We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Sydney to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Awaken at the Park
Ranked #3 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A wonderful experience to stay here. The staff were extremely helpful and would do anything for you. The hotel is situated in the best spot to see the Opera House and the bridge as it is right next to it, however you do not hear any of the noise that you would expect from the bridge being so close. The only down side is that it is very pricey but well worth it. Things have changed since the re-fit with a little penny pinching at times, such as tea and coffee at breakfast, if you order a second cup they charge you for it, where as before they just gave it to you. Overall we had a lovely stay and would recommend the hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: If you want an Opera house view you have to ask and pay extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    138
    41
    23
    12
See reviews for
159
490
53
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, NJ
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
443 helpful votes 443 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

It’s all about the location and the view with the Park Hyatt Sydney. Hands down it’s in the best spot of any hotel in Sydney. Located in The Rocks and directly on the water, you have unobstructed views of the Opera House, the Sydney skyline, bridge and harbor. It’s less than a five minute walk to any location within The Rocks and ten minutes to downtown Sydney or Circular Quay which is the harbor hub for ferries as well as the train station.

The hotel itself is relatively small in relation to the larger downtown hotels such as the Four Seasons, InterContinental or Marriott. The smaller size and the recent total refurbishment the hotel has undergone give it a more boutique hotel feel. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. There is a small gym with a nice locker room with a shower and steam room which comes in handy if you arrive early (like we did), and your room isn’t ready yet or if you check out late and need a place to freshen up before your flight. All of the staff members we encountered were very friendly and helpful and made it a point to try to address you by name on any encounters you have with them throughout your stay.

We didn’t have an opportunity to dine in either restaurant (we were always on the go), but they both seemed to have a lot of activity going on so I’d I assume they met the same high standards as the rest of the hotel.

There were a couple of minor disappointments however. Having recently stayed at both the Park Hyatt Paris and the Park Hyatt Saigon, both hotels offered Hyatt Platinum members a free continental breakfast. The Park Hyatt Sydney does not.

I also encountered a problem using the in-room telephone. Their information sheet clearly states that local calls are billed at a flat rate of $1.50 per call. I needed to contact Virgin Australia Airlines due to delays surrounding a cyclone that was in the area during our stay. I was informed that this was a local call and the phone dialed out using the local access number. However when I checked out, I was presented with a $75 phone charge and told that this in fact was not a local call (which only encompasses the immediate area around the hotel). While I realize hotels use phone calls and internet access as a way of increasing revenue, $75 for what was in fact a local call…really? On top of that all Hyatt properties I’ve stayed at (Park Hyatt, Grand Hyatt, etc.), have always offered both free internet as well as free phone calls to Platinum and Diamond members.

Then it was like “let’s make a deal” when speaking to the front desk associate to try to have the charge taken off my account. At first she offered to reduce the charge to $50, then half and finally to $20. Since I was in a rush to catch a flight, I didn’t have time to get a supervisor or the GM involved although I plan to still follow up with them about this. I know she was only doing her job but this was something that simply should have been waived since there was zero cost to the hotel for this service.

Overall however, our stay at the Park Hyatt Sydney was very nice. Worth the $1200 per night price tag? No, not by a long shot as many others have said as well. Hotels in this price range have to offer much more than just a nice location or a view of a city harbor. Maybe an overwater room in Bora Bora or in the Maldives or a resort such as Qualia on Hamilton Island (see my review). These are hotels that should command a $1,000 per night or more price tag. Luckily I was able to use some of my Gold Passport points to pay for my three night stay otherwise I would have definitely stayed elsewhere for a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: Just about every room has a great view although there are a handful located in the back corner of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Its a big statement to say Park Hyatt Sydney might be the best city hotel int he world, but even measured against Peninsula Hong Kong or some of the other finer city hotels...its really hard to beat PHS. The views, location, food and beverage are all world class. But its really the staff that takes it over the top. We had a 13 night stay over New Year's Eve and everything from pre-arrival support to the concierges, reception staff, house cleaners, pool staff, bell staff - everyone universally went out of their way to host us graciously, including dealing with a few special circumstances that were a bit above and beyond the norm. A particular shout out to the GM and the concierges staff, who helped us to make our stay as seamless as possible. If you are considering any other hotel in Sydney, please realize you're missing perhaps the best attraction in Sydney by staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I am from states. it's my second time visiting in Australia. I am a Hyatt Diamond member. I love to stay Hyatt property all of the world. i have been Hyatt property more than 10 different country. I absolutely thumb up Park hyatt Sydney. The best thing is view. we can see opera house on the bed. we drank wine at room patio with opera house view. i feel like best man in the world. We had breakfast in dining room in lobby floor. it was really verity food and very fresh. I know rate is pretty high i am sure it will worthy especially romantic time. I have attached pic from our room. it is just A.R.T.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Take her to this stupendous venue. The setting is phenomenal and the wine list, menu and service en par with anything I have come across in London or Paris. Always good to have seafood, and I happened to be there with a blinding date but you have to expect that from me regardless. Just a divine experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We needed a touch of luxury. 2 nights, $2400 we expected it. Staff were stiff and stilted, food for breakfast and dinner was cold and average. Staff made us feel rushed and it was more important to get us checked out than anything else. Toilettries were average, and not restocked, milk not restocked. Room service was excellent, friendly staff on there too. Location is brilliant. The room had a view of opera house, but bed on opposite wall so not easy to enjoy it. No tinting on windows and could see right into everyone's rooms - unless you closed the blinds on that drop dead view. Hugely overpriced for the experience. Will not return. Some things in room did not work, pillows dreadful, not receptive to feedback

Room Tip: try to get one with bed on wall allowing you to look out at opera house - not into some other room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Park Hyatt for New year 2012 in a park suite. location of the hotel is outstanding, you could not get better right under the bridge and views to to the opera house. the pool on the roof is small but makes up with the views.. decor is tasteful and modern and room has all facilities expected of a 5star hotel. Bonus of this hotel was access to the hotel wharf to watch the new years eve fireworks after our new years eve family dinner in the main restaurant which was lovely. Hotel service friendly and efficient. this is an expensive hotel during the new years period - we were only staying in sydney 4 nights and therefore could not book a harbour or opera house view room as these were minimum 5 night stay only - which was a real shame. I think the management should reconsider this arrangement, i appreciate having to have a minimum stay during such a busy period but believe 4 nights should be sufficient. I did convey my feelings on this to the hotel prior to my visit and requested due to their policy that i be allocated a "best as possible" view room from their park view suites selection, however on arrival our room could not have been further from the water (i think it was in fact THE last room away) but after a 23 hour flight we did not feel up to pressing this point. Was a shame that the management did not have a little more personal interaction on this customer service point.

Room Tip: Room prices are expensive but if you can afford it, book a harbour or opera house view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#1 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerging from a dramatic transformation, the newly redesigned Park Hyatt Sydney offers an intimate, residential-style hotel with architecture, design and art reflecting the Australian landscape.With a coveted harbourfront location between the famous Opera House and Harbour Bridge, spacious rooms feature contemporary interiors, modern bathrooms with dual vanity, wet area, rainshower and deep bathtub, and floor to ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies. A dedicated team of butlers provide personalised service for all guest rooms & suites. The hotel’s restaurants and bar, private dining rooms, day spa and recreational facilities have also been enhanced to reinforce Park Hyatt Sydney’s position as one of Australia’s premier hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.