We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Awaken at the Park
Ranked #4 of 183 hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here the night of our wedding, it was just after it was refurbished and had reopened, and I can only say WOW!!! The view was incredible looking out onto Circular Quay. The bed was one of the most amazing ones I have ever slept in. The bathroom was incredible, facilities within the room were great, and the staff were exceptional.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    658
    127
    38
    22
    11
See reviews for
124
430
49
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just finished a stay at the Park Hyatt so wanted to write everything while it was fresh. We stayed three nights in a Opera Deluxe King room. The room had two balconies with views of the Opera house in the middle, the cruise ships docking to the right, and the Sydney Bridge to the left.

We had room 011. Though there was a view of the Opera House, it was partially blocked by a big tree. I think if you're on the 3rd or 4th floor on that side, you would have unobstructed views of the Opera house. We were staying three nights for free from credit card sign up and points, so I didn't ask if there was a higher room available. I was just happy to get the deluxe room.

There is also a lot of people walking around and hanging out right outside of your balcony. Understandable cause it's a scenic spot. I enjoyed people watching, but I can see some may not like it cause of privacy issues.

Room Pro:

The room was spacious. King sized bed which we slept so well in every night, couch, big round table, big closets, huge bathroom, shower with strong water pressure, a separate toilet room with a bide. The TV was nice and had a good selection of channels. The AC was nice and cool. The huge windows have a sheer curtain and a blind. It did a great job of blocking out the sunlight overnight.

Room Con:

There is a small window to the bathroom from the hallway. Found it a bit of a strange design. Basically if you're coming out of the toilet room there is a window there where you could look into the bathroom and part of the bathtub. There's no way to cover it up. So just make sure you're traveling with people you're comfortable with. We were fine with it.

Overall:

I found the service around the hotel very nice. We didn't dine at all in the hotel but it looked nice. The gym was nice. Not large but big enough. Was never more than one person in there when I went. The rooftop pool is small, but has a great view.

The location is wonderful. 10-15 min walk to Circular Quay with trains and buses that'll take you everywhere. Of course the Opera house is not far away. We were there for three nights and we saw three different cruise ships docked in the water.

We're at another hotel now closer to the Central area. Though the location is close to lots of restaurants, we do miss the service, view, and room of the Hyatt.

A great place and we hope to stay there in the future again.

Room Tip: We were on the ground level. Choose a higher floor for better views and more privacy especially you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I visited Sydney for the birth of my nephew and decided to have three nights is this great landmark hotel, I have stayed many times especially before the renovations and have always been impressed but this trip changed my mind. The staff and service was not as I was expecting, mind you still did enough but not to the usual exceptional standard that I was used to.

I did have a disagreement about the wifi being included and because the discussion was dragging on I agreed to pay the $30 for the usage so I would have time to see my new nephew and catch my flight.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A wonderful experience to stay here. The staff were extremely helpful and would do anything for you. The hotel is situated in the best spot to see the Opera House and the bridge as it is right next to it, however you do not hear any of the noise that you would expect from the bridge being so close. The only down side is that it is very pricey but well worth it. Things have changed since the re-fit with a little penny pinching at times, such as tea and coffee at breakfast, if you order a second cup they charge you for it, where as before they just gave it to you. Overall we had a lovely stay and would recommend the hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: If you want an Opera house view you have to ask and pay extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NJ
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
391 helpful votes 391 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

It’s all about the location and the view with the Park Hyatt Sydney. Hands down it’s in the best spot of any hotel in Sydney. Located in The Rocks and directly on the water, you have unobstructed views of the Opera House, the Sydney skyline, bridge and harbor. It’s less than a five minute walk to any location within The Rocks and ten minutes to downtown Sydney or Circular Quay which is the harbor hub for ferries as well as the train station.

The hotel itself is relatively small in relation to the larger downtown hotels such as the Four Seasons, InterContinental or Marriott. The smaller size and the recent total refurbishment the hotel has undergone give it a more boutique hotel feel. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. There is a small gym with a nice locker room with a shower and steam room which comes in handy if you arrive early (like we did), and your room isn’t ready yet or if you check out late and need a place to freshen up before your flight. All of the staff members we encountered were very friendly and helpful and made it a point to try to address you by name on any encounters you have with them throughout your stay.

We didn’t have an opportunity to dine in either restaurant (we were always on the go), but they both seemed to have a lot of activity going on so I’d I assume they met the same high standards as the rest of the hotel.

There were a couple of minor disappointments however. Having recently stayed at both the Park Hyatt Paris and the Park Hyatt Saigon, both hotels offered Hyatt Platinum members a free continental breakfast. The Park Hyatt Sydney does not.

I also encountered a problem using the in-room telephone. Their information sheet clearly states that local calls are billed at a flat rate of $1.50 per call. I needed to contact Virgin Australia Airlines due to delays surrounding a cyclone that was in the area during our stay. I was informed that this was a local call and the phone dialed out using the local access number. However when I checked out, I was presented with a $75 phone charge and told that this in fact was not a local call (which only encompasses the immediate area around the hotel). While I realize hotels use phone calls and internet access as a way of increasing revenue, $75 for what was in fact a local call…really? On top of that all Hyatt properties I’ve stayed at (Park Hyatt, Grand Hyatt, etc.), have always offered both free internet as well as free phone calls to Platinum and Diamond members.

Then it was like “let’s make a deal” when speaking to the front desk associate to try to have the charge taken off my account. At first she offered to reduce the charge to $50, then half and finally to $20. Since I was in a rush to catch a flight, I didn’t have time to get a supervisor or the GM involved although I plan to still follow up with them about this. I know she was only doing her job but this was something that simply should have been waived since there was zero cost to the hotel for this service.

Overall however, our stay at the Park Hyatt Sydney was very nice. Worth the $1200 per night price tag? No, not by a long shot as many others have said as well. Hotels in this price range have to offer much more than just a nice location or a view of a city harbor. Maybe an overwater room in Bora Bora or in the Maldives or a resort such as Qualia on Hamilton Island (see my review). These are hotels that should command a $1,000 per night or more price tag. Luckily I was able to use some of my Gold Passport points to pay for my three night stay otherwise I would have definitely stayed elsewhere for a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: Just about every room has a great view although there are a handful located in the back corner of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Its a big statement to say Park Hyatt Sydney might be the best city hotel int he world, but even measured against Peninsula Hong Kong or some of the other finer city hotels...its really hard to beat PHS. The views, location, food and beverage are all world class. But its really the staff that takes it over the top. We had a 13 night stay over New Year's Eve and everything from pre-arrival support to the concierges, reception staff, house cleaners, pool staff, bell staff - everyone universally went out of their way to host us graciously, including dealing with a few special circumstances that were a bit above and beyond the norm. A particular shout out to the GM and the concierges staff, who helped us to make our stay as seamless as possible. If you are considering any other hotel in Sydney, please realize you're missing perhaps the best attraction in Sydney by staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I am from states. it's my second time visiting in Australia. I am a Hyatt Diamond member. I love to stay Hyatt property all of the world. i have been Hyatt property more than 10 different country. I absolutely thumb up Park hyatt Sydney. The best thing is view. we can see opera house on the bed. we drank wine at room patio with opera house view. i feel like best man in the world. We had breakfast in dining room in lobby floor. it was really verity food and very fresh. I know rate is pretty high i am sure it will worthy especially romantic time. I have attached pic from our room. it is just A.R.T.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerging from a dramatic transformation, the newly redesigned Park Hyatt Sydney offers an intimate, residential-style hotel with architecture, design and art reflecting the Australian landscape.With a coveted harbourfront location between the famous Opera House and Harbour Bridge, spacious rooms feature contemporary interiors, modern bathrooms with dual vanity, wet area, rainshower and deep bathtub, and floor to ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies. A dedicated team of butlers provide personalised service for all guest rooms & suites. The hotel’s restaurants and bar, private dining rooms, day spa and recreational facilities have also been enhanced to reinforce Park Hyatt Sydney’s position as one of Australia’s premier hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.