We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Sydney to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Awaken at the Park
Ranked #3 of 183 Hotels in Sydney
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My stay was, without a doubt, the best hotel experience I've ever had. The accommodations were very comfortable (great bed!) and every interaction with a member of the staff was excellent. The food is also very good.

The Front Desk and Concierge staff were especially wonderful. I can't think of any way in which they could have been more outstanding, professional, and helpful.

The location is perfect -- beneath the Harbour Bridge looking across the harbour to the Opera House. Magnificent!

My brother and I enjoyed Australia and had an incredible vacation.

Room Tip: Try to get a harbour-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    133
    41
    23
    12
See reviews for
149
460
52
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
berkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This truly is an amazing hotel. Firstly, great location, situated overlooking the Opera House and easy walking distance to the shopping district, Ferry Stations and Restaurants. It's been a long while since I have seen this type of customer friendly service in a hotel, every staff member is very pleasant and willing to help (and everyone there smiles). Breakfast is great - buffet or menu selection, the rooms are clean and spacious, there is a gym and a rooftop pool. Rebecca on Concierge had great recommendations on where to go and was very helpful. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: You can choose from the Bridge or the Opera House. For any runners - you can jog round the rocks (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed in a Harbour Suite with 4 balconies and stunning views across the harbour to the Opera House.

The staff were very attentive and helpful in arranging our schedule.

We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

From the moment we arrived to our reluctant good-byes with the staff everything was spot on. You couldn't ask for a better location in Sydney. The Opera House is a stone throw away and the location is in "The Rocks" - plenty of dining and shopping all within walking distance. There are other luxury hotels in the area such as the Shangri-La and the Four Seasons but the Park Hyatt is far superior. The food at the in-house restaurant The Dining Room was magnificent. I had the Barramundi - a hard to find treat in Los Angeles but native to Australia. My group all had 1 hour massages in the spa and it was fabulous. I highly recommend the Park Hyatt if you are looking for exquisite luxury and gorgeous views of Sydney Harbour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Sydney has lacked a truly top quality international hotel - have stayed in most of them and would regard most as good 4 star - ceratinly not able to compete with other international cities and their top hotels. Since the Park Hyatt has been totally refurbished Sydney now has one.
The staff and management are excellent, food and wine very good ( excellent somellier - French !) and the location speaks for itself. Rooms are very tastefully designed. Overall, the hotel has a classy and welcoming appeal about it. Not cheap but about par for the course with other top hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband stayed at the Park Hyatt on the night of our Wedding - we were lucky enough to have it included as a part of our reception package!

The room is modern and luxurious with wonderful spelling toiletries and big bath and shower! The 'hook' though is the view. We were able to view the Opera House from a 'basic room'.

My understanding is that it is quite pricey but from what I can see you get what you pay for.

The buffet breakfast was fantastic. We were able to order off the alacarte menu as a part of the deal. Would love to return to celebrate 'special occasions'.

Noise wasn't an issue despite being by the water. The curtains were thick enough to block out just about everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I had an unforgettable time during our recent stay at the Park Hyatt Sydney.

The newly renovated property is absolutely stunning and is in a perfect location right in the Sydney Harbour with spectacular views of the Sydney Opera House and the bridge. It also is located within walking distance to many tourist locations, Circular Quay, restaurants, pubs, cafe's, and the weekend market at The Rocks.

The staff is unbelievably accommodating, helpful, and friendly. They made us feel like royalty during our stay at The Park Hyatt Sydney... We even had an on-floor butler! On our check-in day, we arrived to the hotel early and our room wasn't ready for check-in, so the hotel let us order some complementary refreshments and snacks after our long flight to Sydney... It was so nice of them!

The rooms are amazing and have great views of the city. The rooms and bathrooms are large, bright, and comfortable. They even come equipped with an espresso machine, and MP3 dock for your iPod, blackout curtains, etc. Everything in the rooms is so luxurious and made us feel so pampered during our stay.

The restaurant, The Dining Room was exquisite! It has spectacular views of the Harbour from the floor to ceiling windows encapsulating the restaurant, which is beautiful during sunset. The Dining Room’s chef, Andrew McKee, makes phenomenal Australian-inspired contemporary dishes using only local produce. During our stay, we participated in the Dining Room's five course tasting menu with Australian wine pairings and were blown away with each and every dish - HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

The Dining Room also has a wonderful breakfast. The coffee is great, the buffet has almost every breakfast item you could ever imagine, and the menu has delicious pancakes, french toast, etc.

Overall, we absolutely LOVED our stay at the Park Hyatt Sydney and are already dying to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#1 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerging from a dramatic transformation, the newly redesigned Park Hyatt Sydney offers an intimate, residential-style hotel with architecture, design and art reflecting the Australian landscape.With a coveted harbourfront location between the famous Opera House and Harbour Bridge, spacious rooms feature contemporary interiors, modern bathrooms with dual vanity, wet area, rainshower and deep bathtub, and floor to ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies. A dedicated team of butlers provide personalised service for all guest rooms & suites. The hotel’s restaurants and bar, private dining rooms, day spa and recreational facilities have also been enhanced to reinforce Park Hyatt Sydney’s position as one of Australia’s premier hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.