We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel on Pitt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Metro Hotel on Pitt to your Saves list
Metro Hotel on Pitt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pentura on Pitt)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE WIFI
Ranked #105 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Goulburn
1 review
“Location and Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at the Metro Hotel for 2 nights this week. The location was hard to beat. Cleanings was great but what I found to be their best asset was their staff. From the reception staff to the cleaning staff. They were all so warm, friendly, helpful and well presented. Would happily recommend and would love to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Sharon W

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding our staff and their customer service and the cleanliness of the rooms at our hotel. It's true the hotel is located close to all major attractions in the CBD, which is wonderful. I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    233
    152
    54
    21
See reviews for
57
193
67
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel looked good on line, but was just average. Staff pleasant, room nothing special, the whole place looked worn and tired needs refurb, overlooked some ducting at back of hotel, but what really disapointed me was the breakfast, very basic buffet and blue plastic cereal bowls, this I would expect in a backpacker's, I would not eat out of plastc bowls at home do not expect to in a city hotel anywhere in the world, for the price I will not be returning to this hotel anytime soon.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Halina M
Thank you for your kind comments regarding hotels customer service, the hotel is located in the centre of the city and is reasonably priced, I suspect that you stayed in a Standard room, which is one of the cheaper options, unfortunately it is peak season at the moment and Sydney is one of the most expensive cities in the world and this would be impacting the hotels rates at this time.
Management has spoken to the restaurant manager and he has since advised that the bowls were available as there was a student group in-house and these have now been removed. I wish you the very best in your travels. Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski - Property Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here with my partner for 3 nights on a visit to Sydney. Good location, clean, fast check in an check out.
Reception staff were very helpful with helping me find my bearings for a conference I had to attend on one of the days.
Located on Pitt Street (unfortunately at the unsightly end) - the rooms overlooking Pitt street had an unpleasant view into apartment buildings opposite. It is not exactly luxurious/romantic getaway etc.
In general we were satisfied with the stay; good value for money, central cbd location, close to train stations, shopping, capitol theatre etc. Will be staying here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear SG110588

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the hotel, we are located opposite Townhall Station, it's a nice quite area, away from the main street, most people stay here because of our location, you might have stayed at the Metro Hotel Sydney Central, which is two blocks from us. Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski - Property Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I think a hundred dollar deposit for the kind of room I stayed in is a bit of a bloody stretch. I'm a full time student with not a lot of money to spare but I had to hand over a hundred dollars upon arrival which has significantly impacted on the budget I had set for my trip, and apparently the money won't go back into my account for some time. I booked and paid months in advance and there was no warning of this fee. the staff were smug about it. the room is clean but an absolute disappointment for $155, I have stayed in a lot better for a lot less. the sound of the neighbouring room's TV through the wall well past midnight also had a negative impact on my stay and on the quality of my entire trip which I had looked forward to for months. I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Erinktaylor

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the hotel, the deposit is for incidental expenses, this is a normal procedure, due to mini bar, phone charges etc. in most hotels, when you are paying cash or EFTPOS. The money is not held by the hotel it is held by your bank and the release is determined by them, it’s usually 2 to 5 working days. Management does not agree with many of your comments, but we wish you well in your travels. Regards Lisa Kapinski - Property Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with a friend in a twin room on the 7th (top) floor.

Good: clean sheets, very comfortable mattresses, good hot and strong shower. Staff are friendly and professional. Very convenient location and is easy walking distance to 2 train stations , Hyde park, QVB, and the Main Street (George)

Bad; had to move bed and found an anklet from a previous customer under it so am assuming not vacuumed thoroughly recently. Windows are locked and unable to be opened. Bathroom looking dated and tired, could do with a refurb.

Overall I happily recommend this hotel as a clean comfortable place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Bendlong

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding you stay at the Metro Hotel on Pitt, my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you had during your stay, your comments have been passed onto the housekeeping department in particular. Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski - Property Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located in the city centre, near to all the main attractions. Unfortunately there are some noises of the neighborough in the rooms. the rooms are well equipped. the hotel is clean and the reception personnel very helpful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear LaraBio

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us, our friendly staff are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Lisa Kapinski - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hainesville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I do agree with one reviewers (Rebecca N) that the walls are a bit thin, but they're not so bad and this is a very old hotel. The price is right. The rooms are clean. Service is fantastic. And the best part is that this hotel is in the middle of everything. Even a short walk to the Sydney Opera House. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The breakfast buffet is reasonably priced, but go for ala carte items. They're better and will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear jonnyGURU

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the hotel, we are located in a fantastic area a short walk from all attractions, perfect for any tourists wishing to see the best of Sydney.
Kind Regards - Lisa Kapinski - Property Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metro Hotel on Pitt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel on Pitt

Address: 300 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pentura on Pitt)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Hotel on Pitt 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique accommodation superbly located for both the leisure and corporate traveller seeking affordable and convenient hotel accommodation in Sydney's CBD. Metro Hotel on Pitt is within easy walking distance to major tourism landmarks such as Centrepoint Tower, Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour, China town, Oxford Street and Hyde Park. Complimentary WIFI, security room card access, laundry and dry cleaning service are a few of the hotel services in this 115 guest room hotel. This is a smoke free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Metro Hotel on Pitt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Sydney
Metro Pitt
Metro Hotel Pitt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel on Pitt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.