We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel in the best location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour to your Saves list
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booker
Ranked #71 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“This hotel in the best location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family from overseas came for a short stay and i'm lucky to be invited to join them. What can I say, located in Darling Harbour, breathtaking spectacular view of the waters and the skyscrapers. There's a shopping centre with the best selection of first class restaurants, close also to The Star casino, just about 15 minutes walk to Sydney CBD. Everything you can ask for is here. The service from the front desk to housekeeping, is friendly and outstanding. The rooms are big enough to accommodate 4 people, only what is missing is, there's no balcony unlike other popular hotels, its an old hotel by any standard. Day and night view is amazing, this is the best hotel to stay and the price is very affordable. Only parking is very very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    1,268
    559
    165
    109
See reviews for
906
1,030
205
603
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jakarta, indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

its very surprising me, when i knew that the room actually can be used for 4 people; the bed is large, and having spacious room. Its perfect for family, due to the location was very strategic, and connected to harbourside shopping mall (i also found hurricane grill restoran in this shopping mall). We can reach wildlife zoo - madame tussaud by 15 minutes walking, then go to chinatown easily. What makes me perfect was the lobby hall in this hotel : free wifi access, free computer access and WII playstation for our kid. For family traveller like us, the wifi communication is a must. I will stay here again if we go to sydney.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Novotel Hotel at Darling Harbour several times and I have never been disappointed.
The rooms are generous by city hotel standards and we opted for a water view room. Like most hotels now, unfortunately there are no verandas but I can assure you that the view by day and night is fantastic.
The breakfast at the hotel was great and so was the service.
Easy to fill in the day and night as Darling Harbour is plentiful with things to do.
I have been to the wax works, the marinetime museum and dined at many of the restaurants along the water. Many have cheap lunches and dinners approximately $12-$15, or perhaps you could take a stroll across to Chinatown for a meal or maybe the Casino Star City which is also a pleasant walk.
Parking is a little steep but it seems now that most hotels charge rates to park these days.
I hope to stay here again and explore our beautiful city through the eyes of a tourist.
Remember your camera!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed at the executive room with the winter 50% off deal. It was very spacious for 3, the room was modern despite it being an old hotel. It was located behind the habourside mall so it was very easy to find food. However, I stayed too low at level 3 so not much of the view of the darling harbour. Parking per night at $45 is way too expensive.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor to see the harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate both your positive and constructive comments.

We understand that parking in Sydney CBD does cost a lot and we a constantly looking at ways in which we can reduce the charges that our guests pay.

We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind Regards
The Management Team at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Perfectly located, this was the place to stay after the long haul into the heart of Sydney. Once you're checked in, you can walk to everything you need. We stayed during the recent Lions rugby tour and it was heartening to see how welcoming the staff at the Novotel were towards their many international guests.
The rooms and facilities were fantastic, and we took full advantage of the gym and pool each day. Housekeeping were friendly and especially accommodating as we observed their caring nature after a few rugby fans came back a little worse for wear!
We didn't use the restaurant, which was a shame, but with Chinatown and all Sydney's great amenities within walking distance it was easier to go out and embrace the city. I guess we'll just have to stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review and for sharing your comments on tripadvisor!

We are glad to hear you really enjoyed your stay during the Lions Tour and we hope to see you back soon.

Best Wishes
The Management Team at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

this hotel í great location Centre was also within a 5 minute walk. Room service was good. Dinner was lovelyThe staff went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one and we were always acknowledged when entering or leaving the building. Good thing I carry my own shower caps as there were none in the room, there were also no sanitary bags or a mini sewing kit, which 4 stars and above normally have.The buffet breakfast i stuck to hot breakfast which was great. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#62 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.