We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour to your Saves list
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booker
Ranked #71 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I was in Sydney to meet an international colleague who had booked in to this hotel.

Arrival was fine and the reception was warm. However, it seemed to finish there. The rooms although were quite spacious and clean, they left some things to be desired. Normally in hotel rooms you are provided with some amenities such as Shampoo, soap, moisturising creams. Not is this case. One soap and one shampoo nothing else.

Room service was testing. It took 3 calls of which the first 2 were not answered to get through. After ordering something light and simple to eat it took approximately another hour for it to be delivered. Colleague asked for a bucket of ice twice only to be told the second time that room service was closed and they couldn't do anything. The fact he ordered it before they closed meant nothing.

I will find alternate accommodation for future business visits to Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear John

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, Whilst your stay should of been enjoyable I am sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and for this I truly apologize.

I will also share your comments with our Room Service Manager, as it allows us to improve on the concerns you have raised in regards to yourself friends orders, providing future guests with a high quality product that the Novotel brand is renowned for.

John I I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    1,268
    559
    165
    109
See reviews for
906
1,030
205
603
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

As someone who works in the hotel industry, and has previously worked for Accor, I care strongly about great service. This hotel was lacking. The location is excellent and the housekeeping staff do a great job and they are friendly. When I checked in, I had to engage the receptionist, who did talk to me after a few prompts which didn't make me feel welcome. Staff would not greet you when you walked past. The stand out however was the so called concierge who refused to take my bag despite not being occupied, When I worked for Accor, our senior management could be seen cleaning tables, so who does this guy think he is? though I admit, the porters more than made up for it. Particularly the one who remembered what I had been up to the day before and asked how it went.
Breakfast was really not worth it, I wish they offered the eggs on request like other Novotels as I wasn't keen on pre cooked, stale fried eggs.
Sydney is a location where there are hundreds of accommodation options in better locations. Realistically all Novotel can have above the rest is superior service and they don't even have that. Next time I stay in Sydney, I think I'll pick a different property.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Crystal

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour and taking the time to provide us with feedback.

Whilst your stay should of been enjoyable I am sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and for this I truly apologize.

I will also share your comments with our Front Office Manager, as it allows us to improve on the concerns you have raised in regards to the concierge and breakfast, providing future guests with a high quality product that Novotel is renowned for.


Please feel free to contact us directly if we can be of any further assistance or “LIKE” our Facebook page to see what else is happening within our hotel.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.

Kind Regards
Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We overnighted at the Novotel to celebrate a birthday. Check-in was very smooth and friendly. On requesting a higher floor we were allocated a beautiful room on the 9th floor overlooking Darling Harbour. There are big changes afoot here and the Exhibition Centre and Convention Centre have both been demolished and re-building started. We didn't experience any building noise. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise - besides the usual fruits, cereals and English breakfast freshly prepared omelets were available, to order. A very neat idea. Plus freshly crushed orange juice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Qaatalia

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour and taking the time to provide us with feedback.

We hope you enjoyed the birthday festivities and are glad to read that you had a enjoyable breakfast.

Please feel free to contact us directly if we can be of any further assistance or “LIKE” our Facebook page to see what else is happening within our hotel.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.

Kind Regards
Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great location for access to shopping, restaurants, zoo, aquarium, and general access to darling harbour and surrounds. Perfect for families with children. Clean fresh room with lovely staff. Great location for a weekend show or harbour activities!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Deb

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour and taking the time to provide us with feedback.

Its encouraging to read you experienced lovely staff and your room was clean and fresh.

Please feel free to contact us directly if we can be of any further assistance or “LIKE” our Facebook page to see what else is happening within our hotel.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.

Kind Regards
Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I booked a twin share room for a girl's weekend in Sydney, and was impressed with Novotel from start to finish. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable and we enjoyed a lovely buffet breakfast which was included in our room price. Very happy :).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Ktb01

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour and taking the time to provide us with feedback.

Its wonderful to read you had a great girls weekend away and enjoyed your buffet breakfast, I will be sure to pass these comments onto our staff.

Please feel free to contact us directly if we can be of any further assistance or “LIKE” our Facebook page to see what else is happening within our hotel.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.

Kind Regards
Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#62 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.