felt was the water pressure in the shower seemed a bit feeble. All in, excellent value for a suite in a great location.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    546
    118
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
190
343
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney,Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was fantastic value. For under $400 a night (midweek) for a one bedroom unit, with full kitchen, laundry, separate bedroom right on Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay with spectacular views of the city and Harbour Bridge, it has to be the best value around.

This is a good four star apartment (with a five star view). We really enjoyed watching the ferries, trains, and cars coming and going. Sitting on the balcony having nibbles and a glass of wine while the sun goes down is wonderful.

The unit was clean and serviced daily. The bathroom was lovely with a spa and separate shower.

The bed was comfortable and the aircon worked well.

The only downside was the room service food. We had had a large lunch so decided to order room service. I called to ask what size the pizza was and was told it was a dinner plate size. So I ordered one pizza and a ravioli dish. When the pizza arrived it was about six inches round in the smallest round circle of the dinner plate. It looked awful but tasted ok, but if we were hungry we would have been very annoyed because it was barely a mouthful. The ravioli was barely warm and there wasn't much of it either. For $19 for the pizza and $20 for the ravioli, it was definitely not good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked in on a Wed and left on the next Friday and I felt like I had experienced a complete holiday retreat! Everything about our stay exceeded our expectations. The location is simply stunning - you could not get a more hedonistic experience of Sydney than to be located right on the water, watching the ferries meander around the harbour; walking to the Opeara house and experience the myriad of eateries around your doorstep. Waking up each morning to a spectacular view of the shimmering harbour; then sitting on our balcony at dusk and watching the sun set. The suit itself was just perfect. And we found the service to be just perfect as well. At one stage, we wanted a sports massage, but did not want to avail ourselves of the slightly overpriced hotel offering. Reception had no qualms about recommending a place in the city called UNWIND - I could not more highly recommend that place too!! We will always come back to Quay Grand - thank you..

Room Tip: Get a harbour view room - it's worth the extra bit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The suite was lovely, clean, spacious, and it came with a great view. The television in the bedroom was outdated and it didn't offer pay-per-view channels unlike the television in the living area.
The service was friendly but it wasn't consistent. One night, our microwave broke down. We called down to have it fixed and there was only one person working the front desk so he asked if he could send someone to fix it the next day. I agreed but when we came home from our activities the next day, it hadn't been fixed. On another occasion, our room was not cleaned properly. In fact, our toiled hadn't been cleaned which is unacceptable. This is the first thing that SHOULD be cleaned.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda P, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues had during your stay. I can assure you that your experience is an anomaly and i have addressed this with my Executive Housekeeper and Operations Manager to ensure that no other guest has this same issue.
At Quay Grand we pride ourselves in the level of service we provide to our guests and i am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations in this area.
I would like to speak with you directly and ask that you please contact me via telephone or email to discuss your stay further.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Location location location.

One of the best selling points of this hotel is it's location and the view you can enjoy. Quay Grand Suites located on one side of Circular Quay, and if you book a harbour view room, you are in for a great experience.

Very much an apartment hotel experience, with reasonable kitchen, good size lounge sitting area, well spaced bathroom and a separate bedroom with king size bed. The room them has a balcony which is great to sit down and enjoy a glass of wine whilst the sun is setting.

Staff are helpful and efficient, and the hotel is a short walk to the harbour ferries, opera house, train, restaurants and bars surrounding Circular Quay.

Didn't take much notice of the noise outside, notwithstanding the harbour ferries running outside.

Great hotel to stay at in spring and summer.

Will be back.

Room Tip: Best to book a Harbour side room, rather than Garden View Room. Higher floor rooms will provide eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in a 2 bedroom suite with harbour view; simply fantastic! The suites have everything you could possibly need, they are beautifully furnished, very spacious, well laid out and the location is superb, it's worth sleeping with your curtains open so you wake up to an unforgettable view of the harbour and the bridge.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda P, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Quay Grand Suites Sydney we are pleased that you enjoyed the layout of our 2 bedroom suites and the additional amenities not found in a typical hotel room. You secured what is one of the best views in Sydney with amazing views and we are happy to hear you made the most of them by going to sleep under the Harbour lights and waking up to the beauty of the Harbour bridge and Sydney Harbour with all its history and bustling morning activity.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in sydney for 5 days, in a harbour view one bedroom suite in grand quay suites. fantastic location, Spacious room, great view..
Amenities were the weakest in the experience, compensated generously great facilities of the hotel

Room Tip: Great value for families, fantastic location & view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour

Address: 61 Macquarie Street | East Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#3 Family Hotel in Sydney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Amex, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay Grand Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay Grand Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.