We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour to your Saves list
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #64 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Alice Springs, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice Clean Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and were lucky to be on the ninth floor overlooking Darling Harbour. The view was to die for and we were also lucky to watch fireworks from our room on the Saturday night - and it was an awesome display. The room was comfortable, simple but well set out. Amenities were good and the bathroom was clean and bright. Mini bar was affordable. We had breakfast included in our room rate ($25 extra) and it was a good selection but over-priced. Could have gone across the road for a full breakfast for $9:90.
Overall a good stay but watch prices. Was quoted on the internet a price and had to pay an extra $150 when I checked out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Xanerin

Thank you for your feedback,

I am glad to see you had such a comfortable stay, I will share your comments in regards to price with our front office manager so she can investigate the additional charge. Should you wish to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate to contact us.

Xanerin thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    1,171
    506
    149
    92
See reviews for
828
961
193
564
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

we wanted to stay a few days in Sydney before going off on a cruise and the Novotel gave us a perfect start. Room was fine, breakfast excellent, position on Darling Harbour great (and a good view from the upper floors). Booked through the internet - totally hassle-free. Two minor criticisms - can't see why they charge for Wi-Fi use (albeit a very modest charge) - and can't see why they haven't got a shuttle arrangement to get guests to/from the airport - with the Ibis hotel next door, and another Novotel nearby at Rockford, there must be sufficient custom.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Boycs

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, it is always good to see our guests enjoy their stay.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast; our food and Beverage team are always looking for new and fresh ideas to produce a variety of breakfast options.

Thank you for your feedback in regards to hotel WIFI, we appreciate the need for WIFI when staying in the hotel for all our guests but are restricted in service and cost provided, however we are currently reviewing our options in regards to our internet and we hope to reach a decision soon that will help alleviate the cost and provide a more efficient service.

I would also like to inform you that the Novotel does provide a shuttle service to back to the airport at a cost of $16 per person; however I do apologize if this wasn’t clearly communicated to you.

Kind Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We went here for a girls weekend. We stayed in an executive room with 2 doubles. Very comfortable beds, black out blinds (a bonus for the night after!) and spacious room.
However we had an awful view of a construction site which was a bit of a let down when promised a 'darling harbour view'. I also didn't like the fact that they took $100 more from my card as a deposit but didn't inform us of this at check in so I found out days later when this money had been taken off my credit card and I had to call to get the refund.

There are so many other places to stay in Sydney for the price (Novotel was $460 for 1 night) I would probably be inclined to stay elsewhere next time. If you can get a deal for under $200 then it would be worth it.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with an actual darling harbour view if you are paying top dollar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Poshw5

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and for this I apologies.

I am sorry if that our Pre-Authorisation policy wasn't clearly explained upon check in. Upon arrival a pre-authorization of $50 per room per night is required to be held upon your credit card to cover any incidental charges you may occur whilst staying with us. Upon departure an automatic alert is sent to your bank notifying them to release the funds back into your account, however with some major banks the release of funds can take up to 5 working days in which the transaction will stay showing as pending up until it is released.

In regards to price paid, similar to the airline industry our rates fluctuate depending on supply and demand. During the month of February we were at high occupancy which is resulted in your room rate to be at the higher end of the scale.

Poshw5 I do hope that you give us an opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Huge Hotel but, but very old! Needs a complete face lift and the corridors are very old and smell. Staff very friendly and its in a fab location in the Harbour and only a 20 min walk to main Sydney harbour. The room was basic, clean but old. The bathroom was in better condition than the bedroom. Mattresses need replacing and some air freshner into the room. New carpet needed.

Room Tip: Room on the Darling Harbour Side would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Drucey2

Thank you for the great feedback, we always believe we cannot better our product without the advice and feedback of our customers.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our staff has been courteous and attentive throughout your stay.

Thank you also for sharing your feedback in regards to the hotel ambiance and decor. I am a pleased to inform you that we are currently working on new and fresh ideas that are going to show the hotel as a leader in the Novotel brand and hopefully will have been implemented by your next stay with us.

Kind Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.