We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Awaken at the Park
Ranked #4 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Great location and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had lunch at The Dining Room recently on a Monday. The deal is complimentary valet parking with weekday lunches which was too good an offer to pass up.

Not many people so all who were there were given a window seat. The view is wonderful, ferries going in and out of Circular Quay, view across to the Opera House and the buzz of people passing by on the boardwalk .

We opted for the one course $39 menu which includes a glass of wine. You can also have two courses for $59 or three for $69.

My companion had pan roasted ocean trout, Spring Bay mussels, saffron, guanciale and I had grilled grain fed beef tenderloin 200g. Both were nicely served and very tasty. Unfortunately, they don't come with vegies, so we ordered baby carrots and a salad. All sides are $9 each which is rather pricey for the quantity received.

Service is very attentive and staff pleasant.

Will try the Living Room next time, which looks a little less formal but I don't think it comes with the complimentary parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    696
    129
    39
    22
    12
See reviews for
141
444
50
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Visited a lobby lounge. Lady staff were really kind & keen to help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Really nice hotel, for $1000 a night not too pretentious either. Great rooftop pool and spa with views of the opera house, also you can wave to people doing the harbour bridge climb! We had some room service which was great as you would expect. The room itself was spacious and comfortable with mod cons, electric shutters and great views.

Our bags weren't in the room by the time we got up there (im talking 3 minute delay) and they sent a bottle of $65 wine as an apology without us having to say anything...says a lot!

Room Tip: the hotel is in a kind of 'L' shape. I would recommend trying to get in the angle area as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Opera Suite (room 212) for 2012/13 New Year. Can go to sleep and wake up with gorgeous views of Sydney Opera House. Room large (two full size balconies), very well appointed and the double glazing is effective at cutting out any harbour and walkway noise. Hotel is perfectly situated for sightseeing, getting into city, and is well appointed. Book early for high tea (yummy). Food choices are great, room service efficient, staff are superb and the hotel itself very modern but elegant.

We shall return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stay often at Hyatts and decided on the spur of the moment to extend our anniversary by a use points to stay.

The room faced the city but looking to the left you could see the bridge. the room was nice but the position of the table in the room meant that if you were sitting and closing the blinds it hit the chair. Also bubbled surface of the table didn't look very complimentary to the room.

We dined that night in the restaurant and enjoyed the meal. The pillows proved a challenge for my husband to get comfortable.
All in all a nice night away

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Best location; walking distance to ferries, restaurants, opera house, botanical gardens, shopping, harbor bridge. Incredible concierge service. Dining room service was excellent and delicious. Loved the minimalist room decor and our view of the Opera House. Business Center was lacking; unable to access internet. Pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for an Opera House view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here twice in December, both for a night, and both using Hyatt Points. Both rooms faced the back of the hotel, meaning the views were of the bridge and a tiny bit of harbor underneath it. Both rooms were beautifully redone and very well maintained. Both were large, especially by Sydney standards. The new minimalist decor makes a big improvement from the previous rooms. About the only problem we had was with a dinner in the Dining Room; we were ignored for awhile, and then once our order was placed, we were ignored again (we could see other tables getting service), having to ask for bread and water. But the bigger problem came when the main courses arrived and one of our dishes was not prepared as directed. We were ignored again, until finally, we grabbed the sommelier and asked him to send it back, after which we were ignored again for 30 minutes, while one of us ate and the other stared. Finally, once the dish came back (it was good this time), we asked for a manager who made everything right. It marred an otherwise lovely dinner, and two wonderful stays. These things happen, we know, but we generally don't expect them at hotels of this calibre. That said, the hotel did make it up to us.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerging from a dramatic transformation, the newly redesigned Park Hyatt Sydney offers an intimate, residential-style hotel with architecture, design and art reflecting the Australian landscape.With a coveted harbourfront location between the famous Opera House and Harbour Bridge, spacious rooms feature contemporary interiors, modern bathrooms with dual vanity, wet area, rainshower and deep bathtub, and floor to ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies. A dedicated team of butlers provide personalised service for all guest rooms & suites. The hotel’s restaurants and bar, private dining rooms, day spa and recreational facilities have also been enhanced to reinforce Park Hyatt Sydney’s position as one of Australia’s premier hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.