We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5 Star Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Sydney to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #3 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A 5 Star Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A 5 star hotel! My stay here was just perfect. The staff here is all top notch.

We arrived early in the morning and the staff was able to store our luggage away as our room wasn't ready yet. We sent sight seeing and came back to the hotel to find that our room was available before the check in time. We were informed that our luggage was also in the room already.

The city view room we had was amazing. The balcony lead out to the view. It was part city and part harbor, with the Sydney Opera House in plain view. What a glorious site. Yet the room was also a stunner. The washroom had two sinks for his and her. There's a rain shower and a large bathtub. The toilet was in a separate are of the room. Inside was a Japanese toilet. What a surprise. The king size bed was nice an comfy. A nice touch from the staff was the Kakawa chocolate bar. Yum.

Another nice touch was from the manager, who sent us a bottle of champagne to our room for celebrating our anniversary. Classy, very classy.

The hotel pool is on the roof and you have a beautiful view of the Sydney. We both enjoyed a short leisurely swim after a long day soaking in the beautiful view.

I love this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear of your positive experience at Park Hyatt Sydney and you found the hotel service and facilities to your satisfaction. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire team.

We always strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    158
    44
    24
    15
See reviews for
192
548
57
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just spent two lovely nights here celebrating our wedding anniversary. Fast check-in and then shown up to our room to open the doors and step out onto the Juliet balcony with views across Circular Quay – unfortunately the first day we had to spend looking into the stern of a large cruise ship (not the hotel’s fault but it did detract from the overall view). The rooms are elegant and very comfortable with a spacious bathroom and separate wet area. We managed to use the rooftop pool facilities for a short time on both days and it felt very decadent sitting in the spa checking out life passing by below, and overhead watching the groups walking along to begin their Bridge climbs. Note to hotel – please put some hooks in the changing areas upon which to hang towels, etc. whilst using the showers.

We returned to our room on the Thursday night to discover an unexpected bottle of French champagne with the compliments of the hotel which was wonderful. We had dinner on our first night in the Dining Room, which was very good with friendly and competent service; we selected the tasting menu with matching wines and the head chef made two excellent substitutions for me as I do not eat meat. A lovely anniversary meal. :-)

We did, however, experience delays with our requests to guest services - it took some time for a requested champagne ice bucket and two glasses to be delivered on the Friday night and on Saturday morning, we realised that the milk in the fridge hadn’t been replaced – despite being assured upon our phone call at 8.30 am this would be brought up straightaway, the milk still hadn’t appeared when we left for breakfast at 9.30 am. The breakfast options in the restaurant were very good and excellent coffee.

A very good stay for a special occasion.

Tip: When ordering a water taxi, be aware that this doesn’t pick you up from the jetty outside the hotel; we were not made aware of this resulting in a little dash to the jetty a little further away before the driver left.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel when booking as to which view your room will have – some (ours - 117) only have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear of your positive experience at Park Hyatt Sydney, and will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

We are grateful that you shared your comments regarding the delay experienced with the delivery of an ice bucket and glasses, and the milk to be replaced which did not occur. I would like to express my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Thank you for comments relating to hooks in the changing areas, we have taken your comments on board and will consider your suggestion.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Excellent location, walking distance to transport and restaurants. This is our second stay at this hotel and it was just as fabulous second time around. We had a lovely view from our balcony over Sydney harbour. Even though the ferry terminal and nearby boardwalk was at times quite noisy the double glased windows/sliding doors blocked out all the noise when closed. Our room was spacious, clean and well appointed. When assistance was required, this was met with immediate and prompt service.
Concierge staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. We found the conceirge staff to be knowledgeable about the Sydney area and provided helpful hints and tips to assist us in our daily travel plans.
Room service was prompt and food delicious. This hotel will definately be top our list when we return to Sydney.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to learn that you and found the hotel service and facilities to your satisfaction.

It is always very rewarding to be recognised and appreciated for our service excellence and professionalism that we strive to maintain. Your kind words will certainly be shared with all the team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This was a surprise for my husband. What I didn't realise is that I would also get a surprise by being upgraded to a Cove Suite, OMG it was stunning, very large and magnificent views.

We enjoyed watching the dozen or more brides being photographed with the Sydney Opera House as their background while drinking french champagne on one of our 3 verandahs. We had friends join us for predinner drinks and watched the city turn from day to night before going to dinner at The Dining Room. Terrific restaurant in the hotel, wonderful food and service.

After a great nights sleep breakfast was good and we had a late checkout.

The finish and feel of opulence is what makes this make you feel special.

It is very expensive but you can see why it is and for a special occasion why not. We would definitely come back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear of your positive experience at Park Hyatt Sydney and you enjoyed being upgraded to the Cove Suite. I will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The moment we arrived, we felt really welcome in this hotel... Since we were arriving very early and the hotel was completely booked, the reception desk showed us the gym and pool area to freshen up a bit.. The room was ready after a hour or so...

The rooms are very nice and clean, make sure you have a room facing the opera or harbour. I can't complain about anything, service was good, rooms were good, restaurant was REALLY good (try the tasting menu, worth the money)!

The only downside is the really high room rates... But you REALLY get what you pay for..

Would stay definitely again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to learn of your positive experience at Park Hyatt Sydney, and will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team.

It is our aim to strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and we really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Park Hyatt Sydney has it all! Great location and views, Impeccable well appointed rooms, and a fantastic staff. I stayed in room 210, with it's two "juliet style" balconies and direct views of the Opera House and the Harbor Bridge you can't ask for a better Sydney experience. Room service is prompt and delicious, (get the cheeseburger-yum!). The fitness center is cozy, but very clean & well equipped. Head upstairs to the outdoor pool and deck - my favorite spot. Enjoyed a great massage at the spa with Maria. My hats off to the entire five star staff who made my two stays in two weeks unforgettable. Special kudos to Simon Z. rooms mgr., Christian-concierge (take his advice and dine at Cafe Sopra/Fratelli Fresh), Sarah-front desk and my pal Dylan the bellman. Thank you all for your friendship and attention to detail. Till we meet again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear of your positive experience at Park Hyatt Sydney, from Room Service, to the Concierge and Bell Desk staff. I will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team, particularly those you have named.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Breath taking location. Second visit for two of us. This hotel is simply Five Star at all levels. We stayed here four years ago and needed some TLC. After one year of refurbishments this hotel is simply five star at world class level. We utilised all services of the hotel during our three day stay. Pool and service simply great, pool on the top of the hotel open air and views of the Harbour Bridge and Opera House, Harbour, Sydney skyline....simply to die for. Restaurants and cafes of very high standard with great food and beverage, with very helpful and pleasant staff. Our experience a check in right from the concierge and check in very helpful especially when our room was not ready and had to wait a short while in the lounge area. Hotel is very centrally located and a very short walk to the Rocks area, ferry terminal to all the sights of Sydney and shopping is only a short walk into town or a short taxi ride. Overall felt very happy on our departure from the hotel and will definitely recommend this gorgeous hotel to all our family and friends. If in doubt where to stay in Sydney, stay at The Park Hyatt Sydney and you will definitely not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms have a fantastic view of the harbour, city and you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to learn that you and found the hotel service and facilities to your satisfaction.

It is always very rewarding to be recognised and appreciated for our service excellence and professionalism that we strive to maintain. Your kind words will certainly be shared with all the team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Park Hyatt Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#1 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerging from a dramatic transformation, the newly redesigned Park Hyatt Sydney offers an intimate, residential-style hotel with architecture, design and art reflecting the Australian landscape.With a coveted harbourfront location between the famous Opera House and Harbour Bridge, spacious rooms feature contemporary interiors, modern bathrooms with dual vanity, wet area, rainshower and deep bathtub, and floor to ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies. A dedicated team of butlers provide personalised service for all guest rooms & suites. The hotel’s restaurants and bar, private dining rooms, day spa and recreational facilities have also been enhanced to reinforce Park Hyatt Sydney’s position as one of Australia’s premier hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.