We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour to your Saves list
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #64 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Kulnura
1 review
“great night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A Great Nights sleep & convenient for our next day appointments The staff were very helpful Because my wife hurt her ankle They got me the nearest all night chemist .
the proximity to Darling Harbour Night life & venues is perfect .


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    1,178
    508
    150
    94
See reviews for
832
966
194
567
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel has a great location and excellent views from the room we booked over Darling Harbour. All contacts we had with staff here were excellent and they couldn't do enough for us. Truly great service from all departments.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I went with another guest to the restaurant at this hotel - pulled up in a taxi - no one at the door to open the taxi door or direct us to the restaurant (which was up the escalators) - the staff at the restaurant could not find the booking and fluffed around although there were about 15 people in a restaurant that seat about 200. We were seated behind a pillar which obscured the view of Darling Harbour. Staff were pleasant (special word to Helen) but pretty inept - one staff member filled our sparkling mineral water glasses with tap water before we could stop her. The meals were good but the portions too big for the main meals. They came past intermittently - had to ask for anything - no attention. After the meal - no one at the concierge or bell desk downstairs to get a taxi in pouring rain. Went back up to the reception on 1st floor - they said get a taxi on the street! It is pouring - went back down and happened upon a taxi driving through the driveway. Hey people - a little bit of professionalism would not go astray!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience dining at the hotel.

We do apologise for the issues you encountered. We do have our own taxi rank in the hotel driveway, so if there are not taxi's available, our reception staff can usually organise one to be there within 5 minutes. Unfortunately while we try our utmost to have staff out on the driveway to welcome guests, this is not always possible due to the size of the property.

If you would like to speak further about your dining experience, please contact our Food & Beverage Manager Stephen Wills on (02) 9934 0000 or at h1181-fb02@accor.com at your convenience.

I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to Helen.

Warm Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

the hotel can't be faulted as such. large comfortable clean room with soft bed.
but we decided to get to the hotel via light rail because the parking fees quoted to park at the hotel is $45 per day which is quite an outrageous fee in my view considering the vast amount of car spaces in various car parks around the hotel. (there is a public car park right next door that charges $15 overnight stay but the hotel failed to tell us about it). so to get to the hotel form the light rail station, you have to walk inside a covered car park which is badly lit and unpleasant to walk through and there seems no other option if you want to get to the hotel via light rail.
the extra charge for using credit card to pay your hotel bill is not a welcome extra though not a large amount of money.
Pyrmont view rooms are perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: take a car and stay at the public car park next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We understand that CBD parking can be expensive and therefore are always looking at other areas where we can save our guests money.

Please rest assured that we be looking into the lighting from the Light Rail station and will endeavour to get the appropriate persons to fix this issue, as we would like our guests to feel safe as possible when walking from the station.

We hope you choose to stay at Novotel next time you are in Sydney as we would love to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.